$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
313 reviews
Museum tour

Took the Amtrak from KC to Chicago for a 4 day stay to see the various Chicago museums. This... See full review

  • Senior travelor KC
  • Feb 27, 2015
Great Girls Night Out

We booked this hotel for its proximity to the restaurants and nightclubs in the river north area... See full review

  • Sonia M.
  • Feb 23, 2015
All-suite hotel by Navy Pier and other Chicago attractions

The Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel boasts an envious Chicago address, just two blocks from Navy Pier and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Peer out of one of the two-room suites to Chicago’s most recognizable landmarks. Business, shopping and entertainment districts are minutes away. Contemporary styling, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and weeknight manager receptions keep guests comfortable and well fed. A movie theater and restaurant in the building also make rainy days feel like more of a good thing.

Highlights
  • Two blocks to Navy Pier, close to the Magnificent Mile
  • Spacious two-room suites
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center and heated indoor pool
Rooms
A dedicated living room in the two-room suites affords business travelers a separate space for work or families an additional room for children to rest on a sleeper sofa. The private bedrooms at the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel are styled with contemporary furniture, fine linens and one king or two double beds. A palette of browns, square-patterned carpeting and soft lighting work together to create a space that is warm and familiar. Every suite features a flat-screen plasma TV, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features

Guests of the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast served each morning inside an open, light-filled atrium. Every evening, the manager hosts a reception in the Sky Lobby. For the rest of the day, count on P.J. Clarke’s on the first floor of the property for favorite American eats, like burgers, meatloaf, salads and desserts.

Guests exercise at the 24-hour fitness center or swim in the heated, indoor pool.

High-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, including the 24-hour business center (fees apply).

On-site indoor valet and self-parking is available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grant Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • John Hancock Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with complimentary Internet access
  • 20,000 square feet of function space, including 16 meeting rooms
  • Chicago River Ballroom with room for up to 500 guests
  • Video, sound and lighting technology available
  • Full-service catering and convention staff

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (313)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
313 out of 313
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TDavid
Business
Chattanooga, TN, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Extremely nice !

A very beautiful hotel, great location, and corteous staff. Quite a popular and busy hotel evident by the crowd at the free morning breakfasts. Sitting and standing areas are challenging to find during breakfast and evening social hour but no one ever walks away or leaves unsatisfied. This is perhaps the only issue that could be improved but with such a popular grand accomodation, it's an envious problem desired by other hotels. Extremely nice, had a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Senior travelor KC
Business
Kansas City
Feb 27, 2015

Museum tour

Took the Amtrak from KC to Chicago for a 4 day stay to see the various Chicago museums. This Embassy Suites was a short cab ride from Union Station and was also a short cab ride to the various Museums. Excellent hotel. Concierges were very helpful. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever. Would recommend highly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clareman
Business
Aurora
Feb 25, 2015

midwinter getaway

we stayed for a Saturday night in January with another couple with their room on same floor, the large atrium echoes up the noises from the lobby, lots of screaming children, running all over. The "free drinks" reception had a long line during the 2 hour reception, averaging 20 or more people waiting for a drink, dry chips and dip as the appetizer, we didn't stay for it. The rooms are nice with a separate seating and minibar/kitchen. The beds are comfortable, and its in a nice area. Nice ladies working at check in desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Five to 1
Business
N/A
Feb 23, 2015

Good Family Trip

The hotel was everything we needed. It fit me and my wife and six kids with ease. close to train station and right in the heart of downtown. I loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sonia M.
Business
Joliet
Feb 23, 2015

Great Girls Night Out

We booked this hotel for its proximity to the restaurants and nightclubs in the river north area for a girls night out. Easy check in, friendly staff, and the room was perfect! Great size for 5 girls. The living area was wonderful with a sofa sleeper, tv, and dining table. The bedroom was a great size with beautiful views of Chicago and the lake! We couldn't of asked for a better stay. Great price, great staff, wonderful room and free breakfast! We will definitely stay here again on our next night out! Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teresa P.
Business
N/A
Feb 11, 2015

A Day in Downtown Chicago

Hotel is located in downtown Chicago near many places to eat and hangout. Public transportation is walking distance. The room was very clean and comfortable. The price was great considering we stood in a room that fit up to 6 people. They do offer continental breakfast made to order. The staff was friendly. Overall it was a great stay. We will come again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clareman
Business
Aurora
Feb 11, 2015

a quick getaway

We drove in to the city with another couple, each had made reservations for an overnight stay, we first went to the Chicago History Museum, checked in at 4:30, our rooms were on the same floor, different ends, theirs overlooked the large open atrium, very loud echoes of laughter, shouting, screaming kids. Lots of families with lots of school age kids were there. We went down for the managers reception, a long line barely moving for drinks at the bar, we ended up not getting one, had some chips and dip, no hot appitizers, and again, kids running around everywhere. The restaurant downstairs was closed due to a burst pipe, where we planned on eating dinner, so we found a place 1 1/2 blocks away called D4, an Irish pub, good meal. Our rooms were nice, the bedwas clean and comfortable, the mini kitchen was nice, and useful.The young ladie at the front desk was very nice, and helpful, the free breakfast was OK. I probably wouldn't go there again.We stay downtown 1 or 2 nights a year, trying different places, so this wasn't our first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mari M.
Business
Holland
Feb 10, 2015

Christmas 2014

We experienced a great value with this stay in Chicago. The hotel though is more family oriented and we would appreciate a more adult feel and experience. Too many screaming kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Volare Italian Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Shawlady
Business
MILWAUKEE
Feb 4, 2015

Great price

I loved this hotel. The room was nice and the location was less than 5 minutes from navy Pier

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Navy Pier, Free drinks and breakfast is an extra plus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ieatcow3
Business
N/A
Jan 18, 2015

Great Stay

Clean, good free breakfast, evening reception was nice. Wish the pool was bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ab.961
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Family Thanksgiving

We booked 3 rooms last minute for Thanksgiving (Wednesday - Friday). We live in a condo in the neighborhoods and our place is small for 10 people. For the price of the room which was less than half of what the typical rate is, we decided to join my family. The deal for the hotel including breakfast, happy hour and a pool for the kids could not be beat! We even took the limo that was available... The cost wasn't much more then the price for 2 cabs and the driver was awesome and made my niece and nephews first limo experience one to remember! I see more Thanksgivings spent here.... Only a 10 minute walk to the parade!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top