$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carriebear22
Appleton, WI, USA
Apr 14, 2012

Lovely get away, great location

This hotel is a great place, we won't stay anywhere else in Chicago. For a hotel downtown the room is bigger than most because of the 2nd sitting room attached. Very clean, modern looking place. The free drinks and breakfast usually have a line, but those perks are worth about $25 per person daily if purchased outside. Nice to start the day with a good breakfast. Having a fridge in the room is unusual downtown so that is a big perk if you want to bring your own snacks, healthy foods or beverages. The location is amazing, 2-3 blocks to Michigan Ave, 4-5 blocks to Navy Pier. Love this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teresa P.
Business
N/A
Feb 11, 2015

A Day in Downtown Chicago

Hotel is located in downtown Chicago near many places to eat and hangout. Public transportation is walking distance. The room was very clean and comfortable. The price was great considering we stood in a room that fit up to 6 people. They do offer continental breakfast made to order. The staff was friendly. Overall it was a great stay. We will come again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clareman
Business
Aurora
Feb 11, 2015

a quick getaway

We drove in to the city with another couple, each had made reservations for an overnight stay, we first went to the Chicago History Museum, checked in at 4:30, our rooms were on the same floor, different ends, theirs overlooked the large open atrium, very loud echoes of laughter, shouting, screaming kids. Lots of families with lots of school age kids were there. We went down for the managers reception, a long line barely moving for drinks at the bar, we ended up not getting one, had some chips and dip, no hot appitizers, and again, kids running around everywhere. The restaurant downstairs was closed due to a burst pipe, where we planned on eating dinner, so we found a place 1 1/2 blocks away called D4, an Irish pub, good meal. Our rooms were nice, the bedwas clean and comfortable, the mini kitchen was nice, and useful.The young ladie at the front desk was very nice, and helpful, the free breakfast was OK. I probably wouldn't go there again.We stay downtown 1 or 2 nights a year, trying different places, so this wasn't our first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mari M.
Business
Holland
Feb 10, 2015

Christmas 2014

We experienced a great value with this stay in Chicago. The hotel though is more family oriented and we would appreciate a more adult feel and experience. Too many screaming kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Volare Italian Restaurant

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Shawlady
Business
MILWAUKEE
Feb 4, 2015

Great price

I loved this hotel. The room was nice and the location was less than 5 minutes from navy Pier

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Navy Pier, Free drinks and breakfast is an extra plus

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ieatcow3
Business
N/A
Jan 18, 2015

Great Stay

Clean, good free breakfast, evening reception was nice. Wish the pool was bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ab.961
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Family Thanksgiving

We booked 3 rooms last minute for Thanksgiving (Wednesday - Friday). We live in a condo in the neighborhoods and our place is small for 10 people. For the price of the room which was less than half of what the typical rate is, we decided to join my family. The deal for the hotel including breakfast, happy hour and a pool for the kids could not be beat! We even took the limo that was available... The cost wasn't much more then the price for 2 cabs and the driver was awesome and made my niece and nephews first limo experience one to remember! I see more Thanksgivings spent here.... Only a 10 minute walk to the parade!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melanie
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Fantastic family spring break stay

The hotel was in a perfect location to access all areas of the city. We took one day and walked down to Water tower place. We had as easy drive to the museum campus. Valet parking was incredibly helpful and convenient. We did have one issue with the toilet in our room, however the maintenance staff was super swift in taking care of the problem. The staff at the front desk and in the dining areas of the hotel were top notch. We loved the evening reception and breakfast buffets. We would (and have) recommend this hotel to any other families looking for a base to center their vacation around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alison A.
Business
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

Great surprise xmas present trup!

Our stay was great and the price was even better! In a great location and the daily breakfast was a great way to start our days!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raymond O.
Business
Ponce
Jan 7, 2015

Awesome solo trip

It was a very good experience, the staff was great, and the free breakfast awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convenient for shopping

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sabrina B.
Business
Germantown
Jan 6, 2015

Amazing girls weekend!

Stayed with a bunch of friends for the night, the hotel was awesome! Cocktail hour put it over the top!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top