$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
340 out of 340
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Unhappy camper here
Chicago, Il
May 7, 2013

Family fun day

Staff very nice and professional, allowed to check in 6 hours early with no extra fee. Pool a little small but the kids loved it. Room nice, great view. Will stay here from now on every time we visit Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tempe Eats
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 11, 2014

Delivered and then some

This is your Embassy experience. Updated but shows some wear in the bathrooms and walls. Typical caulk and patch work. Overall clean to hotel standards. The staff were great: they found us that extra chocolate doughnut at the free hot breakfast (they even cleaned up the spilled milk with happy faces). Happy hour was well coordinated. Room service was delivered earlier than promised and by very pleasant staff. Parking to lobby was a bit confusing but the parking attendants and bell staff great. Would stay again and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lavazza coffee on Ohio S of Michigan great coffee. Yoke on Grand (just outside hotel) huge wonderful breakfasts.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queem
Business
Indiana
Oct 16, 2014

It was a great area for me and my friend.

We traveled to Chicago to go to the Steve Harvey Show. The studio was very convenient for us, a very short walk. Driving in the city was difficult for us, but we made it home all in one piece. We drove and drove around to find the famous Chicago Pizza. (Giordanos). Parking is terrible and costly. The Pizza was very good and worth the headache. My friend and I would like to return to Chicago for several days to enjoy Chicago sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Need better driving directions. A lot of one way streets and the person at the hotel didn't give good directions. It was not the Concuerge.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JWilliam
Business
Salinas, CA, USA
Oct 16, 2014

Business/Pleasure

It's nice to have an overall price for the room and not be dinged for amenities. Very good "free" breakfast, Wi-Fi, snacks. Staff generally helpful and pleasant. Would not let me delay checkout two hours late after a seven day stay. Overall, highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikek254
Business
miami
Oct 15, 2014

Great for marathon weekend

Very good location if you are running the marathon and visiting the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeffrey Ackland
Business
DeKalb, Illinois
Oct 12, 2014

Family Getaway

Great location, friendly staff, fun for kids.. perfect location to walk to Navy Pier, Eataly, Water Tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eataly wonderful food and atmosphere

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KK1033
Business
Boston,Ma
Oct 8, 2014

Would return again !

Location was great convenient to the river walk,Navy Pier and downtown shopping. I was able to walk easily to so many fun things. The room was always clean and the view spectacular.The staff was very friendly and helpful. Especially Diana at the reception desk!! I had call several times prior to arrival with questions for the concierge who was very busy,but Diana helped me each time. I was glad to meet her when we arrived and found her just as pleasant in person!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

See Tommy Guns Garage Dinner Show!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xtian73
Business
Milwaukee
Oct 6, 2014

Accomodating staff, amazing room.

Everything was handled well and efficiently. I was stuck in traffic and needed a friend to check-in for me and the process was easy. The room was very clean and huge! We had the suite on the 17th floor and it was more than accomodating for 7 people. The only problem was the shower in one room had no lip on the edge. It was flush with the floor and the bathroom floor collects about 1/2 inch of water when you shower. Not safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobby Dicks
Business
Dayton Ohio
Sep 15, 2014

weekend get away

Close to navy pier and magnificent mile restaurant at the hotel has great food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momma L
Business
Colorado
Sep 14, 2014

Nice place

For the price and location in Chicago, the room was quite spacious. Beds were comfortable. The pool was pretty small, but warm and the hot tub was actually hot! Very nice on tired feet. The free breakfast was great! Hot and cold buffet, plus a cook-to-order line for omelets and eggs. They have egg whites and turkey bacon on request. Afternoon snack was ok. The wifi was not great, but it was free. It would have been helpful to have a clothesline to dry bathing suits. Utensils and microwavable dishes would have also been very helpful. While there was a "kitchen" sink, there were no towels or scrubbies. It will be very convenient once the Whole Foods opens across the street. We had to go about 15 blocks for a decent grocer. Many attractions are easy to walk to or take transit. Willis Tower, the Museum of Science and Industry, Smith Glass Museum at the Pier and riding bikes along the lake shore trail were our favs. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott RG
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 3, 2014

Nice location, staff and amenities.

Positives include the location, the helpful staff, and complementary breakfast in the morning and cocktails/snicks in the evening. Some fixtures in the room seemed slightly dated and a number of spiders hanging outside of our window freaked my girlfriend out a bit. I also had a valet charge on my final bill despite having no car, but it was easily removed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top