$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
313 out of 313
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CBinAZ
Business
Arizona
Jun 16, 2011

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

The hotel was nice... Rooms were wonderful. Lot's of space to spread out in. I like the 2-room suites. I was not happy with the VERY SMALL pool that was overran by children and would have liked to have a nice ADULT area. The hotel sponsors free breakfast made to order as well as a reception in the evening with free drinks which were fantastic! I had a problem with my next door neighbors NEVER going to bed and up partying ALL NIGHT AND DAY and the hotel changed my room without hesitation. Overall A GREAT experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charbiz
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 3, 2011

Fantastic Location and Hotel

This location right by the Miracle Mile and across the street from a Dominic's grocery store was the perfect spot for a stay in Chicago. I didn't go shopping, but was in town to work and had easy access to taxis and buses right outside the hotel. The inside is gorgeous with waterfalls, a large bamboo installation and eating area in the inner atrium which all rooms' entry doors overlook. The suites were spacious, modern, clean, the bed and linens were comfortable and the suite also had a mini fridge/wet bar sink/microwave between the bedroom and outer suite. It's a bit unusual to have to take an elevator to the lobby area and then a short walk to another elevator to street level, but honestly not a big deal. The price for my suite was one of the best in the area and certainly a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jun 2, 2011

Great location; room needed more venting

Location was great: midway between Navy Pier and the Miracle Mile shopping area. The staff, breakfast, and manager's reception were top notch as expected at an Embassy Suites. The hotel appears due for a remodeling. Our room seemed to need some way of getting fresh air in and to remove the humid air from the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice grocery store across the street to the west from this hotel. It's simple and cheap to stock up on food or to put together a picnic lunch. There are many great parks close by to enjoy it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sldktiewk
Business
boston, ma
May 29, 2011

Spacious and generous

Suites are large. View of the lake great. Located where all the action is. Complimentary full breakfast and evening social with open bar, is rare indeed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 16, 2011

Great experience

The hotel was very comfortable. Great service and location. The breakfast was first class. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Take your swim suit. Nice pool and hot tub.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 16, 2011

Loud, smelly

The room was on the 8th floor, which is a smoking floor. At the time we booked the room it was all they had. The room smelled very very strongly and the windows didn't open. People were parting at the Bar all night and I could hear them load and clear. Between the smell and the noise I didn't get much sleep. I never was able to find the ice machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington IL
May 15, 2011

wonderful

We had never stayed at an embassy suites before and were surprised at the rooms and the free breakfast and drinks. This breakfast was also not just a buffet but a cook to order hot breakfast which was amazing. While it was a little loud in the hotel as everything kind of echos a little the rooms are still large and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ktsb10
Business
davenport, IA
May 12, 2011

Cubs cardnals game

Everyone was super friendly and helpful! My husband and. Went to a cubs game and shopped downtown. This hotel was far better than others we have stayed in Chicago. The only thing I would change is the location rather be closer to Michigan ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Trenton, Michigan
Apr 30, 2011

great location!

Breakfast and Managers "happy hour" were very nice. Pool area was crowded,but relatively clean. Great location for sight seeing Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jam On It
Business
Detroit, Mi
Apr 23, 2011

Excellant Family Hotel

This hotel provided excellant service from check in (able to get in room early), room service, breakfast and happy hour. I wil always stay here when in Chicago. Once again excellant service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping on Michigan Avenue or navy Pier all within a short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top