$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
322 out of 322
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathryn S
Normal, IL
Aug 5, 2013

Great place made for a great weekend!

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Free manager's reception and breakfasts even made it better. Room was very comfortable. The beds were comfy and made us feel like we were at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We attended concert at Charter One Pavilion. Great venue, but recommend calling ahead to have cab waiting for you at end of concert. It was a very long walk before we were able to find cab back to hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikek254
Business
miami
Oct 15, 2014

Great for marathon weekend

Very good location if you are running the marathon and visiting the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeffrey Ackland
Business
DeKalb, Illinois
Oct 12, 2014

Family Getaway

Great location, friendly staff, fun for kids.. perfect location to walk to Navy Pier, Eataly, Water Tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eataly wonderful food and atmosphere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KK1033
Business
Boston,Ma
Oct 8, 2014

Would return again !

Location was great convenient to the river walk,Navy Pier and downtown shopping. I was able to walk easily to so many fun things. The room was always clean and the view spectacular.The staff was very friendly and helpful. Especially Diana at the reception desk!! I had call several times prior to arrival with questions for the concierge who was very busy,but Diana helped me each time. I was glad to meet her when we arrived and found her just as pleasant in person!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

See Tommy Guns Garage Dinner Show!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xtian73
Business
Milwaukee
Oct 6, 2014

Accomodating staff, amazing room.

Everything was handled well and efficiently. I was stuck in traffic and needed a friend to check-in for me and the process was easy. The room was very clean and huge! We had the suite on the 17th floor and it was more than accomodating for 7 people. The only problem was the shower in one room had no lip on the edge. It was flush with the floor and the bathroom floor collects about 1/2 inch of water when you shower. Not safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobby Dicks
Business
Dayton Ohio
Sep 15, 2014

weekend get away

Close to navy pier and magnificent mile restaurant at the hotel has great food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momma L
Business
Colorado
Sep 14, 2014

Nice place

For the price and location in Chicago, the room was quite spacious. Beds were comfortable. The pool was pretty small, but warm and the hot tub was actually hot! Very nice on tired feet. The free breakfast was great! Hot and cold buffet, plus a cook-to-order line for omelets and eggs. They have egg whites and turkey bacon on request. Afternoon snack was ok. The wifi was not great, but it was free. It would have been helpful to have a clothesline to dry bathing suits. Utensils and microwavable dishes would have also been very helpful. While there was a "kitchen" sink, there were no towels or scrubbies. It will be very convenient once the Whole Foods opens across the street. We had to go about 15 blocks for a decent grocer. Many attractions are easy to walk to or take transit. Willis Tower, the Museum of Science and Industry, Smith Glass Museum at the Pier and riding bikes along the lake shore trail were our favs. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott RG
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 3, 2014

Nice location, staff and amenities.

Positives include the location, the helpful staff, and complementary breakfast in the morning and cocktails/snicks in the evening. Some fixtures in the room seemed slightly dated and a number of spiders hanging outside of our window freaked my girlfriend out a bit. I also had a valet charge on my final bill despite having no car, but it was easily removed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robojaden
Business
Coldwater, Michigan
Aug 27, 2014

Fantastic overnight stay downtown

Great central location. Had an issue with the parking garage, but the hotel clerk took care of it quickly and very politely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the in/out permit at parking garage to save money and have extra time parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wonderful experience
Business
Chicago il
Aug 22, 2014

Wonderful hotel

Room was very nice, convenient to everything, breakfast was delicious Will stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
East coast visit
Business
Boston
Aug 7, 2014

Family trip

Went w my 2 boys. Room was on the smaller side. It needed a face lift. We were not in the room long, so really did not matter. Great b-fast and location. The valet people were awl full and rude. Bathroom had a bit of a mold issue but not too bad. Good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top