$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
111 reviews
Great Chicago location

We had a great experience at the Embassy Suites! The check in was fast and the staff was very... See full review

  • Libby W.
  • Aug 12, 2015
Great location and amenities

We love the location. Within EASY walking distance to Michigan Avenue for shopping and several... See full review

  • sl duck
  • Jul 28, 2015
At Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown, you’re in the heart of downtown Chicago, Illinois, surrounded by shopping and entertainment venues on all sides. Located on State Street between Ohio and Ontario Streets, we’re three blocks west of Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile, and convenient to the Loop, the financial district and popular attractions. A block away is the free seasonal Navy Pier trolley and subway, linking to local attractions and both Midway and O'Hare airports. A great choice in Chicago hotels, this downtown all-suites property is convenient to Boeing, the Chicago Board of Trade, City Hall, IBM, Prudential Plaza and Sears Tower.Start the day with complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. Relax in a two-room suite, complete with a separate lounge, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed internet access. Unwind at our Complimentary Evening Reception, which includes a range of beverages and snacks*. Sample Italian specialties at Osteria Via Stato and Pizzeria Via Stato. Maintain any exercise routine in the complimentary fitness center, and melt away stress in the indoor pool and whirlpool.Plan your meeting, wedding or special event in the heart of the city for 300 guests at our Chicago hotel, downtown on State Street. In addition to our business center, utilize our video conferencing, webcasting, and teleconferencing services.*Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown also booked these hotels.

★★★
$139
4.1 / 5 118 reviews
★★★
$169
4.3 / 5 71 reviews
★★★
$152
3.9 / 5 68 reviews
★★★
$180
4.1 / 5 19 reviews
★★★★
$134
4.4 / 5 144 reviews
★★★★
$169
4.4 / 5 68 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.2 / 5 230 reviews

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beagle93
Business
Colorado
Oct 13, 2013

Best value downtown Chicago

Breakfast was excellent. Even had almond milk. Friendly cooks and staff. All around great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a double decker hop on hop off bus ticket and use it like a cab to get around to all the sites. Mix it up with healthy walking and you've got a great vacation for next to nothing,

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becky P.
Family
N/A
Aug 26, 2015

Wedding celebration

Desk staff was exceptional. Breakfast and cocktail was awesome. The location is great. The only minus is the room decor is dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Libby W.
Family
Saint Peters
Aug 12, 2015

Great Chicago location

We had a great experience at the Embassy Suites! The check in was fast and the staff was very friendly. The room was very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was terrific with lots of choices of both hot, made to order items and also grab and go type items. The neighborhood is really great and parking is easy at the garage next to the hotel. There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby and we enjoyed sitting outside at the sidewalk bar. I will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oscar r.
Business
N/A
Aug 7, 2015

Excellent business trip

Hotel was in a great location for my business meetings. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely consider for a future family vacation. First time in Chicago. Would like to see better transportation options to airport (shuttle).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sl duck
Family
N/A
Jul 28, 2015

Great location and amenities

We love the location. Within EASY walking distance to Michigan Avenue for shopping and several other fun areas. Can walk to Navy Pier as well. Several nice restaurants very close as well as more casual. The only thing I would say needed a bit of revving up is the food at happy hour. Workout room and pool were great. We would absolutely recommend this Embassy -- in fact, already have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris B.
Business
N/A
Jul 23, 2015

Great Location

This was a great place to stay and a great location. Staff was friendly and helpful and my room was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karl Y.
Couples
N/A
Jul 18, 2015

1st Chicago visit

The Embassy Suites is an ideal location for a visit to Chicago.You can walk to virtually anywhere.As usual the hotel breakfast is outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melissa H.
Couples
Knoxville
May 27, 2015

Chicago in April

Hotel has a great location - and you can't beat the happy hour and made to order breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teresa W.
Family
Muskegon
Apr 30, 2015

Weekend Away

Happy Hour was great, breakfast was great, location ideal! Loved the suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Izzy and friends
Couples
Lockport
Apr 6, 2015

30th wedding anniversary

Wonderful experience. The amenities were great. The cocktails given the night we arrived were good and plenty! The restaurant was amazing as well as the location. After dinner at the restaurant on site we went across the street to the red head piano bar and had a blast! We then came back and enjoyed the whirlpool which was open late. The next morning our breakfast was also perfect. We truly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Con Smythe
Couples
Downers Grove
Feb 17, 2015

Enjoyable stay

The Embassy Suites is wonderfully located just a few blocks from the Mag Mile and dozens of eateries and bars (we dined at Eataly which is very close). The hotel is clean and the staff was helpful. The suite is spacious and comfortable, although both my wife and I found the pillows to be quite lumpy. We were somewhat irritated that the TV's volume level wouldn't go past 15 because it made it pretty difficult to hear. Loved the managers reception and breakfast. We wanted to use the hot tub but there were about 10-12 adults/kids in there when we went down even though it says that its a 4-person max. All in all, we enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top