$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
313 reviews
Museum tour

Took the Amtrak from KC to Chicago for a 4 day stay to see the various Chicago museums. This... See full review

  • Senior travelor KC
  • Feb 27, 2015
Great Girls Night Out

We booked this hotel for its proximity to the restaurants and nightclubs in the river north area... See full review

  • Sonia M.
  • Feb 23, 2015
All-suite hotel by Navy Pier and other Chicago attractions

The Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel boasts an envious Chicago address, just two blocks from Navy Pier and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Peer out of one of the two-room suites to Chicago’s most recognizable landmarks. Business, shopping and entertainment districts are minutes away. Contemporary styling, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and weeknight manager receptions keep guests comfortable and well fed. A movie theater and restaurant in the building also make rainy days feel like more of a good thing.

Highlights
  • Two blocks to Navy Pier, close to the Magnificent Mile
  • Spacious two-room suites
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center and heated indoor pool
Rooms
A dedicated living room in the two-room suites affords business travelers a separate space for work or families an additional room for children to rest on a sleeper sofa. The private bedrooms at the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel are styled with contemporary furniture, fine linens and one king or two double beds. A palette of browns, square-patterned carpeting and soft lighting work together to create a space that is warm and familiar. Every suite features a flat-screen plasma TV, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features

Guests of the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast served each morning inside an open, light-filled atrium. Every evening, the manager hosts a reception in the Sky Lobby. For the rest of the day, count on P.J. Clarke’s on the first floor of the property for favorite American eats, like burgers, meatloaf, salads and desserts.

Guests exercise at the 24-hour fitness center or swim in the heated, indoor pool.

High-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, including the 24-hour business center (fees apply).

On-site indoor valet and self-parking is available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grant Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • John Hancock Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with complimentary Internet access
  • 20,000 square feet of function space, including 16 meeting rooms
  • Chicago River Ballroom with room for up to 500 guests
  • Video, sound and lighting technology available
  • Full-service catering and convention staff

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (313)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
313 out of 313
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bgroen13
Estero, FL
Dec 9, 2013

Great value in the heart of Chicago

We had a fabulous stay. The complimentary breakfast and managers reception were the icing on the cake. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Samjilla
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 17, 2010

review survey

Everything was fine, except we thought we purchase a king size suite, with a jaccuzzi. But there wasnt one, and to find dirty tooth picks on the floor as well no toilet paper. Other than that, everything was fine. The bed was very comfortable, and made neatly. The room itself was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines Iowa
Feb 8, 2010

Great Hotel

Very helpful staff and friendly. A sin charge for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, ca
Feb 8, 2010

definitely great for downtown visiting

the embassy suites is a great downtown hotel. it is just 2 blocks off of michigan avenue which actually makes it nice to be off the main hectic strip. the staff is courteous and helpful. i have stayed here twice in the past few months and thoroughly enjoyed my stays. my only complaint would have to be that the room service seems to have issues delivering on their estimated times. however we were given a free dessert for the hassle of waiting an extra 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Feb 2, 2010

Excelent for medical purposes

My wife had foot surgery on January 2010. This hotel was ideal, since it has a supermarket across the block, 2 blocks away from Michigan and Northwestern Hospital. Breakfast is very good, but too crowded on weekends. Had a 16 night stay, and it was excelent for the stay and visits to doctors. They also lend us a wheel chair for the whole stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
Feb 2, 2010

Fantastic staff, great room, location

[...] at the front desk is a gem! She checked us in early and gave us a great room on the 16th floor. This hotel is not for the faint of heart (glass elevators, all glass in the hallways). If you have a real fear of heights, there are better options for you, but if you love great service at great prices, stay here. I mentioned we were staying for our anniversary, and they sent not only a complimentary bottle of wine, and beautiful cheese and fruit tray, but a card as well! The room would be a bit cramped for a family with teens, but was very roomy for two. Bed was so comfy! The breakfast was great. They warn you all over to get there early, so we did, all five nights. We never had to wait more than a few minutes. The managers reception was just as nice. Decent sized drinks for free!!! Snacks were chips and trail mix, but with so many nice restaurants in Chicago, do you want to fill up here? So much more to say.. Stay here.. It's great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tasmania, australia
Jan 30, 2010

excellent value

Location was fine. Despite snow falling, I could walk to Millenium Park, Art Institute etc.Felt safe and well looked after as a single female. Enjoyed manager's cocktail hour and substantial and tasty breakfast. Overall I rate the hotel as excellent value at around $US100.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Paul, MN
Jan 26, 2010

Satisfied customer

It was a very nice experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vernon Hills, IL
Jan 23, 2010

Fit our needs and more

We are avid city-goers that were spending an evening in the city with friends. The room was spacious and comfortable. The manager's reception from 5:30pm-7:30pm (every day) offered was open and inviting, offering free cocktails and wine to all guests. The staff was friendly and considered your personalized needs when offering recommendations on transportation and restaurants. Additionally the morning's continental breakfast went above and beyond the usual "serve yourself" oatmeal and cereal. It featured a cook to order omelet bar with a full range of side meats, potatoes, pancakes, etc. in addition to the standard yogurt, fresh fruit and bagel selection. It was simply everything we needed for a night stay in the city and could easily be a place to expand your stay with the mini refrigerator, microwave and other in-room features. Finally the location near the lakefront and other hot spots was ideal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KeKe and The Band
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 20, 2010

Perfect

I must say I loved this hotel. When we travel with the band we normally like to stay at the Embassy Suites because of the spacious rooms and the additional perks, like a wonderful Buffet Breakfast and the Managers Reception (this helps cut down on cost for us). The view from my room was absolutely amazing. The workout center overlooked a park, the pool area was just right. The gift shop had to be the kicker for me. It wasn't just your typical gift shop...a mini convent store...they had every item that you thought you packed but you didn't….loved it. The location of this hotel is perfect. It wasn't far from all the shops. There is a wonderful grocery store across the street. It's not too far from the Navy Pier….I actually left the group and went by myself….it was the best walk. Our last night in town we went to Lucky Strike, we had the wonderful time bowling and playing pool. They had the greatest wings ever. It was on the same block as our hotel so we didn't travel far at all. When I visited Chicago again in the spring with my Niece I will defiantly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
surphoton
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Jan 20, 2010

Great weekend value

The combination of location, good breakfast, comfortable suites, and great weekend value made the Embassy Suites experience one to repeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top