$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
316 out of 316
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TDavid
Business
Chattanooga, TN, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Extremely nice !

A very beautiful hotel, great location, and corteous staff. Quite a popular and busy hotel evident by the crowd at the free morning breakfasts. Sitting and standing areas are challenging to find during breakfast and evening social hour but no one ever walks away or leaves unsatisfied. This is perhaps the only issue that could be improved but with such a popular grand accomodation, it's an envious problem desired by other hotels. Extremely nice, had a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikek254
Business
miami
Oct 15, 2014

Great for marathon weekend

Very good location if you are running the marathon and visiting the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeffrey Ackland
Business
DeKalb, Illinois
Oct 12, 2014

Family Getaway

Great location, friendly staff, fun for kids.. perfect location to walk to Navy Pier, Eataly, Water Tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eataly wonderful food and atmosphere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KK1033
Business
Boston,Ma
Oct 8, 2014

Would return again !

Location was great convenient to the river walk,Navy Pier and downtown shopping. I was able to walk easily to so many fun things. The room was always clean and the view spectacular.The staff was very friendly and helpful. Especially Diana at the reception desk!! I had call several times prior to arrival with questions for the concierge who was very busy,but Diana helped me each time. I was glad to meet her when we arrived and found her just as pleasant in person!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

See Tommy Guns Garage Dinner Show!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xtian73
Business
Milwaukee
Oct 6, 2014

Accomodating staff, amazing room.

Everything was handled well and efficiently. I was stuck in traffic and needed a friend to check-in for me and the process was easy. The room was very clean and huge! We had the suite on the 17th floor and it was more than accomodating for 7 people. The only problem was the shower in one room had no lip on the edge. It was flush with the floor and the bathroom floor collects about 1/2 inch of water when you shower. Not safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momma L
Business
Colorado
Sep 14, 2014

Nice place

For the price and location in Chicago, the room was quite spacious. Beds were comfortable. The pool was pretty small, but warm and the hot tub was actually hot! Very nice on tired feet. The free breakfast was great! Hot and cold buffet, plus a cook-to-order line for omelets and eggs. They have egg whites and turkey bacon on request. Afternoon snack was ok. The wifi was not great, but it was free. It would have been helpful to have a clothesline to dry bathing suits. Utensils and microwavable dishes would have also been very helpful. While there was a "kitchen" sink, there were no towels or scrubbies. It will be very convenient once the Whole Foods opens across the street. We had to go about 15 blocks for a decent grocer. Many attractions are easy to walk to or take transit. Willis Tower, the Museum of Science and Industry, Smith Glass Museum at the Pier and riding bikes along the lake shore trail were our favs. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott RG
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 3, 2014

Nice location, staff and amenities.

Positives include the location, the helpful staff, and complementary breakfast in the morning and cocktails/snicks in the evening. Some fixtures in the room seemed slightly dated and a number of spiders hanging outside of our window freaked my girlfriend out a bit. I also had a valet charge on my final bill despite having no car, but it was easily removed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robojaden
Business
Coldwater, Michigan
Aug 27, 2014

Fantastic overnight stay downtown

Great central location. Had an issue with the parking garage, but the hotel clerk took care of it quickly and very politely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the in/out permit at parking garage to save money and have extra time parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A.Smith1974
Business
Chicago
Jul 29, 2014

Perfect Staycation on a Budget

I am from Chicago and have traveled all over the world and have stayed in five star hotels. When me and my girls couldn't take our annual trip, we decided to stay local. I needed a room that was large enough to accommodate me and my friends and wanted a pool and jacuzzi (for relaxing as if we were at a beach). My girls and I had a blast. The room was spacious for the four of us (one king and a pull out sofa). It had plenty of sinks (three to be exact and came in handy with four grown women getting ready for the Beyonce concert). The hotel also had a wonderful manager's happy hour (the drinks were delightful)! We were supposed to be getting ready for the Beyonce concert and ended up having so much fun we were late for the concert and we didn't even care. After the concert we were starving and the Bellwether, adjacent to the hotel, was open until 4am and the food was delicious. The next day, we had a full breakfast that is included in the hotel price. We even had time to relax in the jacuzzi and sauna before a quick and easy 12 pm check out. All in all, as a Chicagoan, I can say the location is everything and all though we were there for a girls' weekend, it is family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JS Boston
Business
Boston
Jul 25, 2014

More than I expected

I had not stayed in an Embassy Suites before. Having the two rooms, a kitchenette, a hot breakfast, and 'happy hour' included was a wonderful surprise. The price was only slightly higher than other hotels in the immediate area (I had a conference there), but the amenities and the pleasant staff made the price well justified. I spent very little money on meals since I had a refrigerator and microwave in my room. Location was great, hotel was clean and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quarterflip1958
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 21, 2014

Vacation Was Perfect!

The Embassy Suites Lakefront was a perfect place to stay while in Chicago. Close to major shopping and tourist attractions. The breakfast's were great every morning. The bell hops were the most helpful of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It was great having a movie theater right next door to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top