$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
100 reviews
Girls weekend

Great location. Spacious rooms!! Great breakfast and evening reception. See full review

  • Pbrown3
  • Aug 25, 2014
great hotel

Everything about this hotel was great . From the swimming pool to the Jacuzzi to the breakfasts.... See full review

  • marc helpful dad
  • May 5, 2014
At Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown, you’re in the heart of downtown Chicago, Illinois, surrounded by shopping and entertainment venues on all sides. Located on State Street between Ohio and Ontario Streets, we’re three blocks west of Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile, and convenient to the Loop, the financial district and popular attractions. A block away is the free seasonal Navy Pier trolley and subway, linking to local attractions and both Midway and O'Hare airports. A great choice in Chicago hotels, this downtown all-suites property is convenient to Boeing, the Chicago Board of Trade, City Hall, IBM, Prudential Plaza and Sears Tower.Start the day with complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. Relax in a two-room suite, complete with a separate lounge, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed internet access. Unwind at our Complimentary Evening Reception, which includes a range of beverages and snacks*. Sample Italian specialties at Osteria Via Stato and Pizzeria Via Stato. Maintain any exercise routine in the complimentary fitness center, and melt away stress in the indoor pool and whirlpool.Plan your meeting, wedding or special event in the heart of the city for 300 guests at our Chicago hotel, downtown on State Street. In addition to our business center, utilize our video conferencing, webcasting, and teleconferencing services.*Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking

Hotel Map

41.8925 -87.6281
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 11.00, MI, NE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 100
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
b 5000
Sharon Hill, PA
Jan 2, 2014

A Fun getaway!

Our stay was outstanding! The free breakfast and happy hour was great! The hotel is in a perfect location! We purchased a 7 day CTA pass for transportation once we landed at the airport. The CTA pass was good for all busses and trains. The attractions were great as well. We shopped, ate at restaurants, checked out the Willis Tower & John Hancock Tower, the Art Museum, the Navy Pier, and the Shred Aquarium. The Shred Aquarium was amazing! The hotel is great for couples and families. My fiancé and I enjoyed ourselves! The deep dish pizza alone has us wanting to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase a CTA pass when you arrive. There is no need for a rental car.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rockabillytim
dekalb, il
Jan 18, 2014

Great price, amazing place to stay. Will be returning to this one!

Very friendly staff. Let us check in early and checked our bags after we checked out so we could visit shops for a few hours after... for free. They had a free happy hour for like 2 hours and a great free breakfast. Just a great, clean, place. Great value on a suite and great location. Probably will be the only place I stay from this point on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rock bottom brewer, great food and great beer. One block away. Also pizzeria uno a few blocks away for amazing chicago deep dish, if you have 45 to wait.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gilman, Ill.
Sep 3, 2009

Great town to visit

Great breakfast and service was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Got locked out of our room! While our luggage was inside

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. and Mrs. P
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Marathon weekend

I got a fantastic deal on Orbitz on this hotel for the Chicago Marathon. The staff, especially Marissa at the front desk, was very helpful and within 15 minutes of reporting an issue with our room A/C, a service person was on it. The breakfast was fantastic and after finishing the marathon, the hot tub/spa was just what I needed. I will make this my base hotel anytime I'm in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy transit fare cards ahead of time on-line and have them mailed to you- the red line stops (GRAND) literally on the corner. Even on a holiday weekend, it only took 45 minutes (and a few dollars) to get from Midway to the lobby of the Embassy Suites.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lauriann
Chicago
May 6, 2013

Great weekend!

My husband & I stayed in downtown Chicago for our anniversary weekend. We had a king two-room suite & it was perfect! The staff was excellent & friendly. The complimentary breakfast & reception were both very nice, though there were lines - but not very long. The location was great - we went on the River walk which is just a couple of blocks away. The room was wonderful & we had a very romantic anniversary! We'll definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tons of restaurants nearby!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suite exec
Suburban Chicago
Oct 8, 2013

Even better than expected

My wife and I stayed for football weekend and could not have been happier. We have stayed at numerous ES in the past and sometimes the furniture is dated or just plain drab. The furniture seemed practically brand new. We had a lousy view of the city but the hotel's location made it difficult to have a great view. There are too many tall building around. I would definitely recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jen Chicago Virgin
Lincoln, NE
Oct 9, 2013

1st time Chicago visit!

This location was perfect for my 1st experience in downtown Chicago! Loved having a Starbucks next door and Pops Champaign bar across the street! Staff and hotel were awesome, great distance to everything-ready to go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Pops! Champaign bar across the street!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Camano Island, WA
Jun 27, 2011

Beatiful hotel, great location.

The location was very good for shopping and food. The staff was attentive. The hotel was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glashow
Daerborn highs mi
Apr 17, 2011

Fantastic

Slopping - no-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, IL
Jul 12, 2009

Great Find

I have always been a fan of Embassy Suites and this one didn't disappoint. It was classy, clean, love the enclosed valet parking, close to Millenium Park and Sears Tower, lots of food choices nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search