$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
322 out of 322
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weary warrior
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Nice room, too pricey

Very nice hotel, courteous staff and great breakfast. However I've stayed in cheaper hotels that were just as nice. Also, $14.95 a day for internet??? You have got to be kidding me!I stay in $80 hotels and get it for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sammie Jane
Business
Midwest
Nov 27, 2011

Not as I expected

The tiles in the bathroom were mildewed, the heating/cooling unit was disabled, the room had a funny smell, and the breakfast very likely gave me intestinal distress. On the up side, the staff working the bar/restaurant on Thanksgiving evening -- all extraordinarily hardworking and aiming to please -- were more professional than my husband and I usually see anywhere. A bit of redemption for this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rubies
Business
Chicago Il
Nov 16, 2011

Good location, great room.

I would stay here again....close to everything and nice room. Comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

to Michigan Avenue - Gold Coast shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RallyS
Business
St Louis MO
Nov 10, 2011

Great location

We found this Embassy Suites to be very convenient. Within walking distance to Navy Pier and lots of great restaurants. Other amenities nearby-grocery store, Walgreens, movie theater, bowling alley/billiards. Room quite comfortable. Be aware parking is $49/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KAL1
Business
Goodyear, AZ, USA
Nov 6, 2011

Great for the family!

Very nice hotel and friendly staff. Suite was the perfect set-up for our family. We could close the bedroom door so our two year old could sleep, while we relaxed in the comfortable main area with television, couch, and table. The two vanities were very convenient for getting ready in the morning. Can't beat the complimentary made-to-order breakfast and happy hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free made-to-order breakfast every morning and free happy hour every evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
merri
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Great location, great value

This hotel worked perfectly for a girlfriend's getaway. Walking distance to everything we wanted, friendly helpful staff and an amazing made to our order breakfast that was included. As we sat long past breakfast, still laughing and gabbing, we were asked very politely if we could move to another area so they could set up for lunch. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant. Room was basic but a great view and we loved the sitting area separate so we could visit. Not a luxury hotel but clean, comfortable and a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emilio's Tapas restaurant on Ohio near No. Columbus is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DSBFAM
Business
Kentucky, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Great Family Trip!

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were so very impressed with the hotel staff. Every single person we interacted with was very warm and friendly. The staff was especially good at helping us choose things to do that were suitable for our children. We loved the Children's Museum, Shedd Aquarium, American Girl Store and the Navy Pier. The staff also helped us plan our transportation, which we really appreciated. While the wait for breakfast was a little long, it was worth it. The cooked-to-order omelets were amazing! Thanks for helping our family enjoy our first trip to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Children's Museum has free admission on Thursday nights from 5-8.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger810
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 4, 2011

Good locale for exploring Chicago

We enjoyed our stay in Chicago, thanks to the ease, comfort, and location of this Embassy Suites. We were just a short 2 block walk from Michigan Avenue which was teeming with Buses for quick rides to anywhere along the Magnificent Mile, restaurants, markets, theatres, museums, and art galleries. Trains were a little less accessible at about 4 blocks away, but were easily usable to more distant reaches in Chicago. The breakfast was good with the prepared to order egg breakfasts, decent coffee, but don't stray too far from the eggs as other breakfast items were just average. Highly recommended for any first time visitor, seasoned travelers, and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the 3-day CTA pass for $14 and go anywhere anytime

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greenluvr
Business
Moline, IL, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Great place to stay!

this hotel is well worth the money. Perfect location in Chicago! Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mk55
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Oct 3, 2011

great business place to stay

excellent stay! comfortable beds and the staff was helpful. Excellent breakfast in the morning and the happy hour in the evening was a nice addition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants around. The Dao Thai restaraunt was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top