$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sneaky Boyfriend Alex
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 29, 2009

Awesome Anniversary

We arrived in time to enjoy a relaxing swim before the Manager's Reception which was much needed on a hot day. Unfortunately there were a lot of kids running around and splashing (even in the hot tub) taking away a bit from the relaxation. The manager's reception was great and we enjoyed the wide variety of mixed drinks and friendly staff. The room was everything we hoped for and the bed was amazing to sleep in. In the morning the breakfast buffet and omelet bar was exactly what we needed to jump start our day. Overall this was a great place to stay, but probably would better serve a family with small children as opposed to a young couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dutchie from Canada
Business
Ontario, Canada
Jun 29, 2014

Sister's getaway

Hotel guest services were prompt when required. Hotel concierge was helpful in advise given for things to do during our stay. Complimentary breakfast were fabulous! Evening reception snacks left something to be desired, although the free cocktails were great. Were dissapointed with amount of washcloths in bathrooms. We were four to our room and needed to call daily to ask for wash cloths. Other than that it was great. Staff working in reception could be a bit warmer. Location was good.Would probably book this hotel again. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atrip
Business
Clearwater, Florida
Jul 25, 2014

GREAT LOCATION

I always look for two things when booking a hotel. #1 location and #2 complimentary breakfast. This hotel was in a great central location and we were able to walk almost everywhere. The breakfast had everything we wanted and it was a great motivator to get my kids up and ready to start our day since the breakfast service ended promptly at 9:30am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

purchase a 3 day hop on and off bus pass. This took us to all the major sights if we didn't feel like walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craig and Kathi
Business
Grand Rapids, Mich
Nov 23, 2014

Good bang for your buck

Perfect location in Chicago and you can't beat the included breakfast. Always enjoy our stay at the embassy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristen G.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Bach party

Staff was overwhelmed...too busy for staffing. Terrible customer service when checking out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Serge Z.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

romantic trip

My fiancée an I had some great times, and will comeback,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Con Smythe
Business
Downers Grove
Feb 17, 2015

Enjoyable stay

The Embassy Suites is wonderfully located just a few blocks from the Mag Mile and dozens of eateries and bars (we dined at Eataly which is very close). The hotel is clean and the staff was helpful. The suite is spacious and comfortable, although both my wife and I found the pillows to be quite lumpy. We were somewhat irritated that the TV's volume level wouldn't go past 15 because it made it pretty difficult to hear. Loved the managers reception and breakfast. We wanted to use the hot tub but there were about 10-12 adults/kids in there when we went down even though it says that its a 4-person max. All in all, we enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
b 5000
Business
Sharon Hill, PA
Jan 2, 2014

A Fun getaway!

Our stay was outstanding! The free breakfast and happy hour was great! The hotel is in a perfect location! We purchased a 7 day CTA pass for transportation once we landed at the airport. The CTA pass was good for all busses and trains. The attractions were great as well. We shopped, ate at restaurants, checked out the Willis Tower & John Hancock Tower, the Art Museum, the Navy Pier, and the Shred Aquarium. The Shred Aquarium was amazing! The hotel is great for couples and families. My fiancé and I enjoyed ourselves! The deep dish pizza alone has us wanting to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase a CTA pass when you arrive. There is no need for a rental car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rockabillytim
Business
dekalb, il
Jan 18, 2014

Great price, amazing place to stay. Will be returning to this one!

Very friendly staff. Let us check in early and checked our bags after we checked out so we could visit shops for a few hours after... for free. They had a free happy hour for like 2 hours and a great free breakfast. Just a great, clean, place. Great value on a suite and great location. Probably will be the only place I stay from this point on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rock bottom brewer, great food and great beer. One block away. Also pizzeria uno a few blocks away for amazing chicago deep dish, if you have 45 to wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
N Odum
Business
Chicago
Feb 18, 2014

Great value

It was great. & the front desk manager "Ronnie" was great & has a awesome personality. She needs a raise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top