$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
142 reviews
great hotel

Everything about this hotel was great . From the swimming pool to the Jacuzzi to the breakfasts.... See full review

  • marc helpful dad
  • May 5, 2014
Great value

It was great. & the front desk manager "Ronnie" was great & has a awesome personality. She needs a... See full review

  • N Odum
  • Feb 18, 2014
At Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown, you’re in the heart of downtown Chicago, Illinois, surrounded by shopping and entertainment venues on all sides. Located on State Street between Ohio and Ontario Streets, we’re three blocks west of Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile, and convenient to the Loop, the financial district and popular attractions. A block away is the free seasonal Navy Pier trolley and subway, linking to local attractions and both Midway and O'Hare airports. A great choice in Chicago hotels, this downtown all-suites property is convenient to Boeing, the Chicago Board of Trade, City Hall, IBM, Prudential Plaza and Sears Tower.Start the day with complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. Relax in a two-room suite, complete with a separate lounge, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed internet access. Unwind at our Complimentary Evening Reception, which includes a range of beverages and snacks*. Sample Italian specialties at Osteria Via Stato and Pizzeria Via Stato. Maintain any exercise routine in the complimentary fitness center, and melt away stress in the indoor pool and whirlpool.Plan your meeting, wedding or special event in the heart of the city for 300 guests at our Chicago hotel, downtown on State Street. In addition to our business center, utilize our video conferencing, webcasting, and teleconferencing services.*Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking

Hotel Map

41.8925 -87.6281
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 11.00, MI, NE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yo Joe's
Indianapolis
Jul 8, 2009

Embassy Suites - Downtown Chicago

Great location and great facility

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doc's Mom
Traverse City, MI
Dec 5, 2009

Great spot to set up camp in Chicago

We enjoyed a brief family reunion in Chicago, and the Embassy Suites met the mark. We've stayed in at least twenty hotels in Chicago, and, with the exception of the Peninsula (my all-time favorite US hotel), the staff at the Suites was exceptional: Helpful, friendly, cheerful and polite. Location was great, off the Michigan Avenue frenzy but close to everything. Very easy to navigate to the hotel, and two options for parking. THe parking staff, by the way, also stood out for service. Breakfast was most appreciated,and there is a Starbucks if you need high-test coffee to start the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian restaurant in the hotel is quite good. We had dinner another night at Les Nomades, easy walking distance from the hotel, and exceptional in every way.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
b 5000
Sharon Hill, PA
Jan 2, 2014

A Fun getaway!

Our stay was outstanding! The free breakfast and happy hour was great! The hotel is in a perfect location! We purchased a 7 day CTA pass for transportation once we landed at the airport. The CTA pass was good for all busses and trains. The attractions were great as well. We shopped, ate at restaurants, checked out the Willis Tower & John Hancock Tower, the Art Museum, the Navy Pier, and the Shred Aquarium. The Shred Aquarium was amazing! The hotel is great for couples and families. My fiancé and I enjoyed ourselves! The deep dish pizza alone has us wanting to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase a CTA pass when you arrive. There is no need for a rental car.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LJNEH
Cold Spring, MN, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Perfect family hotel

great location, easy access to bus and train routes. Clean, comfortable rooms with plenty of room for families. Pool was a nice plus but we were so busy we hardly used it. Staff were helpful and friendly and the included breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diane singelyn
Business
Chicago, Illinois. Down town
Apr 28, 2013

Great Place to stay

It was fantastic would stay there again in a heart beat. Staff was kind and informative. Place was so clean and the beds were phenomenal .!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great Job to All. Diane Singelyn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants in the area were great went to 4 or 5 all with in walking distance. Can't get a bad restaurant in Chicago!!!!!!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 6, 2007

In the heart of Chicago

Because this was my first non-business trip to Chicago in a long time, I was very pleased with the centrality of this hotel. It was very easy to get almost everywhere, by walking, cab and train. The staff was unbelievably helpful and friendly. An excellent value for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

You can venture quite easily on foot to many things in Chicago. Or a short walk to the train.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Racine, WI
Oct 25, 2010

Best in Chicago

Room was quiet and comfortable even though the weekend was busy. Great cocktail time and breakfast. For the price best bargain during our weekend in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the train and use the bus and subway systems. The train for us was $7.00 each for the weekend. We picked up a 24 hour pass for the buses and subway at $5.00 each. The tollways were packed bumper to bumper, but we were comfortable on the Metra.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middletown, VA
Jul 31, 2008

great location

I spent two nights with my two sons attending a soccer match in town and overall we were very impressed with the hotel. We try and stay at Embassy whenever we travel but I would definitly recommend this hotel for families. The location to sites, food, etc is great and the area is safe for walking at night also. We walked to Navy Pier and it was a piece of cake. I wouldn't advise walking there with kids less than six but otherwise it was an easy stroll. We went to Pizzeria Duo? instead of Uno and the pizza was just as good. It's a two block walk. We took the train/subway from O'Hare and it was an easy one-stop transfer. We got day passes and it was $5 each. We arrived early and the nice young lady behind the desk let us in no problem, what a relief!! The breakfast area does get crowded and it's pretty small but for the price, you can't really complain. Just try to time your breakfast. Overall we will return if our voyages take us back to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizzeria Uno and Duo. Rainforest Cafe, Hard Rock, Chile's, McDonalds, and others just a block or two away. Grocery store across the street.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 25, 2007

Great Business Location

The hotel was very clean and nice. The location is very conducive for travel. There are several great restaurants in the area. You can walk to several business area's. I am planning on staying again on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many places within a 2-3 block radius. Very easy to get too. Also there is always a taxi out front ready to take you to your destination. Most things are within a $10 cab ride.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rockabillytim
dekalb, il
Jan 18, 2014

Great price, amazing place to stay. Will be returning to this one!

Very friendly staff. Let us check in early and checked our bags after we checked out so we could visit shops for a few hours after... for free. They had a free happy hour for like 2 hours and a great free breakfast. Just a great, clean, place. Great value on a suite and great location. Probably will be the only place I stay from this point on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rock bottom brewer, great food and great beer. One block away. Also pizzeria uno a few blocks away for amazing chicago deep dish, if you have 45 to wait.

Back to menu Return to top