$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
265 reviews
Stay. Again

Wonderful staff is good and very helpful . Evening cocktails and breakfast was superb See full review

  • R verma
  • Mar 31, 2014
Weekend Stay

Best value you can get in downtown Chi. Staff made you feel important, and welcome. They were very... See full review

  • KOLFan1
  • Mar 10, 2014
All-suite hotel by Navy Pier and other Chicago attractions

The Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel boasts an envious Chicago address, just two blocks from Navy Pier and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Peer out of one of the two-room suites to Chicago’s most recognizable landmarks. Business, shopping and entertainment districts are minutes away. Contemporary styling, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and weeknight manager receptions keep guests comfortable and well fed. A movie theater and restaurant in the building also make rainy days feel like more of a good thing.

Highlights
  • Two blocks to Navy Pier, close to the Magnificent Mile
  • Spacious two-room suites
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center and heated indoor pool
Rooms
A dedicated living room in the two-room suites affords business travelers a separate space for work or families an additional room for children to rest on a sleeper sofa. The private bedrooms at the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel are styled with contemporary furniture, fine linens and one king or two double beds. A palette of browns, square-patterned carpeting and soft lighting work together to create a space that is warm and familiar. Every suite features a flat-screen plasma TV, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features

Guests of the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast served each morning inside an open, light-filled atrium. Every evening, the manager hosts a reception in the Sky Lobby. For the rest of the day, count on P.J. Clarke’s on the first floor of the property for favorite American eats, like burgers, meatloaf, salads and desserts.

Guests exercise at the 24-hour fitness center or swim in the heated, indoor pool.

High-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, including the 24-hour business center (fees apply).

On-site indoor valet and self-parking is available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grant Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • John Hancock Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with complimentary Internet access
  • 20,000 square feet of function space, including 16 meeting rooms
  • Chicago River Ballroom with room for up to 500 guests
  • Video, sound and lighting technology available
  • Full-service catering and convention staff

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8904 -87.6201
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (265)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
265 out of 265
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
Helen on the Road
Frankfort, IN
May 13, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Great hotel that offers a lovely breakfast included in the price of your room. Great location for any activity you want to do downtown. Very little swimming pool, but the kids enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit with a short taxi ride the Lincoln Park Zoo!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

1
DORIS & FRIENDS
SOUTH FLORIDA / INDIANA
Jul 28, 2009

WOULD NOT EVER STAY THERE AGAIN !!

THE LOCATION WAS GREAT, BUT WHEN CHECKING IN THE ROOM I REQUESTED AND PAID FOR IN COMPLETE WAS NOT GIVEN TO ME. THE STAFF TOLD ME IT WAS NOT A GUARENTEE TO OBTAIN THIS FROM ORBITZ. I WOULD JUST HAVE TO SETTLE FOR WHAT THEY WERE TO GIVE ME . I WAS NOT VERY HAPPY WITH THIS EXPERIENCE. I WOULD NOT CONSIDER USING ORBIZ, OR THIS HOTEL AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

THE DELI / FOOD MARKET ACROSS THE HOTEL WAS VERY GOOD.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Jul 19, 2009

Nice Rooms, Great Location

My husband and I chose this hotel because it was close to the Taste of Chicago and Navy Pier. Hotel staff was very friendly. Everything was in walking distance. We were very disappointed we had pay $82 for self-parking for only 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
oklahoma
Jul 19, 2009

wonderful freind reuion

I went to see my freind it was a wonderful trip I wished I could stay longer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
ATLANTA GA
Jul 18, 2009

CHITOWN TRIP

WE WHERE THERE FOR THE TASTE OF CHICAGO. THE HOTEL WAS GREAT THE ROOMS WHERE VERY NICE. tHE LOBBY STAFF WAS GREAT AND VERY HELPFUL. THE VALET STAFF WAS VERY GOOD AND PROFESSIONAL. hOWEVER THE HOUSEKEEPING STAFF WAS NOT VERY GOOD THEY DID NOT SPEAK ENGLISH AN WHERE VERY SLOW WITH SERVICE IN EVERY WAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
Jim and Vicky
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 17, 2009

