$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marc helpful dad
Business
chicago
May 5, 2014

great hotel

Everything about this hotel was great . From the swimming pool to the Jacuzzi to the breakfasts. The room was great. The bed was perfect . Will definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jul 1, 2007

Super Location

The Embassy Suites on State Street is very well located, close to all the downtown Chicago attractions and shopping. The separate living room area with sleeper couch worked out very well for us as our son was traveling with my wife and me. Wi-fi access in the lobby was good and the business center was very beneficial for printing bording passes and checking e:mail. The breakfast buffet was great!! Accommodating our luggage upon our early arrival was also appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to try the moderately priced restaurant right out the front door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gilman, Ill.
Sep 3, 2009

Great town to visit

Great breakfast and service was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Got locked out of our room! While our luggage was inside

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, R. I.
Oct 5, 2009

Great location for price

The hotel is 1 block from the CTA and 3 blocks from the Magnificent Mile. Breakfast was delicious, omelets cooked to order and a full buffet. Rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. Our only complaint was excessive noise between 9 pm and 1 am from the corridors which affected persons sleeping on the pullout couch in the living room space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The John Hancock observatory building offers a ticket for a tour and for an additional $4.00, you can return again within 48 hrs. We did the original tour in the daylight, returning at night to see Chicago at night, It was fabulous! On Friday and Saturday nights at 9 pm this fall there are fireworks at the Navy Pier that we could see from the top of the Hancock building. It was a great value for $19.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doc's Mom
Business
Traverse City, MI
Dec 5, 2009

Great spot to set up camp in Chicago

We enjoyed a brief family reunion in Chicago, and the Embassy Suites met the mark. We've stayed in at least twenty hotels in Chicago, and, with the exception of the Peninsula (my all-time favorite US hotel), the staff at the Suites was exceptional: Helpful, friendly, cheerful and polite. Location was great, off the Michigan Avenue frenzy but close to everything. Very easy to navigate to the hotel, and two options for parking. THe parking staff, by the way, also stood out for service. Breakfast was most appreciated,and there is a Starbucks if you need high-test coffee to start the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian restaurant in the hotel is quite good. We had dinner another night at Les Nomades, easy walking distance from the hotel, and exceptional in every way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 15, 2010

Great location for business or vacation

Really comfortable! A great choice for business travelers. Close to dining, shopping and nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a music collector, the Jazz Record Mart is a wonderful opportunity to find some of the most famous Jazz, Blues, Soul and R&B music ever created and is in walking distance from the Embassy Suites in downtown Chicago!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tip man
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 3, 2011

outstanding

I have stayed at other Embassy suite and each time I stay at one it is outstanding. From the time you walk into the hotel the service is great. The breakfast is great in the morning and the happy hour is great for relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. and Mrs. P
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Marathon weekend

I got a fantastic deal on Orbitz on this hotel for the Chicago Marathon. The staff, especially Marissa at the front desk, was very helpful and within 15 minutes of reporting an issue with our room A/C, a service person was on it. The breakfast was fantastic and after finishing the marathon, the hot tub/spa was just what I needed. I will make this my base hotel anytime I'm in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy transit fare cards ahead of time on-line and have them mailed to you- the red line stops (GRAND) literally on the corner. Even on a holiday weekend, it only took 45 minutes (and a few dollars) to get from Midway to the lobby of the Embassy Suites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin H.
Business
Metamora, IL 61548, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Great Pre-Christmas trip

Wife and I took our 2 sons (11, 13) downtown to see the city during the Christmas season. Embassy Suites was perfect location. Well appointed and recently updated. Would stay here again. My only complaint is that some families/groups see Embassy Suites as a dumping ground and load up the rooms with unsupervised kids. We had some running in the halls most of the night. Also, too many parents get liquored up at the Managers Reception while their unsupervised kids ransack the pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diane singelyn
Business
Chicago, Illinois. Down town
Apr 28, 2013

Great Place to stay

It was fantastic would stay there again in a heart beat. Staff was kind and informative. Place was so clean and the beds were phenomenal .!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great Job to All. Diane Singelyn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants in the area were great went to 4 or 5 all with in walking distance. Can't get a bad restaurant in Chicago!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top