$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
448 reviews
More than I expected

I had not stayed in an Embassy Suites before. Having the two rooms, a kitchenette, a hot breakfast,... See full review

  • JS Boston
  • Jul 25, 2014
Vacation Was Perfect!

The Embassy Suites Lakefront was a perfect place to stay while in Chicago. Close to major shopping... See full review

  • Quarterflip1958
  • Jul 21, 2014
All-suite hotel by Navy Pier and other Chicago attractions

The Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel boasts an envious Chicago address, just two blocks from Navy Pier and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Peer out of one of the two-room suites to Chicago’s most recognizable landmarks. Business, shopping and entertainment districts are minutes away. Contemporary styling, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and weeknight manager receptions keep guests comfortable and well fed. A movie theater and restaurant in the building also make rainy days feel like more of a good thing.

Highlights
  • Two blocks to Navy Pier, close to the Magnificent Mile
  • Spacious two-room suites
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center and heated indoor pool
Rooms
A dedicated living room in the two-room suites affords business travelers a separate space for work or families an additional room for children to rest on a sleeper sofa. The private bedrooms at the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel are styled with contemporary furniture, fine linens and one king or two double beds. A palette of browns, square-patterned carpeting and soft lighting work together to create a space that is warm and familiar. Every suite features a flat-screen plasma TV, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features

Guests of the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast served each morning inside an open, light-filled atrium. Every evening, the manager hosts a reception in the Sky Lobby. For the rest of the day, count on P.J. Clarke’s on the first floor of the property for favorite American eats, like burgers, meatloaf, salads and desserts.

Guests exercise at the 24-hour fitness center or swim in the heated, indoor pool.

High-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, including the 24-hour business center (fees apply).

On-site indoor valet and self-parking is available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grant Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • John Hancock Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with complimentary Internet access
  • 20,000 square feet of function space, including 16 meeting rooms
  • Chicago River Ballroom with room for up to 500 guests
  • Video, sound and lighting technology available
  • Full-service catering and convention staff

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8904 -87.6201
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (448)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
448 out of 448
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grant Zhang
Valporaiso IN
May 31, 2014

wonderful

it's wonderful stay. good free food in the morning. the best location to trip in downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KAL1
Goodyear, AZ, USA
Nov 6, 2011

Great for the family!

Very nice hotel and friendly staff. Suite was the perfect set-up for our family. We could close the bedroom door so our two year old could sleep, while we relaxed in the comfortable main area with television, couch, and table. The two vanities were very convenient for getting ready in the morning. Can't beat the complimentary made-to-order breakfast and happy hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free made-to-order breakfast every morning and free happy hour every evening.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
merri
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Great location, great value

This hotel worked perfectly for a girlfriend's getaway. Walking distance to everything we wanted, friendly helpful staff and an amazing made to our order breakfast that was included. As we sat long past breakfast, still laughing and gabbing, we were asked very politely if we could move to another area so they could set up for lunch. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant. Room was basic but a great view and we loved the sitting area separate so we could visit. Not a luxury hotel but clean, comfortable and a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emilio's Tapas restaurant on Ohio near No. Columbus is great.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DSBFAM
Kentucky, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Great Family Trip!

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were so very impressed with the hotel staff. Every single person we interacted with was very warm and friendly. The staff was especially good at helping us choose things to do that were suitable for our children. We loved the Children's Museum, Shedd Aquarium, American Girl Store and the Navy Pier. The staff also helped us plan our transportation, which we really appreciated. While the wait for breakfast was a little long, it was worth it. The cooked-to-order omelets were amazing! Thanks for helping our family enjoy our first trip to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Children's Museum has free admission on Thursday nights from 5-8.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger810
Austin, TX
Oct 4, 2011

Good locale for exploring Chicago

We enjoyed our stay in Chicago, thanks to the ease, comfort, and location of this Embassy Suites. We were just a short 2 block walk from Michigan Avenue which was teeming with Buses for quick rides to anywhere along the Magnificent Mile, restaurants, markets, theatres, museums, and art galleries. Trains were a little less accessible at about 4 blocks away, but were easily usable to more distant reaches in Chicago. The breakfast was good with the prepared to order egg breakfasts, decent coffee, but don't stray too far from the eggs as other breakfast items were just average. Highly recommended for any first time visitor, seasoned travelers, and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the 3-day CTA pass for $14 and go anywhere anytime

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger810
Austin, TX
Oct 4, 2011

Good locale for exploring Chicago

We enjoyed our stay in Chicago, thanks to the ease, comfort, and location of this Embassy Suites. We were just a short 2 block walk from Michigan Avenue which was teeming with Buses for quick rides to anywhere along the Magnificent Mile, restaurants, markets, theatres, museums, and art galleries. Trains were a little less accessible at about 4 blocks away, but were easily usable to more distant reaches in Chicago. The breakfast was good with the prepared to order egg breakfasts, decent coffee, but don't stray too far from the eggs as other breakfast items were just average. Highly recommended for any first time visitor, seasoned travelers, and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the 3-day CTA pass for $14 and go anywhere anytime

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greenluvr
Moline, IL, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Great place to stay!

this hotel is well worth the money. Perfect location in Chicago! Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mk55
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Oct 3, 2011

great business place to stay

excellent stay! comfortable beds and the staff was helpful. Excellent breakfast in the morning and the happy hour in the evening was a nice addition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants around. The Dao Thai restaraunt was very good.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Away
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Oct 3, 2011

IT WAS OK

The hotel overall was a bit disappointing for an Embassy Suites. The rooms didn't feel warm and friendly.Bright blinding lights infront of every door on every floor wasn't attractive. Biggest problem you can't get cell phone reception inside the hotel. I had to leave the hotel and go outside to talk on the phone. I won't stay there again in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Roy's Restaurant about 1.5 miles away from hotel is fantastic. Highly recommend it.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greenluvr
Moline, IL, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Great place to stay!

this hotel is well worth the money. Perfect location in Chicago! Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mk55
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Oct 3, 2011

great business place to stay

excellent stay! comfortable beds and the staff was helpful. Excellent breakfast in the morning and the happy hour in the evening was a nice addition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants around. The Dao Thai restaraunt was very good.

Back to menu Return to top