$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
312 reviews
Great Girls Night Out

We booked this hotel for its proximity to the restaurants and nightclubs in the river north area... See full review

  • Sonia M.
  • Feb 23, 2015
A Day in Downtown Chicago

Hotel is located in downtown Chicago near many places to eat and hangout. Public transportation is... See full review

  • Teresa P.
  • Feb 11, 2015
Welcome to our Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel. Enjoy the convenience of our downtown Chicago hotel near Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile, Chicago River and Chicago's finest attractions.Showcasing spectacular views of downtown Chicago, the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel near Michigan Avenue features upscale sophistication and more space to unwind and be yourself. Enjoy a relaxing stay in one of our spacious 455 suites featuring a private bedroom, separate living area with sofa sleeper, two 37-inch televisions, a refrigerator and a microwave.Enjoy our nightly Manager’s Reception* in our bright and spacious open-air atrium featuring contemporary design, a 75 ft. long live eco wall and grand views of the city. Indulge in a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning.Host a special event or business meeting in our 20,000 sq. ft. of meeting space or celebrate a special occasion in the elegant Chicago River Ballroom. After an exciting day discovering Chicago, unwind at the heated indoor pool and whirlpool, relax in the sauna or rejuvenate in our well-equipped fitness center.*Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking ag

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (312)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carriebear22
Appleton, WI, USA
Apr 14, 2012

Lovely get away, great location

This hotel is a great place, we won't stay anywhere else in Chicago. For a hotel downtown the room is bigger than most because of the 2nd sitting room attached. Very clean, modern looking place. The free drinks and breakfast usually have a line, but those perks are worth about $25 per person daily if purchased outside. Nice to start the day with a good breakfast. Having a fridge in the room is unusual downtown so that is a big perk if you want to bring your own snacks, healthy foods or beverages. The location is amazing, 2-3 blocks to Michigan Ave, 4-5 blocks to Navy Pier. Love this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eulalio M.
Business
Santa ana
Dec 16, 2014

had a blast

i loved the staff they were polite, breakfest was delicious. Only complaint but its not really a complaint was there was a protest the days i was there but didnt feel unsafe at any moment. thanks happy holidays

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZWIHANGWISI M.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Great esxperience in a magnificent hotel with fine dinning and breakfast

Fine hotel with excellent service standards overall fine restaurant service although some breakfast restaurant staff packaging food stuffs just some, would perhaps need to cultivate hospitable manners when relating to guests. Hotel also as great location and views

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Christmas Planner
Business
Naperville, IL
Nov 30, 2014

Great Family Getaway

Kendy was fantastic for check in and got all 4 of our rooms together. She was extremely accommodating and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is a short walk from this location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tempe Eats
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 11, 2014

Delivered and then some

This is your Embassy experience. Updated but shows some wear in the bathrooms and walls. Typical caulk and patch work. Overall clean to hotel standards. The staff were great: they found us that extra chocolate doughnut at the free hot breakfast (they even cleaned up the spilled milk with happy faces). Happy hour was well coordinated. Room service was delivered earlier than promised and by very pleasant staff. Parking to lobby was a bit confusing but the parking attendants and bell staff great. Would stay again and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lavazza coffee on Ohio S of Michigan great coffee. Yoke on Grand (just outside hotel) huge wonderful breakfasts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queem
Business
Indiana
Oct 16, 2014

It was a great area for me and my friend.

We traveled to Chicago to go to the Steve Harvey Show. The studio was very convenient for us, a very short walk. Driving in the city was difficult for us, but we made it home all in one piece. We drove and drove around to find the famous Chicago Pizza. (Giordanos). Parking is terrible and costly. The Pizza was very good and worth the headache. My friend and I would like to return to Chicago for several days to enjoy Chicago sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Need better driving directions. A lot of one way streets and the person at the hotel didn't give good directions. It was not the Concuerge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JWilliam
Business
Salinas, CA, USA
Oct 16, 2014

Business/Pleasure

It's nice to have an overall price for the room and not be dinged for amenities. Very good "free" breakfast, Wi-Fi, snacks. Staff generally helpful and pleasant. Would not let me delay checkout two hours late after a seven day stay. Overall, highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikek254
Business
miami
Oct 15, 2014

Great for marathon weekend

Very good location if you are running the marathon and visiting the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeffrey Ackland
Business
DeKalb, Illinois
Oct 12, 2014

Family Getaway

Great location, friendly staff, fun for kids.. perfect location to walk to Navy Pier, Eataly, Water Tower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eataly wonderful food and atmosphere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KK1033
Business
Boston,Ma
Oct 8, 2014

Would return again !

Location was great convenient to the river walk,Navy Pier and downtown shopping. I was able to walk easily to so many fun things. The room was always clean and the view spectacular.The staff was very friendly and helpful. Especially Diana at the reception desk!! I had call several times prior to arrival with questions for the concierge who was very busy,but Diana helped me each time. I was glad to meet her when we arrived and found her just as pleasant in person!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

See Tommy Guns Garage Dinner Show!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xtian73
Business
Milwaukee
Oct 6, 2014

Accomodating staff, amazing room.

Everything was handled well and efficiently. I was stuck in traffic and needed a friend to check-in for me and the process was easy. The room was very clean and huge! We had the suite on the 17th floor and it was more than accomodating for 7 people. The only problem was the shower in one room had no lip on the edge. It was flush with the floor and the bathroom floor collects about 1/2 inch of water when you shower. Not safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top