$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
313 out of 313
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TDavid
Business
Chattanooga, TN, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Extremely nice !

A very beautiful hotel, great location, and corteous staff. Quite a popular and busy hotel evident by the crowd at the free morning breakfasts. Sitting and standing areas are challenging to find during breakfast and evening social hour but no one ever walks away or leaves unsatisfied. This is perhaps the only issue that could be improved but with such a popular grand accomodation, it's an envious problem desired by other hotels. Extremely nice, had a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Samjilla
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 17, 2010

review survey

Everything was fine, except we thought we purchase a king size suite, with a jaccuzzi. But there wasnt one, and to find dirty tooth picks on the floor as well no toilet paper. Other than that, everything was fine. The bed was very comfortable, and made neatly. The room itself was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines Iowa
Feb 8, 2010

Great Hotel

Very helpful staff and friendly. A sin charge for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, ca
Feb 8, 2010

definitely great for downtown visiting

the embassy suites is a great downtown hotel. it is just 2 blocks off of michigan avenue which actually makes it nice to be off the main hectic strip. the staff is courteous and helpful. i have stayed here twice in the past few months and thoroughly enjoyed my stays. my only complaint would have to be that the room service seems to have issues delivering on their estimated times. however we were given a free dessert for the hassle of waiting an extra 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Feb 2, 2010

Excelent for medical purposes

My wife had foot surgery on January 2010. This hotel was ideal, since it has a supermarket across the block, 2 blocks away from Michigan and Northwestern Hospital. Breakfast is very good, but too crowded on weekends. Had a 16 night stay, and it was excelent for the stay and visits to doctors. They also lend us a wheel chair for the whole stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
Feb 2, 2010

Fantastic staff, great room, location

[...] at the front desk is a gem! She checked us in early and gave us a great room on the 16th floor. This hotel is not for the faint of heart (glass elevators, all glass in the hallways). If you have a real fear of heights, there are better options for you, but if you love great service at great prices, stay here. I mentioned we were staying for our anniversary, and they sent not only a complimentary bottle of wine, and beautiful cheese and fruit tray, but a card as well! The room would be a bit cramped for a family with teens, but was very roomy for two. Bed was so comfy! The breakfast was great. They warn you all over to get there early, so we did, all five nights. We never had to wait more than a few minutes. The managers reception was just as nice. Decent sized drinks for free!!! Snacks were chips and trail mix, but with so many nice restaurants in Chicago, do you want to fill up here? So much more to say.. Stay here.. It's great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tasmania, australia
Jan 30, 2010

excellent value

Location was fine. Despite snow falling, I could walk to Millenium Park, Art Institute etc.Felt safe and well looked after as a single female. Enjoyed manager's cocktail hour and substantial and tasty breakfast. Overall I rate the hotel as excellent value at around $US100.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Paul, MN
Jan 26, 2010

Satisfied customer

It was a very nice experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vernon Hills, IL
Jan 23, 2010

Fit our needs and more

We are avid city-goers that were spending an evening in the city with friends. The room was spacious and comfortable. The manager's reception from 5:30pm-7:30pm (every day) offered was open and inviting, offering free cocktails and wine to all guests. The staff was friendly and considered your personalized needs when offering recommendations on transportation and restaurants. Additionally the morning's continental breakfast went above and beyond the usual "serve yourself" oatmeal and cereal. It featured a cook to order omelet bar with a full range of side meats, potatoes, pancakes, etc. in addition to the standard yogurt, fresh fruit and bagel selection. It was simply everything we needed for a night stay in the city and could easily be a place to expand your stay with the mini refrigerator, microwave and other in-room features. Finally the location near the lakefront and other hot spots was ideal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KeKe and The Band
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 20, 2010

Perfect

I must say I loved this hotel. When we travel with the band we normally like to stay at the Embassy Suites because of the spacious rooms and the additional perks, like a wonderful Buffet Breakfast and the Managers Reception (this helps cut down on cost for us). The view from my room was absolutely amazing. The workout center overlooked a park, the pool area was just right. The gift shop had to be the kicker for me. It wasn't just your typical gift shop...a mini convent store...they had every item that you thought you packed but you didn't….loved it. The location of this hotel is perfect. It wasn't far from all the shops. There is a wonderful grocery store across the street. It's not too far from the Navy Pier….I actually left the group and went by myself….it was the best walk. Our last night in town we went to Lucky Strike, we had the wonderful time bowling and playing pool. They had the greatest wings ever. It was on the same block as our hotel so we didn't travel far at all. When I visited Chicago again in the spring with my Niece I will defiantly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
surphoton
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Jan 20, 2010

Great weekend value

The combination of location, good breakfast, comfortable suites, and great weekend value made the Embassy Suites experience one to repeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top