$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
279 reviews
More than I expected

I had not stayed in an Embassy Suites before. Having the two rooms, a kitchenette, a hot breakfast,... See full review

  • JS Boston
  • Jul 25, 2014
Vacation Was Perfect!

The Embassy Suites Lakefront was a perfect place to stay while in Chicago. Close to major shopping... See full review

  • Quarterflip1958
  • Jul 21, 2014
All-suite hotel by Navy Pier and other Chicago attractions

The Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel boasts an envious Chicago address, just two blocks from Navy Pier and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Peer out of one of the two-room suites to Chicago’s most recognizable landmarks. Business, shopping and entertainment districts are minutes away. Contemporary styling, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and weeknight manager receptions keep guests comfortable and well fed. A movie theater and restaurant in the building also make rainy days feel like more of a good thing.

Highlights
  • Two blocks to Navy Pier, close to the Magnificent Mile
  • Spacious two-room suites
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center and heated indoor pool
Rooms
A dedicated living room in the two-room suites affords business travelers a separate space for work or families an additional room for children to rest on a sleeper sofa. The private bedrooms at the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel are styled with contemporary furniture, fine linens and one king or two double beds. A palette of browns, square-patterned carpeting and soft lighting work together to create a space that is warm and familiar. Every suite features a flat-screen plasma TV, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features

Guests of the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast served each morning inside an open, light-filled atrium. Every evening, the manager hosts a reception in the Sky Lobby. For the rest of the day, count on P.J. Clarke’s on the first floor of the property for favorite American eats, like burgers, meatloaf, salads and desserts.

Guests exercise at the 24-hour fitness center or swim in the heated, indoor pool.

High-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, including the 24-hour business center (fees apply).

On-site indoor valet and self-parking is available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grant Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • John Hancock Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with complimentary Internet access
  • 20,000 square feet of function space, including 16 meeting rooms
  • Chicago River Ballroom with room for up to 500 guests
  • Video, sound and lighting technology available
  • Full-service catering and convention staff

Hotel Map

41.8904 -87.6201
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (279)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
279 out of 279
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Claulpz
Monterrey, Mexico
Aug 6, 2013

Great location

Me and my friends were very pleased with our stay in this hotel, it was perfectly located, near shopping area and millenium park, we didnt have to take a taxi, the breakfast was excellent and the staff great, they even gave us a promotion for internet Access. I would recommend this hotel and will comeback in my next visit to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you dont have time to go out to lunch or dinner, you can walk across the hotel to Dominicks, ang get yourself a dinner that you can microwaved at your room.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samantha Sight Seer
Edina, Minnesota
May 27, 2014

Best Location in Chicago!

My boyfriend and I wanted to have a fun weekend in Chicago without breaking the bank. We wanted to stay in the heart of Chicago to avoid the traffic and ridiculous parking fees, but most of the hotels were way out of our price range. When we saw Embassy Suites - Downtown/Lakefront we thought the price looked to good to be true and when we got there...it was even better than we expected! The location is within walking distance of The Navy Pier, Cloud Gate and Millennium Park, The Willis Tour and even the Lincoln Park Zoo (if you don't mind spending a few hours walking along the Lake Michigan boardwalk). The hotel also offers a delicious and free cooked to order breakfast every morning and snacks and 1 free drink per adult every evening during the managers reception! We will recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a fun weekend in Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are road tripping to Chicago, just park in the garage and walk everywhere! You will save a ton of money and have a great experience!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cubfanfwdenny
fort wayne
May 27, 2014

e suites

Nice location-close to public transportation-avoid the overpriced bar next door. Awful service. Self park was cheap and there was a movie theater in the same block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brinjal
Michigan
May 26, 2014

Nice family getaway

Hotel was spacious for a family of four. Extra space in living room area. A bit noisy at night and ling lines at breakfast. Good location. Walkable to shops and restaurants. Friendly staff. Quick service. Nice to have evening cocktail hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Le Colonial restaurant

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VeganDad
Pittsburgh
May 7, 2014

Great value; nice stay

Very much enjoyed our stay. The room was very large and comfortable, with a nice view. The breakfast was ample, and the staff very helpful. It is a short walk to the navy pier (about .4 miles) and about .9 miles to the millennium park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SJT1
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 19, 2014

Family vacation in Chicago

We loved the location and the price for what you get! Were very surprised at how expensive parking was $59/night for valet. Also started out on the wrong foot with Bell staff. It took a long time to get our bags to the room, 40+ mins. Said they were real busy and would get there soon. Pretty rude about it too. When traveling with young children and you need a bag, you want help not the cold shoulder. We even said we would meet them and get what we needed or take the bags ourselves and were told "NO" we couldn't come get our own bags. It still bothers me how I was spoken to. But, for the rest of the hotel staff "good job!" we did enjoy what you provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R verma
Marion oh
Mar 31, 2014

Stay. Again

Wonderful staff is good and very helpful . Evening cocktails and breakfast was superb

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HHI lovers
Illinois
Mar 16, 2014

Chicago quick

Like other Embassy Suites, a large hotel, lots of kids,. The quality of the breakfast is less than expected. Good location and convenient suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Michigan Avenue

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KOLFan1
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 10, 2014

Weekend Stay

Best value you can get in downtown Chi. Staff made you feel important, and welcome. They were very helpful. Room size was excellent. Stay on the 17th floor if you can. Awesome hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hcyclist
Houston TX
Mar 3, 2014

Chicago family visit

Staff was very friendly and out going, the free breakfast left a little to be desired, previous frozen pancakes are always a disappointment. the bar staff was very friendly and accommodating. the only down side was the room was not as clean as i would have likes. around the Ac vent was an large accumulation of dust. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business Trip of 061813
Business
Troy, MI
Feb 24, 2014

N&M Trip to Chicago

It was great hotel. Parking cost is almost 50% of the hotel cost. This is the only negative of entire stay. Other than that it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search