Fabulous hotel

My husband & I took advantage of our downtown location. We walked to Navy Pier, the Sears Tower, movie theater, Michigan avenue. We also took the L to a White Sox game. We dined @ Carson's Ribs, Nick's Fish Market, and Gino's East Pizza. The two room suite with the king size bed and two TV's was our best vacation hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Each morning a newspaper is delivered to your door. Made-to-order breakfast awaits you. The amount and variety of food should satisfy everyone. The service is wonderful and it's a great way to save money.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
Braves won 2 out of 3 games
Louisville, KY
Jul 9, 2009

Chicago was awesome

Went for the Cubs vs Braves 3 days series and wanted to stay close to Navy Pier for day activities. Free trolley stop right out side hotel door. Awesome hotel and location and I got it for $139 a night. Valet parking is a little steep, $49 per day but it was comforting that my car was in a secure location and they were very quick to get it when I wanted, unlimited in and out. On my check out day they let me keep my car and luggage with them to go to a ballgame by cab. Very good breakfast buffet and the evening drinks/snacks reception was great. Will definitely plan my next Chicago trip with Embassy and Orbitz

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great cost savings for me was a full service grocery wtih Starbucks (awesome) right across the street.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
KatCen
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 2, 2009

Great loc & room-lousy customer service

We had to wait 30 minutes in line to get checked in; clerk was not rude, but she wasn't very pleasant. When we finally got our 6th floor room, the card key wouldn't work. My husband went back to front desk and waited in line AGAIN for approximately 20 minutes. Clerk re-coded card and told us to call if we couldn't get in the room (and how were we to do that if we couldn't get in?). Card worked once to get us in the room, but then didn't work once again. We called Hotel Operator; security came up to verify the cards didn't work. He said he'd be "right back" with new card keys. After waiting another 30 minutes and no new card keys, my husband went back down to front desk to find out where our card keys were; security guard was standing at front desk and apparently "forgot" to get us new keys. Clerk gave us new card keys, and third time's a charm, our keys finally worked. Other than this fiasco, hotel was in a great location, comfortable and quiet. Free breakfast was great even though getting the food was incredibly challenging. We were stunned that it cost $41 a day to park which would have been nice to know before hand, but that's how it goes in Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the location!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Virginia
Jun 25, 2009

Good choice for the price

The rooms where not glamorous, but very clean. Having a cooked breakfast was a plus.I liked the free evening cocktail party. The staff was always pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Michigan Blvd with great shops. Also good bus transportation.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Santa Rosa, CA
Jun 22, 2009

decent price, good breakfast

Visited family. For the price compared to nearby suites- we got a good deal. Suite provided lots of room and a quiet and a loud space- perfect for our family. Made to order omelette breakfast included. This is a busy hotel so it is important to check on best time to eat- if you are in a hurry. for the most part staff very helpful. Pool is on smaller side but was perfect for us. It was interesting talking to other families at the pool- we met 2 families whose main reason for going to Chicagp was to shop at the American Girl Store. Valet parking is expensive- $49. per night so consider closeby self-park. Navy pier is closeby with fireworks on some nights- quite a show! Only problem was we booked a non-smoking room and when we checked in they did not have any non-smoking rooms. Since we made reservation through orbitz they were unable to save our non-smoking room. We did arrive on the later side- 7pm. They did bring a machine to help purify the room which helped some. We have stayed there before and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Lots of folks check out Navy Pier. Grant Park is also walkable and less touristy although very popular with Chicagoans. Incredible free concerts in Frank Gehry designed band shell.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Jun 22, 2009

Hotel was ok, after the first night!

When we got there, they gave us a room that was wheelchair accessible. We didnt think anything of it. Tried to take a shower and water went all over the floor. When I called to say that I wanted to change rooms, the girl was VERY RUDE. She said because we booked with a 3rd party and not directly with the hotel that our reservation was first come first serve. She said there was no way to switch rooms so I asked to speak to a manager and we did get to change rooms. Will I recommend this hotel, maybe but I will tell them to beware of the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top