$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Days Inn Chicago

2 stars
644 West Diversey Parkway, Chicago, IL 60614
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
183 reviews
Excellent and a great price too

Wonderful beds. Great valet service. Good breakfast. Couldn't ask for more. I had a "business" room... See full review

  • BBBof VA
  • May 6, 2014
Perfect Location

My mother was in the hospital only 5 blocks from the hotel. Which gave me a chance to get some rest... See full review

  • Try New Things
  • Apr 25, 2014
The Days Inn Chicago is a European style boutique hotel located in a 1920s building in the Lincoln Park/Lakeview neighborhood an exciting mix of vintage Chicago residential streets and vibrant business strips filled with fine restaurants, theatres, nightclubs, antique shops and boutiques. Whether for business or leisure, this award-winning hotel offers quality and value in a safe and exciting location. The hotel was honored by STR Smith Travel Research with the 2011 Best Performing Hotel in the Economy Scale out of 7,539 eligible properties. Chairmans Award Winner. Longtime general manager Stefanie Hrejsa won 2008/2009 General Manager of the Year out of 1,700 property managers. The hotel has been honored several times along with other top hotels and properties in Lodging Hospitality. Past awards also include 2004/2009 Days Inn Hotel of the Year, Days Inn Business Place of the Year and Housekeeping Award winner. The 133 room Days Inn Chicago has 2 suites, 45 Business Class rooms and one meeting room. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, a deluxe complimentary breakfast with fresh waffles and fruit, complimentary USA Today newspapers, Paid Parking Only - Valet Service 26 USD per night, guest laundry facilities and dry-cleaning service. All rooms have digital safes, alarm clock radios, hairdryers, voice mail, expanded satellite TV and pay per view movies. Upgraded bedding includes duvets or triple-sheeting. Guests over the age of 18 have access to the full-service Ballys Total Fitness health club located next door. Our meeting room can accommodates up to 50 people and offers a wide array of audio-visual equipment. The hotel is 100 percent non-smoking. Choose a standard room or Business Place Room for your stay. Our spacious Business Place Rooms offer extra amenities including a snack basket, bottled water, refrigerator and microwave. Business Place Room guests get an additional 30 percent Wyndham Rewards Points. This Lincoln Park hotel is within walking distance of the Lincoln P

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.933 -87.6455
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1 mi
  • Second City: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 2.4 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.5 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1 mi
  • Second City: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • History Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 2.4 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 2.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 2.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 2.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 2.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 2.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 2.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 2.9 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 2.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 3.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 3.2 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 3.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 3.2 mi
  • Marina City: 3.2 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 3.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 3.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Children Museum: 3.5 mi
  • City Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 3.5 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 3.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 3.5 mi
  • Opera House: 3.5 mi
  • Macys: 3.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 3.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Chicago

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Dec 12, 2009

Unfortunate

Hyped as a "five sun burst" hotel, I had expected something clean and reasonably comfortable. I was wrong. I have not seen a room that small since I sayed at a Japanese business hotel. That room was so small the bugs were in single file. Front desk called to see if I was happy with the room. When I told them I was not and the HVAC was not correctly functioning, they said "unfortunately" there was nothing they could do. I asked for a manager, a MOD, anyone who could do something. I was told "unfortunately" there was no management present and there would be none until after I checked out. I did not sleep because the temperature was not right and the HVAC roared inches from my head. The bathroom was microscopic. The "renovations" were shabby with cracked tiles and poor workmanship. Staff were not helpful but had a script of excuses that were impressive. Overall, I gave it one star because negative stars were not available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Many in this Hotel seemed to be having an active night life...you could hear it through the walls of the small, close packed rooms.

Review of Days Inn Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Dec 12, 2009

Unfortunate

Hyped as a "five sun burst" hotel, I had expected something clean and reasonably comfortable. I was wrong. I have not seen a room that small since I sayed at a Japanese business hotel. That room was so small the bugs were in single file. Front desk called to see if I was happy with the room. When I told them I was not and the HVAC was not correctly functioning, they said "unfortunately" there was nothing they could do. I asked for a manager, a MOD, anyone who could do something. I was told "unfortunately" there was no management present and there would be none until after I checked out. I did not sleep because the temperature was not right and the HVAC roared inches from my head. The bathroom was microscopic. The "renovations" were shabby with cracked tiles and poor workmanship. Staff were not helpful but had a script of excuses that were impressive. Overall, I gave it one star because negative stars were not available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Many in this Hotel seemed to be having an active night life...you could hear it through the walls of the small, close packed rooms.

