$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
445 reviews
Great trip

The Embassy Suites Lakefront was a great place to stay. Very friendly staff. Best hotel breakfast... See full review

  • rwhiteley12
  • Jul 7, 2014
So comfortable

It was far from a station. But we could get on the bus easily. The room was so comfortable. See full review

  • Kiyoedo
  • Jun 26, 2014
All-suite hotel by Navy Pier and other Chicago attractions

The Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel boasts an envious Chicago address, just two blocks from Navy Pier and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Peer out of one of the two-room suites to Chicago’s most recognizable landmarks. Business, shopping and entertainment districts are minutes away. Contemporary styling, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and weeknight manager receptions keep guests comfortable and well fed. A movie theater and restaurant in the building also make rainy days feel like more of a good thing.

Highlights
  • Two blocks to Navy Pier, close to the Magnificent Mile
  • Spacious two-room suites
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center and heated indoor pool
Rooms
A dedicated living room in the two-room suites affords business travelers a separate space for work or families an additional room for children to rest on a sleeper sofa. The private bedrooms at the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel are styled with contemporary furniture, fine linens and one king or two double beds. A palette of browns, square-patterned carpeting and soft lighting work together to create a space that is warm and familiar. Every suite features a flat-screen plasma TV, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features

Guests of the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast served each morning inside an open, light-filled atrium. Every evening, the manager hosts a reception in the Sky Lobby. For the rest of the day, count on P.J. Clarke’s on the first floor of the property for favorite American eats, like burgers, meatloaf, salads and desserts.

Guests exercise at the 24-hour fitness center or swim in the heated, indoor pool.

High-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, including the 24-hour business center (fees apply).

On-site indoor valet and self-parking is available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grant Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • John Hancock Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with complimentary Internet access
  • 20,000 square feet of function space, including 16 meeting rooms
  • Chicago River Ballroom with room for up to 500 guests
  • Video, sound and lighting technology available
  • Full-service catering and convention staff

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8904 -87.6201
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (445)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
445 out of 445
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bgroen13
Estero, FL
Dec 9, 2013

Great value in the heart of Chicago

We had a fabulous stay. The complimentary breakfast and managers reception were the icing on the cake. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Aug 1, 2010

Great in all respects

We walked to Magnificent Mile a lot since it was only 2-3 blocks away. Fantastic shopping and restaurants with lots of options for dining (Italian, Indian, Thai, Chicago style pizza, you name it), so location was perfect. Loved the free breakfast; so many choices of different things to eat with something for everyone. Kids swam every day. Great to have 2 TVs. Service was prompt and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We got the Chicago City Pass which gave us access to 5 different attractions (Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, etc.). But in the 2 1/2 days we stayed, there was no way we could cover all 5 and still have an enjoyable and leisurely time. You have to stay longer than this to get the most out of the Pass (but the Pass helped us beat all the long lines at Sky Deck and the Field Museum, so that was definitely a plus).

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento CA
Jul 14, 2010

Great time in Chicago

This was our first trip to Chicago and we LOVED it! The hotel was in a great, central location and the staff were very helpful. We used taxis, bus, and the "El" and found it very easy to get around the city. Oh yes, we also did the river boat cruise-what a treat! We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chicago Architectural Foundation river tour just off of Michigan and Wacker.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento CA
Jul 14, 2010

Great time in Chicago

This was our first trip to Chicago and we LOVED it! The hotel was in a great, central location and the staff were very helpful. We used taxis, bus, and the "El" and found it very easy to get around the city. Oh yes, we also did the river boat cruise-what a treat! We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chicago Architectural Foundation river tour just off of Michigan and Wacker.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hot and smokey
La Grange, IL
Jun 28, 2010

Hot, Loud, and busy

Our air conditioning was not working on a 92 degree day and our room was very smokey. We waited in line for most of our evening to checkin to our room, waiting 20 minutes for a crowded elevator and lonnnnng line for a free cocktail. It is close to Navy Pier but well worth a cap right to have a pleasant stay ! Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hot and smokey
La Grange, IL
Jun 28, 2010

Hot, Loud, and busy

Our air conditioning was not working on a 92 degree day and our room was very smokey. We waited in line for most of our evening to checkin to our room, waiting 20 minutes for a crowded elevator and lonnnnng line for a free cocktail. It is close to Navy Pier but well worth a cap right to have a pleasant stay ! Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VK1
Holland, MI
Jun 11, 2010

Embassy

Had a good time downtown Chicago. Location of the hotel was great. Breakfast was wonderful - cooks in kitchen were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VK1
Holland, MI
Jun 11, 2010

Embassy

Had a good time downtown Chicago. Location of the hotel was great. Breakfast was wonderful - cooks in kitchen were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
May 24, 2010

Girls Weekend

Our stay was fine. What was missing in our room that we would have liked was a ceiling fan in the bedroom to sleep. Our temp. control and temp. fan was not working correctly either. We took advantage and enjoyed the compl. breakfast and cocktails each day. The staff was always smiling and pleased to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just make sure you pack comfortable shoes. Depending upon where you are going, the walk can be for miles, several miles.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
May 24, 2010

Girls Weekend

Our stay was fine. What was missing in our room that we would have liked was a ceiling fan in the bedroom to sleep. Our temp. control and temp. fan was not working correctly either. We took advantage and enjoyed the compl. breakfast and cocktails each day. The staff was always smiling and pleased to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just make sure you pack comfortable shoes. Depending upon where you are going, the walk can be for miles, several miles.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cape Coral Fl
May 18, 2010

Great location and great price!

We went to see Chicago and see the Wrigley field. Great location for all the site seeing there is to do in downtown Chicago. Awesome food, transportation system (although some of the bus and train experience wasn't the greatest)easy, you can walk to a lot of the popular sites in the downtown area. Wrigley stadium is a must! Great shopping and great food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top