$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
312 reviews
Great Girls Night Out

We booked this hotel for its proximity to the restaurants and nightclubs in the river north area... See full review

  • Sonia M.
  • Feb 23, 2015
A Day in Downtown Chicago

Hotel is located in downtown Chicago near many places to eat and hangout. Public transportation is... See full review

  • Teresa P.
  • Feb 11, 2015
Welcome to our Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel. Enjoy the convenience of our downtown Chicago hotel near Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Chicago's finest attractions.Showcasing spectacular views of downtown Chicago, the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel near Michigan Avenue features upscale sophistication and more space to unwind and be yourself. Enjoy a relaxing stay in one of our spacious 455 suites featuring a private bedroom, separate living area with sofa sleeper, two 37-inch televisions, a refrigerator and a microwave.Enjoy our nightly Manager’s Reception* in our bright and spacious open-air atrium featuring contemporary design, a 75 ft. long live eco wall and grand views of the city. Indulge in a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning.Host a special event or business meeting in our 20,000 sq. ft. of meeting space or celebrate a special occasion in the elegant Chicago River Ballroom. After an exciting day discovering Chicago, unwind at the heated indoor pool and whirlpool, relax in the sauna or rejuvenate in our well-equipped fitness center.*Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking ag

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (312)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Unhappy camper here
Chicago, Il
May 7, 2013

Family fun day

Staff very nice and professional, allowed to check in 6 hours early with no extra fee. Pool a little small but the kids loved it. Room nice, great view. Will stay here from now on every time we visit Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
giorix
Business
new york, NY
Jun 11, 2014

expensive for the quality

I felt I was getting in 3 stars hotel, however o spent about $450/ night. Even in NYC I could get a better service and quality for that price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grant Zhang
Business
Valporaiso IN
May 31, 2014

wonderful

it's wonderful stay. good free food in the morning. the best location to trip in downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cubfanfwdenny
Business
fort wayne
May 27, 2014

e suites

Nice location-close to public transportation-avoid the overpriced bar next door. Awful service. Self park was cheap and there was a movie theater in the same block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samantha Sight Seer
Business
Edina, Minnesota
May 27, 2014

Best Location in Chicago!

My boyfriend and I wanted to have a fun weekend in Chicago without breaking the bank. We wanted to stay in the heart of Chicago to avoid the traffic and ridiculous parking fees, but most of the hotels were way out of our price range. When we saw Embassy Suites - Downtown/Lakefront we thought the price looked to good to be true and when we got there...it was even better than we expected! The location is within walking distance of The Navy Pier, Cloud Gate and Millennium Park, The Willis Tour and even the Lincoln Park Zoo (if you don't mind spending a few hours walking along the Lake Michigan boardwalk). The hotel also offers a delicious and free cooked to order breakfast every morning and snacks and 1 free drink per adult every evening during the managers reception! We will recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a fun weekend in Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are road tripping to Chicago, just park in the garage and walk everywhere! You will save a ton of money and have a great experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brinjal
Business
Michigan
May 26, 2014

Nice family getaway

Hotel was spacious for a family of four. Extra space in living room area. A bit noisy at night and ling lines at breakfast. Good location. Walkable to shops and restaurants. Friendly staff. Quick service. Nice to have evening cocktail hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Le Colonial restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VeganDad
Business
Pittsburgh
May 7, 2014

Great value; nice stay

Very much enjoyed our stay. The room was very large and comfortable, with a nice view. The breakfast was ample, and the staff very helpful. It is a short walk to the navy pier (about .4 miles) and about .9 miles to the millennium park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SJT1
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 19, 2014

Family vacation in Chicago

We loved the location and the price for what you get! Were very surprised at how expensive parking was $59/night for valet. Also started out on the wrong foot with Bell staff. It took a long time to get our bags to the room, 40+ mins. Said they were real busy and would get there soon. Pretty rude about it too. When traveling with young children and you need a bag, you want help not the cold shoulder. We even said we would meet them and get what we needed or take the bags ourselves and were told "NO" we couldn't come get our own bags. It still bothers me how I was spoken to. But, for the rest of the hotel staff "good job!" we did enjoy what you provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R verma
Business
Marion oh
Mar 31, 2014

Stay. Again

Wonderful staff is good and very helpful . Evening cocktails and breakfast was superb

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HHI lovers
Business
Illinois
Mar 16, 2014

Chicago quick

Like other Embassy Suites, a large hotel, lots of kids,. The quality of the breakfast is less than expected. Good location and convenient suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Michigan Avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KOLFan1
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 10, 2014

Weekend Stay

Best value you can get in downtown Chi. Staff made you feel important, and welcome. They were very helpful. Room size was excellent. Stay on the 17th floor if you can. Awesome hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top