$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 30, 2011

Great environment

Great staff and management. Clean environment. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
May 16, 2011

Fantastic getaway

We really enjoyed ourselves. Our hotel was easy to find and was very nice. Everyone was very friendly as well. We did a little shopping, watched a movie at Navy Pier and kayaked on the Chicago river. The only thing i would of changed is they could of offered the wireless internet for free instead of charging extra for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glashow
Business
Daerborn highs mi
Apr 17, 2011

Fantastic

Slopping - no-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business and Leisure
Business
MASS
Mar 6, 2011

Disappointment with the Embassy Suites

Right now I'm sitting in my Embassy Suite room extremely upset with it's management and customer service. My colleague and myself made a room deposit and selected a room with two beds, weeks before arriving. When we checked in we were informed that the hotel had no double bed rooms available. We provided our confirmation email that stated that we had a room with two beds, the manager said "sorry, but we're all sold out, I don't know what to tell you; the couch has a pullout, or we could bring up a cot." He went on to say, "that's all we can do." I have never encountered a lack of respect for a customer like this before in the hotel industry. I will never stay at an embassy suite again and recommend to others to beware of this bait and switch tatic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EATT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Schaumburg, IL
Jan 2, 2011

Great experience!

I originally made the reservation for two, but then had to add two more guests when we checked-in. The $25 charge per person per night was a little annoying, but our stay was amazing despite the extra room charges. We stayed for 2 nights over New Years weekend. The hotel provided a complimentary cocktail hour for guests on New Years Eve which was pleasantly surprising. :o) The complimentary breakfast in the morning was yummytastic! The omlette station and hot food section was very good. Our room was comfortable and had a homey feeling to it. Our beds weren't the most comfortable beds in the world, but I have slept in much worse hotel beds so I can't complain about these. We didn't try the Italian restaurant, but we heard good things about the food. The location of the hotel is perfect because there are so many restaurants and cafes to go to within a short walking distance. Overall we had a VERY good time and I look forward to going back soon! The only reason I gave this place a four stars is because it could use a waffle station at breakfast and the conceirge was never at the desk when we passed through the lobby (kind of annoying when we were looking for free passes to bars and clubs around the area and couldn't get them).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The dueling piano bar, Howl at the Moon, is so much fun and it is only a few blocks away. It has a mixed group of people and ages, and the drinks are amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln, NE
Jan 1, 2011

Great breakfast in the morning!

Wonderful room and morning breakfast was great! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping and only 2 blks away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 22, 2010

Perfect Location!

The staff was not very helpful. We stayed in a non smoking room, but our room reeked like cigarette smoke. Everything was good. Breakfast was delightful. The location was fantastic! Rooms were large and well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Chop House 1/4 block north and one block west from the hotel entrance. AMAZING!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 15, 2010

Great location for business or vacation

Really comfortable! A great choice for business travelers. Close to dining, shopping and nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a music collector, the Jazz Record Mart is a wonderful opportunity to find some of the most famous Jazz, Blues, Soul and R&B music ever created and is in walking distance from the Embassy Suites in downtown Chicago!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 6, 2010

ES CHICAGO

the breakfast was no where near previous stays

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

x

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Racine, WI
Oct 25, 2010

Best in Chicago

Room was quiet and comfortable even though the weekend was busy. Great cocktail time and breakfast. For the price best bargain during our weekend in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the train and use the bus and subway systems. The train for us was $7.00 each for the weekend. We picked up a 24 hour pass for the buses and subway at $5.00 each. The tollways were packed bumper to bumper, but we were comfortable on the Metra.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top