$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
103 reviews
Girls trip

Loved staying at the embassy suites. will stay there again any time I'm in Chicago. great downtown... See full review

  • ckiekow
  • Oct 7, 2014
Thumbs up for Embassy Suites

The hotel is is located close to many entertainment venues, the staff were very professional, the... See full review

  • Laly Pop
  • Sep 8, 2014
At Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown, you’re in the heart of downtown Chicago, Illinois, surrounded by shopping and entertainment venues on all sides. Located on State Street between Ohio and Ontario Streets, we’re three blocks west of Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile, and convenient to the Loop, the financial district and popular attractions. A block away is the free seasonal Navy Pier trolley and subway, linking to local attractions and both Midway and O'Hare airports. A great choice in Chicago hotels, this downtown all-suites property is convenient to Boeing, the Chicago Board of Trade, City Hall, IBM, Prudential Plaza and Sears Tower.Start the day with complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. Relax in a two-room suite, complete with a separate lounge, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed internet access. Unwind at our Complimentary Evening Reception, which includes a range of beverages and snacks*. Sample Italian specialties at Osteria Via Stato and Pizzeria Via Stato. Maintain any exercise routine in the complimentary fitness center, and melt away stress in the indoor pool and whirlpool.Plan your meeting, wedding or special event in the heart of the city for 300 guests at our Chicago hotel, downtown on State Street. In addition to our business center, utilize our video conferencing, webcasting, and teleconferencing services.*Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (103)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
N Odum
Chicago
Feb 18, 2014

Great value

It was great. & the front desk manager "Ronnie" was great & has a awesome personality. She needs a raise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diane singelyn
Business
Chicago, Illinois. Down town
Apr 28, 2013

Great Place to stay

It was fantastic would stay there again in a heart beat. Staff was kind and informative. Place was so clean and the beds were phenomenal .!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great Job to All. Diane Singelyn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants in the area were great went to 4 or 5 all with in walking distance. Can't get a bad restaurant in Chicago!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dcsnomo
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 19, 2013

Nice remodel!

Remember when Embassy Suites (and all it's previous iterations) came on line in the 80's? Everybody loved them, then over the last 30 years so many of the properties became run down, and there were half baked renovations and re-do's? Well, this property is an exception! Great renovation, top to bottom! Beautiful room, nice public spaces, incredible location! The only issue is that this is still a property that, due to the amenities, attracts a lot of families. Coupled with the open atrium design and parents that don't seem to care meant a constant cacophony of screaming and running children that could be heard throughout the property. So, nice place, but if you are planning on staying out late in Chi-town and sleeping in you might want to check out a quieter property. I will most likely stay here again, but not on a holiday weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The salad bar at Texas de Brazil is unbelievable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DWARF
Business
Hoffman Estates,ILLINOIS
May 17, 2012

Anniversary

I am sorry but this had to have been one of the worst places I have ever stayed at (1st) we arrived at 12:00pm and did not get into the room until 4:00pm other hotels we booked with you we were in by 2:00 at the latest(2nd)They gave us a handicap room never mention it to us at all.(3rd)It was our anniversary and my children sent gifts to the room with cards and per my son the person repeated back exactly what he wanted on the card and when we received it it was written incorrectly as of now I am not really happy about this let alone I had to call someone instead of being able to go online to the place directly as you know I was charged for that service also.I am planning other trips in the near future I hope this will be better than our last experience I am sorry but No I did not bring it to the hotels attention because I was really angry and I did not want to get upset with the wrong person. I am a good customer and I pay my bills on time and I thought your company is one of the better ones to go with.After all of our travels I am starting to get second doubts Sorry . I am still willing to keep with your company but let me know if I am correct about how I feel and if I should let the hotel Know how I feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grtraveler
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Great hotel

Nice room with a lot of space! Friendly staff! Awesome breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jersey Joe
Business
Oak Lawn, IL, USA
Feb 28, 2012

weekend

very nice place to stay, location was great but bed and linens need improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wildcat5
Business
Kewanee, IL
Feb 3, 2012

customer getaway

Perfect location for exploring The Magnificant Mile

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wildcat5
Business
IL
Feb 3, 2012

business

Great Location. Close to everything. Awesome restaurants close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin H.
Business
Metamora, IL 61548, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Great Pre-Christmas trip

Wife and I took our 2 sons (11, 13) downtown to see the city during the Christmas season. Embassy Suites was perfect location. Well appointed and recently updated. Would stay here again. My only complaint is that some families/groups see Embassy Suites as a dumping ground and load up the rooms with unsupervised kids. We had some running in the halls most of the night. Also, too many parents get liquored up at the Managers Reception while their unsupervised kids ransack the pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tazmin12
Business
Michigan, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Christmas Shopping Trip

Quick weekend stay, we decided on this hotel after reading the reviews. Location is great! Short 2 or 3 block walk to Mag Mile ( Michigan St). Sunday morning Breakfast buffet was extremely crowded, however the line went very quickly and staff was very polite and replenished food very quickly, it ran very smoothly. Food was good. Night reception from 5:30-7:30 with free drinks and appetizers was nice. Location to most popular Restaurants all in walking distance.. Starbucks connected to hotel as well as a nice Pizzeria restaurant. Nice Room, plent of space for myself and 2 teenagers. ALL in all a wonderful trip! Nice Staff...THANKS again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Go Orioles
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Relaxing weekend!

Great accomodations and perfect location. Comp breakfast was excellent! Proximity to restaurants and safety of neighborhood was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top