$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
100 reviews
Thumbs up for Embassy Suites

The hotel is is located close to many entertainment venues, the staff were very professional, the... See full review

  • Laly Pop
  • Sep 8, 2014
Girls weekend

Great location. Spacious rooms!! Great breakfast and evening reception. See full review

  • Pbrown3
  • Aug 25, 2014
At Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown, you’re in the heart of downtown Chicago, Illinois, surrounded by shopping and entertainment venues on all sides. Located on State Street between Ohio and Ontario Streets, we’re three blocks west of Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile, and convenient to the Loop, the financial district and popular attractions. A block away is the free seasonal Navy Pier trolley and subway, linking to local attractions and both Midway and O'Hare airports. A great choice in Chicago hotels, this downtown all-suites property is convenient to Boeing, the Chicago Board of Trade, City Hall, IBM, Prudential Plaza and Sears Tower.Start the day with complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. Relax in a two-room suite, complete with a separate lounge, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed internet access. Unwind at our Complimentary Evening Reception, which includes a range of beverages and snacks*. Sample Italian specialties at Osteria Via Stato and Pizzeria Via Stato. Maintain any exercise routine in the complimentary fitness center, and melt away stress in the indoor pool and whirlpool.Plan your meeting, wedding or special event in the heart of the city for 300 guests at our Chicago hotel, downtown on State Street. In addition to our business center, utilize our video conferencing, webcasting, and teleconferencing services.*Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking

Hotel Map

41.8925 -87.6281
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 11.00, MI, NE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pbrown3
Indianapolis
Aug 25, 2014

Girls weekend

Great location. Spacious rooms!! Great breakfast and evening reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
winnnnner
atlanta, ga
Oct 19, 2009

Girls trip to Chicago

Great staff, very attentive. Great meal options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, R. I.
Oct 5, 2009

Great location for price

The hotel is 1 block from the CTA and 3 blocks from the Magnificent Mile. Breakfast was delicious, omelets cooked to order and a full buffet. Rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. Our only complaint was excessive noise between 9 pm and 1 am from the corridors which affected persons sleeping on the pullout couch in the living room space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The John Hancock observatory building offers a ticket for a tour and for an additional $4.00, you can return again within 48 hrs. We did the original tour in the daylight, returning at night to see Chicago at night, It was fabulous! On Friday and Saturday nights at 9 pm this fall there are fireworks at the Navy Pier that we could see from the top of the Hancock building. It was a great value for $19.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vinnie's Dad
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 30, 2009

Embassy Suites

When we arrived our room wasn't ready, but other travelers coming in behind us got into their rooms right away. The housekeeper came the next day at 9am and I asked her to give us a few minutes to gather our things to leave for the day. She came back at 4pm when my wife was sleeping and she didn't even knock! She came again at 9am the following day and we asked her to come back in a few minutes...She did not return. Our bed wasn't made the three days we were there, no fresh towels, the toiletries (soap, shampoo, etc) smelled awful! There is no fan in the bathroom! We found a bill under our door before we checked out for the restaurant in the lobby and we didn't even go to that restaurant. The concierge gave us wrong directions too! On the plus side, the omelets that are made to order were wonderful. I would say overall this hotel is not worth the $200 per night we paid to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is just a few blocks from Michigan avenue with great shopping. There is also a subway restaurant in the hotel building, a trader joe's grocery nearby and a drug store. Take snacks and drinks with you because all the rooms have fridges and microwaves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gilman, Ill.
Sep 3, 2009

Great town to visit

Great breakfast and service was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Got locked out of our room! While our luggage was inside

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 31, 2009

Embassy Suites - Chcago: dissapointment

Check in took over 40 minutes. There was no one there to organize the check-in line. Everyone was scrambling to get to the counter. The hotel staff didn't care. They just looked at the mass of people and did nothing to correct the situation. The hotel lobby was a mess and very dirty. The self check-in machines did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fivelids
Chicago, IL
Aug 10, 2009

Nice in the heart of the city

Lots of kids, made us feel a bit awkward on our bachelor party weekend, but the cocktail hour made up for it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sneaky Boyfriend Alex
Chicago, IL
Jul 29, 2009

Awesome Anniversary

We arrived in time to enjoy a relaxing swim before the Manager's Reception which was much needed on a hot day. Unfortunately there were a lot of kids running around and splashing (even in the hot tub) taking away a bit from the relaxation. The manager's reception was great and we enjoyed the wide variety of mixed drinks and friendly staff. The room was everything we hoped for and the bed was amazing to sleep in. In the morning the breakfast buffet and omelet bar was exactly what we needed to jump start our day. Overall this was a great place to stay, but probably would better serve a family with small children as opposed to a young couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lawrence, KS
Jul 12, 2009

Embassy Suites Chicago-Downtown

The hotel is located very close from the subway (Grand/Red and Chicago/Red) and the "Magnificent Mile". The hotel allowed me to check in before the time set. If you get to the hotel before 3 p.m., do not worry, they may have your room ready for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

1. Get a subway/bus pass (3/7 days). 2. If you go to the Aquarium area take the subway (Roosevelt/Red). 3. Chinatown-waste of time. 4. For Hispanic Products or food visit "La Unica" 1515 W. Devon Ave. 5. For Indian clothing/products visit Devon Ave.(after passing Clark, continue 4/5 blocks. (Subway: get off in Loyola and take the bus-Devon Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, IL
Jul 12, 2009

Great Find

I have always been a fan of Embassy Suites and this one didn't disappoint. It was classy, clean, love the enclosed valet parking, close to Millenium Park and Sears Tower, lots of food choices nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yo Joe's
Indianapolis
Jul 8, 2009

Embassy Suites - Downtown Chicago

Great location and great facility

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top