$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
142 reviews
great hotel

Everything about this hotel was great . From the swimming pool to the Jacuzzi to the breakfasts.... See full review

  • marc helpful dad
  • May 5, 2014
Great value

It was great. & the front desk manager "Ronnie" was great & has a awesome personality. She needs a... See full review

  • N Odum
  • Feb 18, 2014
At Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown, you’re in the heart of downtown Chicago, Illinois, surrounded by shopping and entertainment venues on all sides. Located on State Street between Ohio and Ontario Streets, we’re three blocks west of Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile, and convenient to the Loop, the financial district and popular attractions. A block away is the free seasonal Navy Pier trolley and subway, linking to local attractions and both Midway and O'Hare airports. A great choice in Chicago hotels, this downtown all-suites property is convenient to Boeing, the Chicago Board of Trade, City Hall, IBM, Prudential Plaza and Sears Tower.Start the day with complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. Relax in a two-room suite, complete with a separate lounge, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed internet access. Unwind at our Complimentary Evening Reception, which includes a range of beverages and snacks*. Sample Italian specialties at Osteria Via Stato and Pizzeria Via Stato. Maintain any exercise routine in the complimentary fitness center, and melt away stress in the indoor pool and whirlpool.Plan your meeting, wedding or special event in the heart of the city for 300 guests at our Chicago hotel, downtown on State Street. In addition to our business center, utilize our video conferencing, webcasting, and teleconferencing services.*Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

41.8925 -87.6281
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 11.00, MI, NE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KLB208
SF Bay Area
Nov 12, 2013

Visiting Family

stayed at this hotel w/ my sister-in-law & her grandson (my nephew) who live near-by just for a night to enjoy Chicago's sights. We had a wonderful time. My nephew loved the breakfast and free wifi in the lobby. We loved the comfort of having a suite and the price was right! AND the location was perfect for everything we wanted to do. I plan to come back at least once a year to enjoy all Chicago has to offer- especially that wonderful architectural tour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glashow
Daerborn highs mi
Apr 17, 2011

Fantastic

Slopping - no-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glashow
Daerborn highs mi
Apr 17, 2011

Fantastic

Slopping - no-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business and Leisure
Business
MASS
Mar 6, 2011

Disappointment with the Embassy Suites

Right now I'm sitting in my Embassy Suite room extremely upset with it's management and customer service. My colleague and myself made a room deposit and selected a room with two beds, weeks before arriving. When we checked in we were informed that the hotel had no double bed rooms available. We provided our confirmation email that stated that we had a room with two beds, the manager said "sorry, but we're all sold out, I don't know what to tell you; the couch has a pullout, or we could bring up a cot." He went on to say, "that's all we can do." I have never encountered a lack of respect for a customer like this before in the hotel industry. I will never stay at an embassy suite again and recommend to others to beware of this bait and switch tatic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EATT

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business and Leisure
Business
MASS
Mar 6, 2011

Disappointment with the Embassy Suites

Right now I'm sitting in my Embassy Suite room extremely upset with it's management and customer service. My colleague and myself made a room deposit and selected a room with two beds, weeks before arriving. When we checked in we were informed that the hotel had no double bed rooms available. We provided our confirmation email that stated that we had a room with two beds, the manager said "sorry, but we're all sold out, I don't know what to tell you; the couch has a pullout, or we could bring up a cot." He went on to say, "that's all we can do." I have never encountered a lack of respect for a customer like this before in the hotel industry. I will never stay at an embassy suite again and recommend to others to beware of this bait and switch tatic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EATT

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Schaumburg, IL
Jan 2, 2011

Great experience!

I originally made the reservation for two, but then had to add two more guests when we checked-in. The $25 charge per person per night was a little annoying, but our stay was amazing despite the extra room charges. We stayed for 2 nights over New Years weekend. The hotel provided a complimentary cocktail hour for guests on New Years Eve which was pleasantly surprising. :o) The complimentary breakfast in the morning was yummytastic! The omlette station and hot food section was very good. Our room was comfortable and had a homey feeling to it. Our beds weren't the most comfortable beds in the world, but I have slept in much worse hotel beds so I can't complain about these. We didn't try the Italian restaurant, but we heard good things about the food. The location of the hotel is perfect because there are so many restaurants and cafes to go to within a short walking distance. Overall we had a VERY good time and I look forward to going back soon! The only reason I gave this place a four stars is because it could use a waffle station at breakfast and the conceirge was never at the desk when we passed through the lobby (kind of annoying when we were looking for free passes to bars and clubs around the area and couldn't get them).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The dueling piano bar, Howl at the Moon, is so much fun and it is only a few blocks away. It has a mixed group of people and ages, and the drinks are amazing!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Schaumburg, IL
Jan 2, 2011

Great experience!

I originally made the reservation for two, but then had to add two more guests when we checked-in. The $25 charge per person per night was a little annoying, but our stay was amazing despite the extra room charges. We stayed for 2 nights over New Years weekend. The hotel provided a complimentary cocktail hour for guests on New Years Eve which was pleasantly surprising. :o) The complimentary breakfast in the morning was yummytastic! The omlette station and hot food section was very good. Our room was comfortable and had a homey feeling to it. Our beds weren't the most comfortable beds in the world, but I have slept in much worse hotel beds so I can't complain about these. We didn't try the Italian restaurant, but we heard good things about the food. The location of the hotel is perfect because there are so many restaurants and cafes to go to within a short walking distance. Overall we had a VERY good time and I look forward to going back soon! The only reason I gave this place a four stars is because it could use a waffle station at breakfast and the conceirge was never at the desk when we passed through the lobby (kind of annoying when we were looking for free passes to bars and clubs around the area and couldn't get them).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The dueling piano bar, Howl at the Moon, is so much fun and it is only a few blocks away. It has a mixed group of people and ages, and the drinks are amazing!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lincoln, NE
Jan 1, 2011

Great breakfast in the morning!

Wonderful room and morning breakfast was great! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping and only 2 blks away!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lincoln, NE
Jan 1, 2011

Great breakfast in the morning!

Wonderful room and morning breakfast was great! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping and only 2 blks away!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Nov 22, 2010

Perfect Location!

The staff was not very helpful. We stayed in a non smoking room, but our room reeked like cigarette smoke. Everything was good. Breakfast was delightful. The location was fantastic! Rooms were large and well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Chop House 1/4 block north and one block west from the hotel entrance. AMAZING!!!!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Nov 22, 2010

Perfect Location!

The staff was not very helpful. We stayed in a non smoking room, but our room reeked like cigarette smoke. Everything was good. Breakfast was delightful. The location was fantastic! Rooms were large and well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Chop House 1/4 block north and one block west from the hotel entrance. AMAZING!!!!

Back to menu Return to top