$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chitown Visitor
Business
Flower Mound, TX
Jul 2, 2011

Kids yes - Business no

Rooms are nice and clean, staff was friendly and attentive, great location at a relatively reasonable price (though parking at $47 per day was more than I expected), and perfect for a family with kids. But if you are staying with adults, then the place can seem like a madhouse given the large number of children - it felt at times like Chucky Cheese. Breakfast is good, but crazy (though the hotel left cards telling you when to go to beat the crowds), the happy hour is crazier (and the adult beverages are not of high quality) - we skipped it after the first drink on the first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The entrance to the red line subway is a block south - provides easy access to trains which get you close to a lot of attractions (Wrigley Field, Willis Tower, etc) - buy a 3 day pass and ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
peoria il
Jul 11, 2011

downtown chicago walk to oak st beach,

hotel was veryfriendly, lots of extras, free breakfast, location ideal, walk to oak st beach, michigan ave,two blocks from hard rock cafe and rainforrest cafe, any restaurant is a short walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate, NY
Aug 1, 2011

Great Hotel

Hotel was very kid friendly, so if seeing a bunch of kids around cramps your style then it's definitely no the hotel for you. That didn't bother us so we had a great time and free breakfast was the shizzle. The hotel was in walking distance of pretty much everything which was very convenient. Loved it!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middleton, WI
Jun 2, 2009

Perfect Family Hotel!

It is a great hotel for families with kids! I probably wouldn't stay here if I came with adults only due to the amount of kids here. The buffet breakfast is great. Happy hour is okay but, ran out of food & drink lines were very long. Either way, it was a really nice hotel (great rooms and comfy beds).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debred
Business
Aurora,Il
Mar 3, 2009

Great Location and Immenities

For Valentines Day, me and my husband booked this place, bought new swimsuits, looking forward to use of the pool and hottub, but the place was full of kids, many unsupervised, running around, yelling, screaming, having a great time at the pool and hottub. Maybe some adult only time at those facilities would be a good idea. The evening reception with free food and drinks as well as the hot breakfast included, helped make up for the out of control children.We would probably go again if they could change the rules of the pool and hottub.We get a room for Valentines day every year, as well as for other occasions in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If your prepared, the fridge and microwave in all rooms, as well as the evening reception and breakfast could mean not eating out all weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Schaumburg, IL
Jan 2, 2011

Great experience!

I originally made the reservation for two, but then had to add two more guests when we checked-in. The $25 charge per person per night was a little annoying, but our stay was amazing despite the extra room charges. We stayed for 2 nights over New Years weekend. The hotel provided a complimentary cocktail hour for guests on New Years Eve which was pleasantly surprising. :o) The complimentary breakfast in the morning was yummytastic! The omlette station and hot food section was very good. Our room was comfortable and had a homey feeling to it. Our beds weren't the most comfortable beds in the world, but I have slept in much worse hotel beds so I can't complain about these. We didn't try the Italian restaurant, but we heard good things about the food. The location of the hotel is perfect because there are so many restaurants and cafes to go to within a short walking distance. Overall we had a VERY good time and I look forward to going back soon! The only reason I gave this place a four stars is because it could use a waffle station at breakfast and the conceirge was never at the desk when we passed through the lobby (kind of annoying when we were looking for free passes to bars and clubs around the area and couldn't get them).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The dueling piano bar, Howl at the Moon, is so much fun and it is only a few blocks away. It has a mixed group of people and ages, and the drinks are amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teener
Business
Appleton, WI
Mar 29, 2010

Best location I've found

This was a perfect location for walking to all downtown attractions, just blocks from The Art Institute, shops on State and Michigan Ave, ESPN, Gino's East, etc. The complimentary breakfast was a terrific and easy way to get the day started.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Lux can't be beat (if you can get in).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterrey, Mexico
Aug 7, 2011

Could have been a little better...

We loved the hotel, except that the parking was to expensive, it had a certain smell of humidity, and the microwave was kind of old. Some things inside the room needed some repair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Signature Room & Lounge at the Hancock Observatory.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sneaky Boyfriend Alex
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 29, 2009

Awesome Anniversary

We arrived in time to enjoy a relaxing swim before the Manager's Reception which was much needed on a hot day. Unfortunately there were a lot of kids running around and splashing (even in the hot tub) taking away a bit from the relaxation. The manager's reception was great and we enjoyed the wide variety of mixed drinks and friendly staff. The room was everything we hoped for and the bed was amazing to sleep in. In the morning the breakfast buffet and omelet bar was exactly what we needed to jump start our day. Overall this was a great place to stay, but probably would better serve a family with small children as opposed to a young couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dutchie from Canada
Business
Ontario, Canada
Jun 29, 2014

Sister's getaway

Hotel guest services were prompt when required. Hotel concierge was helpful in advise given for things to do during our stay. Complimentary breakfast were fabulous! Evening reception snacks left something to be desired, although the free cocktails were great. Were dissapointed with amount of washcloths in bathrooms. We were four to our room and needed to call daily to ask for wash cloths. Other than that it was great. Staff working in reception could be a bit warmer. Location was good.Would probably book this hotel again. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top