$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lauriann
Chicago
May 6, 2013

Great weekend!

My husband & I stayed in downtown Chicago for our anniversary weekend. We had a king two-room suite & it was perfect! The staff was excellent & friendly. The complimentary breakfast & reception were both very nice, though there were lines - but not very long. The location was great - we went on the River walk which is just a couple of blocks away. The room was wonderful & we had a very romantic anniversary! We'll definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tons of restaurants nearby!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GNO Planner
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 24, 2013

Great Girl' Night Location

Perfect location and wonderful lobby for cocktail reception and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vanessa8485
Business
Detroit, Mi
Sep 9, 2013

GREAT!!!

very cozy and good location close to many shops.. overall great experience...highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have one on them
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 16, 2013

Friendly Staff at Embassey

Got in late Friday afternoon and left by 10 the next morning. Active place with a bunch of families. I thought staff was good and friendly. Never like having to park in Chicago but Valet service was professional and friendly. I will use again. Free snacks and beer at 4 PM on Saturday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FauxGeek
Business
Chicago,IL
Jul 5, 2013

Great Overnight Stay

the suite was perfect for our overnight stay. I live in Chicago so the location was great for a nite out with friends at a nearby favorite bar. Knowing drinking was involved I didn't want to drive home after. Jewel is a block South providing full grocery store items. An Italian restaurant in the hotel. Complimentary Happy Hour from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. the evening I checked in and the following morning the complimentary breakfast was 6:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. Plan to attend early because there will be lines. The breakfast has a full spread including made to order omelette. The coffee was a little weak but a trip to Starbucks next door took care of that. I requested early check-in my first call led to know open rooms but around 1:30 p.m. my early check-in request was granted, otherwise check-in is at 4:00 p.m. staff was courteous, hotel was clean, family-friendly but large enough to not feel like you are at a Disney resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Looking for a nite out check-out Network Cyber Bar at the corners of Clark and Chicago. Great music, food and drinks. Stylish ambiance with a trendy crowd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio Jeff
Business
Medina, OH
Jun 18, 2013

Great Stuff

Despite not being able to switch room because we accidentally book a handicapped accessible room, overall experience was good. Our room was not updated like the website touts so was disappointed in that. Also the bathroom has no vent which is unheard of anywhere so made it uncomfortable for everyone when nature called. Happy Hour and breakfast made it worth it. All rooms need updated if going to advertise that they are updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMWNY
Business
New York, NY
Jun 11, 2013

Good for a weekend in Chicago

Location was perfect for us, an easy walk to Michigan Ave and to the river. Lots of restaurants, shopping and activities within a 5 block area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Weber Grill is right across the street, great for grilled food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lauriann
Business
Chicago
May 6, 2013

Great weekend!

My husband & I stayed in downtown Chicago for our anniversary weekend. We had a king two-room suite & it was perfect! The staff was excellent & friendly. The complimentary breakfast & reception were both very nice, though there were lines - but not very long. The location was great - we went on the River walk which is just a couple of blocks away. The room was wonderful & we had a very romantic anniversary! We'll definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tons of restaurants nearby!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diane singelyn
Business
Chicago, Illinois. Down town
Apr 28, 2013

Great Place to stay

It was fantastic would stay there again in a heart beat. Staff was kind and informative. Place was so clean and the beds were phenomenal .!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great Job to All. Diane Singelyn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants in the area were great went to 4 or 5 all with in walking distance. Can't get a bad restaurant in Chicago!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dcsnomo
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 19, 2013

Nice remodel!

Remember when Embassy Suites (and all it's previous iterations) came on line in the 80's? Everybody loved them, then over the last 30 years so many of the properties became run down, and there were half baked renovations and re-do's? Well, this property is an exception! Great renovation, top to bottom! Beautiful room, nice public spaces, incredible location! The only issue is that this is still a property that, due to the amenities, attracts a lot of families. Coupled with the open atrium design and parents that don't seem to care meant a constant cacophony of screaming and running children that could be heard throughout the property. So, nice place, but if you are planning on staying out late in Chi-town and sleeping in you might want to check out a quieter property. I will most likely stay here again, but not on a holiday weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The salad bar at Texas de Brazil is unbelievable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DWARF
Business
Hoffman Estates,ILLINOIS
May 17, 2012

Anniversary

I am sorry but this had to have been one of the worst places I have ever stayed at (1st) we arrived at 12:00pm and did not get into the room until 4:00pm other hotels we booked with you we were in by 2:00 at the latest(2nd)They gave us a handicap room never mention it to us at all.(3rd)It was our anniversary and my children sent gifts to the room with cards and per my son the person repeated back exactly what he wanted on the card and when we received it it was written incorrectly as of now I am not really happy about this let alone I had to call someone instead of being able to go online to the place directly as you know I was charged for that service also.I am planning other trips in the near future I hope this will be better than our last experience I am sorry but No I did not bring it to the hotels attention because I was really angry and I did not want to get upset with the wrong person. I am a good customer and I pay my bills on time and I thought your company is one of the better ones to go with.After all of our travels I am starting to get second doubts Sorry . I am still willing to keep with your company but let me know if I am correct about how I feel and if I should let the hotel Know how I feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top