$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
127 reviews
30th wedding anniversary

Wonderful experience. The amenities were great. The cocktails given the night we arrived were good... See full review

  • Izzy and friends
  • Apr 6, 2015
Chicago trip

The people were extremely friendly and inviting. We enjoyed that everything we needed was within... See full review

  • Zoo Roars
  • Feb 9, 2015
At Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown, you’re in the heart of downtown Chicago, Illinois, surrounded by shopping and entertainment venues on all sides. Located on State Street between Ohio and Ontario Streets, we’re three blocks west of Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile, and convenient to the Loop, the financial district and popular attractions. A block away is the free seasonal Navy Pier trolley and subway, linking to local attractions and both Midway and O'Hare airports. A great choice in Chicago hotels, this downtown all-suites property is convenient to Boeing, the Chicago Board of Trade, City Hall, IBM, Prudential Plaza and Sears Tower.Start the day with complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. Relax in a two-room suite, complete with a separate lounge, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed internet access. Unwind at our Complimentary Evening Reception, which includes a range of beverages and snacks*. Sample Italian specialties at Osteria Via Stato and Pizzeria Via Stato. Maintain any exercise routine in the complimentary fitness center, and melt away stress in the indoor pool and whirlpool.Plan your meeting, wedding or special event in the heart of the city for 300 guests at our Chicago hotel, downtown on State Street. In addition to our business center, utilize our video conferencing, webcasting, and teleconferencing services.*Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
b 5000
Business
Sharon Hill, PA
Jan 2, 2014

A Fun getaway!

Our stay was outstanding! The free breakfast and happy hour was great! The hotel is in a perfect location! We purchased a 7 day CTA pass for transportation once we landed at the airport. The CTA pass was good for all busses and trains. The attractions were great as well. We shopped, ate at restaurants, checked out the Willis Tower & John Hancock Tower, the Art Museum, the Navy Pier, and the Shred Aquarium. The Shred Aquarium was amazing! The hotel is great for couples and families. My fiancé and I enjoyed ourselves! The deep dish pizza alone has us wanting to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase a CTA pass when you arrive. There is no need for a rental car.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rockabillytim
Business
dekalb, il
Jan 18, 2014

Great price, amazing place to stay. Will be returning to this one!

Very friendly staff. Let us check in early and checked our bags after we checked out so we could visit shops for a few hours after... for free. They had a free happy hour for like 2 hours and a great free breakfast. Just a great, clean, place. Great value on a suite and great location. Probably will be the only place I stay from this point on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rock bottom brewer, great food and great beer. One block away. Also pizzeria uno a few blocks away for amazing chicago deep dish, if you have 45 to wait.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
N Odum
Business
Chicago
Feb 18, 2014

Great value

It was great. & the front desk manager "Ronnie" was great & has a awesome personality. She needs a raise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marc helpful dad
Business
chicago
May 5, 2014

great hotel

Everything about this hotel was great . From the swimming pool to the Jacuzzi to the breakfasts. The room was great. The bed was perfect . Will definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jul 1, 2007

Super Location

The Embassy Suites on State Street is very well located, close to all the downtown Chicago attractions and shopping. The separate living room area with sleeper couch worked out very well for us as our son was traveling with my wife and me. Wi-fi access in the lobby was good and the business center was very beneficial for printing bording passes and checking e:mail. The breakfast buffet was great!! Accommodating our luggage upon our early arrival was also appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to try the moderately priced restaurant right out the front door.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gilman, Ill.
Sep 3, 2009

Great town to visit

Great breakfast and service was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Got locked out of our room! While our luggage was inside

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, R. I.
Oct 5, 2009

Great location for price

The hotel is 1 block from the CTA and 3 blocks from the Magnificent Mile. Breakfast was delicious, omelets cooked to order and a full buffet. Rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. Our only complaint was excessive noise between 9 pm and 1 am from the corridors which affected persons sleeping on the pullout couch in the living room space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The John Hancock observatory building offers a ticket for a tour and for an additional $4.00, you can return again within 48 hrs. We did the original tour in the daylight, returning at night to see Chicago at night, It was fabulous! On Friday and Saturday nights at 9 pm this fall there are fireworks at the Navy Pier that we could see from the top of the Hancock building. It was a great value for $19.00.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doc's Mom
Business
Traverse City, MI
Dec 5, 2009

Great spot to set up camp in Chicago

We enjoyed a brief family reunion in Chicago, and the Embassy Suites met the mark. We've stayed in at least twenty hotels in Chicago, and, with the exception of the Peninsula (my all-time favorite US hotel), the staff at the Suites was exceptional: Helpful, friendly, cheerful and polite. Location was great, off the Michigan Avenue frenzy but close to everything. Very easy to navigate to the hotel, and two options for parking. THe parking staff, by the way, also stood out for service. Breakfast was most appreciated,and there is a Starbucks if you need high-test coffee to start the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian restaurant in the hotel is quite good. We had dinner another night at Les Nomades, easy walking distance from the hotel, and exceptional in every way.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 15, 2010

Great location for business or vacation

Really comfortable! A great choice for business travelers. Close to dining, shopping and nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a music collector, the Jazz Record Mart is a wonderful opportunity to find some of the most famous Jazz, Blues, Soul and R&B music ever created and is in walking distance from the Embassy Suites in downtown Chicago!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tip man
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 3, 2011

outstanding

I have stayed at other Embassy suite and each time I stay at one it is outstanding. From the time you walk into the hotel the service is great. The breakfast is great in the morning and the happy hour is great for relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top