$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

3 stars
733 West Madison, Chicago, IL 60661
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
99 reviews
Saved me

Was at another hotel in Chicago that we hated and scrambled to find another place and got into this... See full review

  • Bobbyxit5b
  • Sep 11, 2013
Wonderful overnight getway!

My wife and I took an overnight get away for a concert. The hotel was beautiful and romantic and... See full review

  • Smooth Donny B
  • Sep 1, 2013
See downtown Chicago from a skyline-view balcony at hotel near the UC
The well-polished Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro makes a convenient Chicago home base with a fitness center, two restaurants and a martini bar. At the closest hotel to the United Center, guests head west down Madison Avenue to catch the Chicago Bulls or Blackhawks or east to spend a day at Millennium Park. Free Wi-Fi pleases laptop travelers at this hotel near the University of Illinois, Willis Tower, downtown shops and financial institutions. See these and more from guest room balconies with sliding doors at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro.

 

Highlights
  • Two restaurants, including a kosher deli open for lunch
  • Fitness center and 24-hour business center
  • Rooms offer a balcony for fresh air and skyline views
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • The closest hotel to Chicago Bulls and Blackhawks games at United Center

 

Rooms
Comfortable rooms open to a balcony with skyline views at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro. Prop up on the soft, contemporary headboard with integrated spotlight reading lamps to watch the flat-screen TV, connect with friends and family via free high-speed wireless Internet access or read the free morning newspaper delivered to the door. A coffee maker, CD player, workdesk and express video check-out add convenience. Book an executive suite to enjoy two TVs plus a separate living room, just right for late-night power meetings or families who appreciate extra space. Inquire about pet-friendly rooms for small pets at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro (fees apply).

 

Features
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro offers valet parking (fees apply) and sits across the street from a grocery store for snacks or essentials. Inside the hotel, Dine restaurant, a retro 1940s-style eatery, puts a tasty twist on American classics and is connected to the Martini Bar. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro is one of the only hotels in downtown Chicago offering a full-service, certified kosher restaurant, MetroKlub, where the business set orders thinly sliced pastrami and corned beef sandwiches on rye.

 

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Subway and train stations (0.5 mi/0.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Willis Tower (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Soldier Field (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Navy Pier (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • U.S. Cellular Field (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • McCormick Place (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Wrigley Field (5.6 mi/9 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center
  • Copy, fax and print services
  • Nine meeting rooms accommodate up to 600 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.4 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 1.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicity Girl
Business
lombard, il
Mar 11, 2014

Great night out

We had a great time and everyone was hel[ful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CecyPdeL
Business
Chicago, IL
May 5, 2014

Great value for location

This hotel is a few blocks west of downtown Chicago. When I booked my reservation it was the cheapest hotel within 1.5 mi of downtown - it is actually .7 mi from the Loop, right on the edge of Greek Town. We got there earlier than check-in time and there were no problems getting them to hold our bags while I explored the city. Even though there was a fencing tournament going on and there were athletes from all over the world, we were not treated any differently. Complimentary internet was included in all part of the hotel including our room. In my experience, hotels have started shifting towards charging for internet in the room while still providing it for free in the common areas, so being able to use their wifi from our room was a definite plus. I'd say the only issue I found with the hotel is that it was designed so that none of their balconies have a nice view of the city. The side of the hotel that would have the nicest view has no balconies at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There are two cards that give you access to attractions. CityPass only gives you access to 5. Go Card give you access to over 25. It is slightly more expensive but it is definitely worth it if you are willing to just go, go, go from 10 am to 6 pm. Also, the Go Card includes a hop on/hop off tour of the city, which is very handy when going from one attraction to the next.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebJam
Business
Mankato, MN, USA
Jun 6, 2014

Worked well for me

I had business in this area, so the location was perfect for me. The hotel is really east to get to - just exit off of I 90 and drive right in. The staff was excellent, the room was nice, and there were lots of pillows to choose from. I didn't eat here so have no insight about that. I walked the neighborhood a bit and felt safe. There are plenty of places to eat and drink w/in walking distance. I would stay here again. It is pet friendly (30 lbs. or less) but I didn't see any grass, so keep that in mind if you travel w/ a dog.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AKTaveler
Business
Anchorage, AK
Jun 9, 2014

Great Location-Loved the balcony

Great location for the training I had to attend that week. The room was on the small size but was nice and comfortable, I enjoyed having a balcony, that was something you don't get too often in a standard room. I had a great steak at the hotel bar too, was pleasantly surprised! I'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Tax is at a prime rate in this area, if you are purchasing something that can be bought a little ways out of downtown and it's a bit expensive or a bunch of groceries, save some money and try to go out of downtown. It could end up saving you a decent amount of cash if you have the time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mahwah, nj
Dec 1, 2010

family thanksgiving

The hotel was fine, and conveniently located to where we needed to be. However the people in the rooms next to us and across the hall were very, very noisy for 3 nights. Talking loudly and going from room to room all night. Beds were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gurnee, IL
Mar 21, 2010

"Great Location"

I liked the Hotel very much... Only thing missing was a fridge and we could here the people with there kids next door from us a bit. Other then that it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont drink and drive so just get a hotel n walk 2 your destination.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, Maryland
Aug 7, 2010

Trip to Chicago

I arrived at the Crowne Plaza - Chicago Metro on Wednesday 8/4/10, the staff was friendly and attentive, gave me my requested room. I liked the location because it was near a transit stop and it only cost me a total of five dollars and eighty-five cents to get from the airport using the subway and a cab from the drop off station , very convienient. I liked my room because it faced downtown Chicago and I could walk to everything. Overall my trip was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy walking, this is great exercise from the hotel to Millenium Park and downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia,PA
Sep 14, 2009

modern hotel

excellent service, very nice hotel , clean , friendly staff, modern, nice room, trully an unspected stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
myrell
Business
columbus,ohio
Jul 6, 2009

crown plaza

we were located close to downtown and was able to get around easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 6, 2011

Better than expected

Stayed at the hotel just to get away for a few nights. After being told my hotel reservation at another hotel wouldn't be honored because of overbooking, the Crowne Plaza was an option [...]provided. At first, I really wasn't interested in staying here, but I was very impressed with how clean and elegant the lobby was. I was expecting something more along the lines of the Holiday Inn. The room was very large and comfortable, check-in was easy, and the room service was pretty good (had crabcakes, french fries and red velvet cake) for lunch. Great location. The Palomar is my preferred choice when doing a staycation but I would probably stay here again if my options were limited. Oh, the tv did suck, limited channels and terrible picture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top