$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dcsnomo
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 19, 2013

Nice remodel!

Remember when Embassy Suites (and all it's previous iterations) came on line in the 80's? Everybody loved them, then over the last 30 years so many of the properties became run down, and there were half baked renovations and re-do's? Well, this property is an exception! Great renovation, top to bottom! Beautiful room, nice public spaces, incredible location! The only issue is that this is still a property that, due to the amenities, attracts a lot of families. Coupled with the open atrium design and parents that don't seem to care meant a constant cacophony of screaming and running children that could be heard throughout the property. So, nice place, but if you are planning on staying out late in Chi-town and sleeping in you might want to check out a quieter property. I will most likely stay here again, but not on a holiday weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The salad bar at Texas de Brazil is unbelievable!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio Jeff
Business
Medina, OH
Jun 18, 2013

Great Stuff

Despite not being able to switch room because we accidentally book a handicapped accessible room, overall experience was good. Our room was not updated like the website touts so was disappointed in that. Also the bathroom has no vent which is unheard of anywhere so made it uncomfortable for everyone when nature called. Happy Hour and breakfast made it worth it. All rooms need updated if going to advertise that they are updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have one on them
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 16, 2013

Friendly Staff at Embassey

Got in late Friday afternoon and left by 10 the next morning. Active place with a bunch of families. I thought staff was good and friendly. Never like having to park in Chicago but Valet service was professional and friendly. I will use again. Free snacks and beer at 4 PM on Saturday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMWNY
Business
New York, NY
Jun 11, 2013

Good for a weekend in Chicago

Location was perfect for us, an easy walk to Michigan Ave and to the river. Lots of restaurants, shopping and activities within a 5 block area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Weber Grill is right across the street, great for grilled food.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vanessa8485
Business
Detroit, Mi
Sep 9, 2013

GREAT!!!

very cozy and good location close to many shops.. overall great experience...highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GNO Planner
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 24, 2013

Great Girl' Night Location

Perfect location and wonderful lobby for cocktail reception and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doug the Tourist
Business
Grosse Pointe Michigan
May 27, 2014

Accidental Tourist

We arrived as a late check-in at midnight and were able to valet park our car before going to the front desk. A non-smoking room was requested, but we could smell it faintly in the room. Other than that, the room was spotless and was the larger 2 room extended stay suite rather than the standard room I had booked. (never complain about a free upgrade!! ) There was a large selection for the breakfast, which was of a much higher quality than a regular continental. At the free happy hour, mixed cocktails were available as well as wine etc. The location downtown couldn't have been better. Only a 2 minute walk from the Red Line, and an easy walk to the shopping district. Entering the city from the south, the hotel was a bit tricky to find, but getting back to the freeways and toll roads headed home was a snap with only 2 street corners to turn. Overall a great experience and we will be choosing the same hotel for our next Chicago visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Often directions to attractions start with "Walk East" , or West etc. In cities where tall buildings block the sun, have a compass or App on your smart phone to get you going in the right direction.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlington KS
Jul 28, 2011

Nice Stay

The hotel is a very nice place to stay. The only problem we had was leaving around 8:00 a.m. and coming back at 3:00 p.m. and the room is still not clean. Every day we had to call housekeeping and request they come clean our room. They did come clean it right away but we shouldn't have had to ask.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, Nebraska
Dec 17, 2009

Very Satisfied!

The staff was very pleasent and helpful. We always enjoy the big breakfast to start the day! Would like to see this location update the tv's in the bedroom. We like to watch tv in bed, but the bedroom has a out dated small tv. Other then that it was a great stay at a great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
May 16, 2011

Fantastic getaway

We really enjoyed ourselves. Our hotel was easy to find and was very nice. Everyone was very friendly as well. We did a little shopping, watched a movie at Navy Pier and kayaked on the Chicago river. The only thing i would of changed is they could of offered the wireless internet for free instead of charging extra for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top