$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GinaG
Business
Honolulu, HI
Nov 1, 2010

Great surprise!

We had lived in Illinois for two years but never visited the city. We took time on our recent visit to family to drive to Chicago. I was apprehensive of booking hotel without a personal reference but the majority of reviews were exceptional and the price/location were great. The hotel far exceeded our expectations. Room was exceptional and most importantly CLEAN. It was a great respite from long hours of driving. View was spectacular and breakfast had many options. It was delicious and very convenient. Hotel treated us no differently than full price paying customers. Parking was costly, especially since we used taxis to get around. Still, we chalked it up as the price for convenience and great accommodations. Entrance was a little challenging to find. Will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Investigate parking lot next door if you have a car and will be staying long.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Oct 28, 2010

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefr

Horrible. The air conditioning did not work two nights in a row. The shower curtin rod was bent, the soap dish flipped around. The Alarm clock would not work. I asked for management to come to my room. After 28 hours of never hearing, I went to the front desk for management help where i was told there was no need to her to come to my room. Because I bought my room through [...] they refused to accept my Hilton Honors account, and any issue I had with the room, the front desk's response was always "you paid [...], you have to get assistence from them". [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larri
Business
New York, NY
Oct 28, 2010

Great location, nice rooms

Great location and nice room. We had a great time there. The swimming pool and spa are great and you have complimentary breakfast and cocktails. Althoug we reserved a room with a king size bed, we got a room with two beds. Appart from that, we had a good experience in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Oct 21, 2010

"Unbeatable location for the price"

Had a problem with the room on checkin and it was promptly looked after by moving me to an even better room. Great custom breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining and shopping choices within short walking distance. If neither is your choice there is an AMC movie theater and bowling facility next door.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 20, 2010

Spaciaous suite

The room was nice. I would suggest its perfect if traveling with kids for an extended stay. It was more than I need for my one night stay but the orbitz price was right! The parking garage is cumbersome to get to(3 different elevators from garage to room) So I suggest using bellhop services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
panama city fl.
Oct 5, 2010

fantastic fanily experence

room not as up to date as other stays, staff very helpful,close to everything to do,easy to find and to get to places from there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

take bus tour cheep people very knowledgable point out fun facts about

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
suzq the rappeller
Business
crystal lake, IL
Sep 14, 2010

One of my favorite hotels ever

was there to rappell down the Wit hotel for Respiratory health. The Embassy was wonderful. The complimentary breakfast and happy hour was fun, and delicious. Had a wonderful stay and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Travelors
Business
Pekin, Illinois
Aug 20, 2010

I would go back!

The hotel location was perfect for a short walk to the Navy Pier and a few extra steps to the Magnificient Mile. We were very pleased with the valet parking arrangement and the complimentary breakfast was a great unexpected surprise. There was ample choices of food and you could even order an omelet if you wished. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Travelors
Business
Pekin, Illinois
Aug 20, 2010

I would go back!

The hotel location was perfect for a short walk to the Navy Pier and a few extra steps to the Magnificient Mile. We were very pleased with the valet parking arrangement and the complimentary breakfast was a great unexpected surprise. There was ample choices of food and you could even order an omelet if you wished. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Aug 9, 2010

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lake

The rooms were gorgeous, the hotel was nice and clean, the service was great, rooms were clean, view was outstanding, a nice walk to all the major restaurants and mall .. went to the pier, science center, it was a short walk and distance from everything, Vallet parking was convient staff were great however to get the car sometimes would take forever .. other wise i would totally recc'md staying here and i would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top