$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
104 reviews
Girls trip

Loved staying at the embassy suites. will stay there again any time I'm in Chicago. great downtown... See full review

  • ckiekow
  • Oct 7, 2014
Thumbs up for Embassy Suites

The hotel is is located close to many entertainment venues, the staff were very professional, the... See full review

  • Laly Pop
  • Sep 8, 2014
At Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown, you’re in the heart of downtown Chicago, Illinois, surrounded by shopping and entertainment venues on all sides. Located on State Street between Ohio and Ontario Streets, we’re three blocks west of Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile, and convenient to the Loop, the financial district and popular attractions. A block away is the free seasonal Navy Pier trolley and subway, linking to local attractions and both Midway and O'Hare airports. A great choice in Chicago hotels, this downtown all-suites property is convenient to Boeing, the Chicago Board of Trade, City Hall, IBM, Prudential Plaza and Sears Tower.Start the day with complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. Relax in a two-room suite, complete with a separate lounge, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed internet access. Unwind at our Complimentary Evening Reception, which includes a range of beverages and snacks*. Sample Italian specialties at Osteria Via Stato and Pizzeria Via Stato. Maintain any exercise routine in the complimentary fitness center, and melt away stress in the indoor pool and whirlpool.Plan your meeting, wedding or special event in the heart of the city for 300 guests at our Chicago hotel, downtown on State Street. In addition to our business center, utilize our video conferencing, webcasting, and teleconferencing services.*Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Red55
Business
Chciago, IL
May 21, 2010

Work & Play

Was not told about parking for your vehicle. [...] have a rate of $229 per night, but did not include the $46 per night for parking. No other place to park your vehicle. [...] The hotel would not give refund or break on parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Redhead Piano Bar would not let people in that had tennis shoes on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 22, 2010

Perfect Location!

The staff was not very helpful. We stayed in a non smoking room, but our room reeked like cigarette smoke. Everything was good. Breakfast was delightful. The location was fantastic! Rooms were large and well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Chop House 1/4 block north and one block west from the hotel entrance. AMAZING!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 6, 2010

ES CHICAGO

the breakfast was no where near previous stays

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

x

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just Businessman
Business
MSP
Jul 10, 2011

Not really for the busineeperson

Very family oriented hotel in the summer. Very noisy with kids running through the halls late into the night so not easy to get to sleep. Get to the free breakfast before the kids get up at 8am. Very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of sidewalk cafes near the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carol D
Business
London, Ontario
Jul 3, 2014

great location

bathroom small in the non suite rooms, breakfast great as well as happy hour. Parking is expensive underground, we had a pipe break overtop of our vehicle which spilled sewage, we were not impressed. After complaining to staff and manager we were compensated for 1 night parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hancock Tower, Oriental Theatre

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago expat26
Business
Lansing, MI
Nov 16, 2014

Could have been better

We stayed for 2 nights with 2 adults and a baby. I requested a crib online and asked at check in if it was there. I was told it was in the room. It was not. They did, however, bring it quickly after I called. The room was clean and spacious. The downsides of the room were the bed (too soft) and a broken shower head. You had to hold it yourself to rinse. I called about it right away, but it was never fixed. I told them again at checkout and they said it was supposed to be that way because it was an accessible room (which it was not). Good luck to the next guests in our room. The major disaster of the trip was with room service. We called for a bottle of wine and told them to knock softly because we had a sleeping baby. About a minute after hanging up, they CALLED THE ROOM to see how many glasses we wanted, thereby waking up the baby. Are you kidding me?!? On the positive side, the location is fantastic, close to restaurants, shopping, and the red line. And the room was clean and spacious. If you need a suite, consider this, although I had a better experience at the Omni and the Lakeshore location of Embassy Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lol123
Business
west lafayette, IN
Nov 24, 2014

A good option to stay downtown Chicago

The hotel is kind of mid-high standard. Room is nice and clean,although looks old. Feel good generally. Valet overnight parking 59 with in-out privileges. It is expensive though but thinking about at downtown and most public lots don't have in-out privileges, it is a pretty reasonable deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 31, 2008

waste of money

There was nothing special about this hotel at all. I have stayed in much less expensive hotels and found them to be much better. I very much felt like i should have been getting a lot more for my money. There was no pillows for the hide-a-bed & having kids screaming in the halls, starting at 6am wasn't all that enjoyable either. The topper to it all was waiting for over an hour to get my car from the valet. That is after trying for over an hour to get through to them to get my car. Save youself some money and go somewhere else

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vinnie's Dad
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 30, 2009

Embassy Suites

When we arrived our room wasn't ready, but other travelers coming in behind us got into their rooms right away. The housekeeper came the next day at 9am and I asked her to give us a few minutes to gather our things to leave for the day. She came back at 4pm when my wife was sleeping and she didn't even knock! She came again at 9am the following day and we asked her to come back in a few minutes...She did not return. Our bed wasn't made the three days we were there, no fresh towels, the toiletries (soap, shampoo, etc) smelled awful! There is no fan in the bathroom! We found a bill under our door before we checked out for the restaurant in the lobby and we didn't even go to that restaurant. The concierge gave us wrong directions too! On the plus side, the omelets that are made to order were wonderful. I would say overall this hotel is not worth the $200 per night we paid to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is just a few blocks from Michigan avenue with great shopping. There is also a subway restaurant in the hotel building, a trader joe's grocery nearby and a drug store. Take snacks and drinks with you because all the rooms have fridges and microwaves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelled Mom
Business
Louisville, KY
Apr 9, 2010

Good location, old, dirty hotel

Great location, old, dirty hotel. Room was not clean at all and smelled. Also, very old not updated. Clock did not work, doors to armoires broken, dirt and sticky stuff on bed headboards as well as on sofa and chairs. Pool was dirty. Very long lines at buffets. Needed 60,000 hilton honors points for one night stay and that is ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top