$154 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

3 stars
600 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
142 reviews
great hotel

Everything about this hotel was great . From the swimming pool to the Jacuzzi to the breakfasts.... See full review

  • marc helpful dad
  • May 5, 2014
Great value

It was great. & the front desk manager "Ronnie" was great & has a awesome personality. She needs a... See full review

  • N Odum
  • Feb 18, 2014
At Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown, you’re in the heart of downtown Chicago, Illinois, surrounded by shopping and entertainment venues on all sides. Located on State Street between Ohio and Ontario Streets, we’re three blocks west of Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile, and convenient to the Loop, the financial district and popular attractions. A block away is the free seasonal Navy Pier trolley and subway, linking to local attractions and both Midway and O'Hare airports. A great choice in Chicago hotels, this downtown all-suites property is convenient to Boeing, the Chicago Board of Trade, City Hall, IBM, Prudential Plaza and Sears Tower.Start the day with complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. Relax in a two-room suite, complete with a separate lounge, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed internet access. Unwind at our Complimentary Evening Reception, which includes a range of beverages and snacks*. Sample Italian specialties at Osteria Via Stato and Pizzeria Via Stato. Maintain any exercise routine in the complimentary fitness center, and melt away stress in the indoor pool and whirlpool.Plan your meeting, wedding or special event in the heart of the city for 300 guests at our Chicago hotel, downtown on State Street. In addition to our business center, utilize our video conferencing, webcasting, and teleconferencing services.*Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

41.8925 -87.6281
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 11.00, MI, NE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beagle93
Business
Colorado
Oct 13, 2013

Best value downtown Chicago

Breakfast was excellent. Even had almond milk. Friendly cooks and staff. All around great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a double decker hop on hop off bus ticket and use it like a cab to get around to all the sites. Mix it up with healthy walking and you've got a great vacation for next to nothing,

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carol D
London, Ontario
Jul 3, 2014

great location

bathroom small in the non suite rooms, breakfast great as well as happy hour. Parking is expensive underground, we had a pipe break overtop of our vehicle which spilled sewage, we were not impressed. After complaining to staff and manager we were compensated for 1 night parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hancock Tower, Oriental Theatre

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dutchie from Canada
Ontario, Canada
Jun 29, 2014

Sister's getaway

Hotel guest services were prompt when required. Hotel concierge was helpful in advise given for things to do during our stay. Complimentary breakfast were fabulous! Evening reception snacks left something to be desired, although the free cocktails were great. Were dissapointed with amount of washcloths in bathrooms. We were four to our room and needed to call daily to ask for wash cloths. Other than that it was great. Staff working in reception could be a bit warmer. Location was good.Would probably book this hotel again. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doug the Tourist
Grosse Pointe Michigan
May 27, 2014

Accidental Tourist

We arrived as a late check-in at midnight and were able to valet park our car before going to the front desk. A non-smoking room was requested, but we could smell it faintly in the room. Other than that, the room was spotless and was the larger 2 room extended stay suite rather than the standard room I had booked. (never complain about a free upgrade!! ) There was a large selection for the breakfast, which was of a much higher quality than a regular continental. At the free happy hour, mixed cocktails were available as well as wine etc. The location downtown couldn't have been better. Only a 2 minute walk from the Red Line, and an easy walk to the shopping district. Entering the city from the south, the hotel was a bit tricky to find, but getting back to the freeways and toll roads headed home was a snap with only 2 street corners to turn. Overall a great experience and we will be choosing the same hotel for our next Chicago visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Often directions to attractions start with "Walk East" , or West etc. In cities where tall buildings block the sun, have a compass or App on your smart phone to get you going in the right direction.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marc helpful dad
chicago
May 5, 2014

great hotel

Everything about this hotel was great . From the swimming pool to the Jacuzzi to the breakfasts. The room was great. The bed was perfect . Will definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skim101010
Wisconsin
Mar 27, 2014

Quick Stay

The hotel, was clean and in a great spot of the city. Loved the breakfast. Only complaint is the elevator system- seemed to take forever to get up or down!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CANM
Iowa City, IA
Mar 23, 2014

Nice hotel for Chicago getaway

Had a great time with family - we were able to get all our rooms on the same floor, which was helpful. Elevators were not all functioning and caused some frustration, but it was a good exercise in practicing patience. :-) Nice location and comfortable hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
N Odum
Chicago
Feb 18, 2014

Great value

It was great. & the front desk manager "Ronnie" was great & has a awesome personality. She needs a raise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rockabillytim
dekalb, il
Jan 18, 2014

Great price, amazing place to stay. Will be returning to this one!

Very friendly staff. Let us check in early and checked our bags after we checked out so we could visit shops for a few hours after... for free. They had a free happy hour for like 2 hours and a great free breakfast. Just a great, clean, place. Great value on a suite and great location. Probably will be the only place I stay from this point on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rock bottom brewer, great food and great beer. One block away. Also pizzeria uno a few blocks away for amazing chicago deep dish, if you have 45 to wait.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coach3913
Indiana
Jan 13, 2014

Great Vacation Overall

We used this hotel for the location downtown, and the ease of getting to it from our train. It was GREAT. Clean, updated, and the staff was friendly. The only problem we encountered the weekend we were there was two elevators were down, so only two worked. We waited, or had to use the stairs alot. Ok, but that part could've been better. Other than that, we would absolutely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dsff
iowa
Jan 12, 2014

weekend getaway

staff not all that friendly....two elevstors not working...extra 60.00 charge for parking.Food great ..gym is nice...location is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

find parking elsewhere as it will save you money...not time.

Back to menu Return to top