$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
104 reviews
Girls trip

Loved staying at the embassy suites. will stay there again any time I'm in Chicago. great downtown... See full review

  • ckiekow
  • Oct 7, 2014
Thumbs up for Embassy Suites

The hotel is is located close to many entertainment venues, the staff were very professional, the... See full review

  • Laly Pop
  • Sep 8, 2014
At Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown, you’re in the heart of downtown Chicago, Illinois, surrounded by shopping and entertainment venues on all sides. Located on State Street between Ohio and Ontario Streets, we’re three blocks west of Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile, and convenient to the Loop, the financial district and popular attractions. A block away is the free seasonal Navy Pier trolley and subway, linking to local attractions and both Midway and O'Hare airports. A great choice in Chicago hotels, this downtown all-suites property is convenient to Boeing, the Chicago Board of Trade, City Hall, IBM, Prudential Plaza and Sears Tower.Start the day with complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. Relax in a two-room suite, complete with a separate lounge, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed internet access. Unwind at our Complimentary Evening Reception, which includes a range of beverages and snacks*. Sample Italian specialties at Osteria Via Stato and Pizzeria Via Stato. Maintain any exercise routine in the complimentary fitness center, and melt away stress in the indoor pool and whirlpool.Plan your meeting, wedding or special event in the heart of the city for 300 guests at our Chicago hotel, downtown on State Street. In addition to our business center, utilize our video conferencing, webcasting, and teleconferencing services.*Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marc helpful dad
chicago
May 5, 2014

great hotel

Everything about this hotel was great . From the swimming pool to the Jacuzzi to the breakfasts. The room was great. The bed was perfect . Will definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chitown Visitor
Business
Flower Mound, TX
Jul 2, 2011

Kids yes - Business no

Rooms are nice and clean, staff was friendly and attentive, great location at a relatively reasonable price (though parking at $47 per day was more than I expected), and perfect for a family with kids. But if you are staying with adults, then the place can seem like a madhouse given the large number of children - it felt at times like Chucky Cheese. Breakfast is good, but crazy (though the hotel left cards telling you when to go to beat the crowds), the happy hour is crazier (and the adult beverages are not of high quality) - we skipped it after the first drink on the first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The entrance to the red line subway is a block south - provides easy access to trains which get you close to a lot of attractions (Wrigley Field, Willis Tower, etc) - buy a 3 day pass and ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camano Island, WA
Jun 27, 2011

Beatiful hotel, great location.

The location was very good for shopping and food. The staff was attentive. The hotel was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 30, 2011

Great environment

Great staff and management. Clean environment. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
May 16, 2011

Fantastic getaway

We really enjoyed ourselves. Our hotel was easy to find and was very nice. Everyone was very friendly as well. We did a little shopping, watched a movie at Navy Pier and kayaked on the Chicago river. The only thing i would of changed is they could of offered the wireless internet for free instead of charging extra for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glashow
Business
Daerborn highs mi
Apr 17, 2011

Fantastic

Slopping - no-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business and Leisure
Business
MASS
Mar 6, 2011

Disappointment with the Embassy Suites

Right now I'm sitting in my Embassy Suite room extremely upset with it's management and customer service. My colleague and myself made a room deposit and selected a room with two beds, weeks before arriving. When we checked in we were informed that the hotel had no double bed rooms available. We provided our confirmation email that stated that we had a room with two beds, the manager said "sorry, but we're all sold out, I don't know what to tell you; the couch has a pullout, or we could bring up a cot." He went on to say, "that's all we can do." I have never encountered a lack of respect for a customer like this before in the hotel industry. I will never stay at an embassy suite again and recommend to others to beware of this bait and switch tatic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EATT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Schaumburg, IL
Jan 2, 2011

Great experience!

I originally made the reservation for two, but then had to add two more guests when we checked-in. The $25 charge per person per night was a little annoying, but our stay was amazing despite the extra room charges. We stayed for 2 nights over New Years weekend. The hotel provided a complimentary cocktail hour for guests on New Years Eve which was pleasantly surprising. :o) The complimentary breakfast in the morning was yummytastic! The omlette station and hot food section was very good. Our room was comfortable and had a homey feeling to it. Our beds weren't the most comfortable beds in the world, but I have slept in much worse hotel beds so I can't complain about these. We didn't try the Italian restaurant, but we heard good things about the food. The location of the hotel is perfect because there are so many restaurants and cafes to go to within a short walking distance. Overall we had a VERY good time and I look forward to going back soon! The only reason I gave this place a four stars is because it could use a waffle station at breakfast and the conceirge was never at the desk when we passed through the lobby (kind of annoying when we were looking for free passes to bars and clubs around the area and couldn't get them).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The dueling piano bar, Howl at the Moon, is so much fun and it is only a few blocks away. It has a mixed group of people and ages, and the drinks are amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln, NE
Jan 1, 2011

Great breakfast in the morning!

Wonderful room and morning breakfast was great! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping and only 2 blks away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 22, 2010

Perfect Location!

The staff was not very helpful. We stayed in a non smoking room, but our room reeked like cigarette smoke. Everything was good. Breakfast was delightful. The location was fantastic! Rooms were large and well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Chop House 1/4 block north and one block west from the hotel entrance. AMAZING!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 15, 2010

Great location for business or vacation

Really comfortable! A great choice for business travelers. Close to dining, shopping and nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a music collector, the Jazz Record Mart is a wonderful opportunity to find some of the most famous Jazz, Blues, Soul and R&B music ever created and is in walking distance from the Embassy Suites in downtown Chicago!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top