Review of Days Inn Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 16, 2008

Needs renovation

This hotel was like a scary movie, long hallways in the room, very old bathroom, no counter space. The walls were paper thin. Very small room, very much in need of an update

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants nearby: Panera, Noodles, Jamba Juice

Review of Days Inn Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SE7EN
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Business to business

This hotel was not too bad. I experienced hearing some interesting conversations and noises though. Overall I would say that the staff is keeping the place going,and the building could be improved on. The bathroom wasn't all that great, but you get what you pay for right?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Samah hookah lounge is pretty cool. I had lots of fun there.

Review of Days Inn Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gracecol
Denver
May 18, 2014

Nice little hotel. Extremely noisy

This is a nice little hotel. Good location, with plenty of restaurants, bars and boutiques in the area.The room was nice but extraordinarily small. I almost felt like I couldn't go to the bathroom without bumping into things. Staff was friendly and helpful. BUT... If you're looking for a place to rest and unwind, forget about it. The walls were so thin, you could almost hear everything the other guests were doing and/or saying. It was hard to sleep with all the noise (the walls practically shook every time someone else closed their door). It's probably the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StillSleepy
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Dec 10, 2011

I gave it a try, but you get what you pay for.

This was my last city of interviews, so I was on a budget. I checked-in at 1pm and was given a so-so room. To tell you the truth, I'm not a picky traveller. As long as there's a bed, running water, basic amenities...I'm good. Where the bad starts was the dog next door that was left in the room. I called the front office and asked to be moved because the dog was whimpering and I couldn't focus. No room change; however, they told me that pets were in violation of hotel policy and that they had it under control and told me not worry. I had to leave the hotel at 3, at which point I asked to be moved again. No room change. I returned later at 9pm and the dog was still whimpering. It cried and cried until 1:30am. I also had ear plugs this whole time, which THEY provided interestingly. Thin walls must be a common complaint. Anyhow, with the dog noise handled, I thought I was in the clear. I only need 5-6 hours of sleep anyways. Wrong. I woke up again at 3:30am with laughter and probably about 7-8 voices coming through the other wall of the next room over. I waited til 4am and called the concierge to take care of it. Its one thing to have a good time with friends in a hotel, but another to be so inconsiderate to do that at the expense of other hotel guests. I probably only slept 2-3 hours that night, so if this is something you are good at before a truly important day of your life...go for it. Otherwise, pay a few extra $/night and go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas
Nov 11, 2009

Slick Willies

The first thing you can expect is a change in rates - on the two times I've stayed there, the Internet rate chosen in advance was not honored. Fortunately, the difference this time was slight, but the prior visit required far too much jawboning to get them to set it right. I won't take any more chances with this hotel. And no one tells you in advance that they will charge you $50 for an early departure. You get hit with that information when you sign in. Second, if you are a single person, you will get jammed into a shoebox. Seems like a double bed in the room which required me to squeeze past the TV in order to get into the rest of the room. Finally, if you are expecting something close to downtown, it is a half hour ride on the El to get you there or a two mile plus walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

There are no facilities in this hotel. They use a Bally's gym nearby for anyone desiring physical fitness facilities. Bally's is often crowded, and frequented by a lot of people, so not always the easiest to deal with. Any tourist type attractions are downtown requiring the El adventure. There are also no on-site parking facilities.

Review of Days Inn Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JT Money
Milwaukee, WI
Nov 8, 2009

Not as expected...

The room was not what was described in the description. I was under the impression that there was suppose to be two beds and not just one double bed. We had three people and they wouldnt get us a roll away or cot. Hotel rooms were small especially when you have three people and one sleeping on the floor. Was not impressed by the hotel and its price. Was expecting a larger room for the money. A little high.. The only positives were the good breakfast selection and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
So Cal traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Not a bad overnight stay......

Great location for the overnight stay that I needed, but the walls/doors are thin. And those staying next door sounding as if they were in my room, not good! I would still recommend this hotel for its convenience to train, DePaul, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 16, 2008

Needs renovation

This hotel was like a scary movie, long hallways in the room, very old bathroom, no counter space. The walls were paper thin. Very small room, very much in need of an update

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants nearby: Panera, Noodles, Jamba Juice

Back to menu Return to top