$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Claulpz
Monterrey, Mexico
Aug 6, 2013

Great location

Me and my friends were very pleased with our stay in this hotel, it was perfectly located, near shopping area and millenium park, we didnt have to take a taxi, the breakfast was excellent and the staff great, they even gave us a promotion for internet Access. I would recommend this hotel and will comeback in my next visit to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you dont have time to go out to lunch or dinner, you can walk across the hotel to Dominicks, ang get yourself a dinner that you can microwaved at your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A.Smith1974
Business
Chicago
Jul 29, 2014

Perfect Staycation on a Budget

I am from Chicago and have traveled all over the world and have stayed in five star hotels. When me and my girls couldn't take our annual trip, we decided to stay local. I needed a room that was large enough to accommodate me and my friends and wanted a pool and jacuzzi (for relaxing as if we were at a beach). My girls and I had a blast. The room was spacious for the four of us (one king and a pull out sofa). It had plenty of sinks (three to be exact and came in handy with four grown women getting ready for the Beyonce concert). The hotel also had a wonderful manager's happy hour (the drinks were delightful)! We were supposed to be getting ready for the Beyonce concert and ended up having so much fun we were late for the concert and we didn't even care. After the concert we were starving and the Bellwether, adjacent to the hotel, was open until 4am and the food was delicious. The next day, we had a full breakfast that is included in the hotel price. We even had time to relax in the jacuzzi and sauna before a quick and easy 12 pm check out. All in all, as a Chicagoan, I can say the location is everything and all though we were there for a girls' weekend, it is family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JS Boston
Business
Boston
Jul 25, 2014

More than I expected

I had not stayed in an Embassy Suites before. Having the two rooms, a kitchenette, a hot breakfast, and 'happy hour' included was a wonderful surprise. The price was only slightly higher than other hotels in the immediate area (I had a conference there), but the amenities and the pleasant staff made the price well justified. I spent very little money on meals since I had a refrigerator and microwave in my room. Location was great, hotel was clean and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Lee D
Business
Brandon, MS
Jul 25, 2014

Never Again!!!

I booked a 2 room suite for 2 adults and 3 kids. Asked for double beds plus a roll out. Upon checking in they tried to give me a king bed, no roll out and only after I stood my ground did they come up with a room with 2 dbls. No roll out. The first lady who worked on my check in process was friendly however when she could not locate my room the (what appeared to be supervisor) was not very friendly or accommodating. The beds were very uncomfortable (like sleeping on springs). The concierge was not very helpful at all with very little knowledge on the details of local attractions. Additionally the air conditioning in the room did not work well and the lights in the bathroom flickered constantly. When I complained at the front desk I was told the manager would contact me. Well that's been 5 days ago now and nothing. The only thing good about this hotel is location to Navy Pier and the free cook to order breakfast. Compared to the service and atmosphere of other local hotels I have stayed in this was a total disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quarterflip1958
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 21, 2014

Vacation Was Perfect!

The Embassy Suites Lakefront was a perfect place to stay while in Chicago. Close to major shopping and tourist attractions. The breakfast's were great every morning. The bell hops were the most helpful of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It was great having a movie theater right next door to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawkeye 7
Business
Chicago
Jul 20, 2014

Family getaway

We had a great time at the Embassy Suites. The location is perfect and the breakfast and happy hour are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lakefront

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gagai
Business
Dearborn heights Michigan
Jul 9, 2014

Nice

I like it and easy walk for shopping area and resturant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rwhiteley12
Business
Lawton, OK
Jul 7, 2014

Great trip

The Embassy Suites Lakefront was a great place to stay. Very friendly staff. Best hotel breakfast I've ever had. Hotel also offered free drinks from the bar from 5:30-7:30 every night during our stay. Short walk to navy pier and magnificent mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Must go to Lou Malnati's for pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiyoedo
Business
NY
Jun 26, 2014

So comfortable

It was far from a station. But we could get on the bus easily. The room was so comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cruseing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
retired from Michigan
Business
KALAMAZOO, MI
Jun 24, 2014

very nice in many ways but one

The hotel is really nice and well run. The ballet service is not however. Use self park, it's cheaper and faster. Apparently the parking garage is quite a ways away. it took 45 minutes for the ballet to get our car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

always make reservations in Chicago. otherwise you will wait over an hour, even at a sub-par restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loulabell
Business
Geneva, IL
Jun 24, 2014

Great Surprise

This hotel was walking distant to Navy Pier and shopping. Very comfortable. Staff was fabulous. GREAT bargin with a delicious breakfast and cocktails. I will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top