$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

3 stars
View map of 733 West Madison, Chicago, IL 60661

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hatlad
Business
Kansas
Jul 18, 2009

Comfortable stay but not spectacular

Positives • Blocks from Willis Tower (formerly Sears Tower) in the Greek District • Excellent Greek restaurants & shops nearby within a block or 2 • Nice rooms, but the sliding exposed pocket door on the bathroom took some betting used to. • Awesome reading lights in the executive rooms • 2 drug/groceries on either side of hotel • 3 Starbucks nearby – like within a block each direction (1 inside a drugstore/grocery). • Conference rooms etc were excellent • Catered breakfasts and lunches were excellent. Neutral • If not into 24 hours news or sports channels and nothing interesting on the Weather Channel or HBO, kind of out of luck on the TV. But does have PPV movies if you're into that. • 15 minute walk from Blue line near IHC & Halstead and 15 minute walk from Pink line at Lake and State. Not much of an issue unless have lots of bags, inclement weather, etc. (Strangely enough, there is no shuttle service whatsoever – to airport, to CTA, nothing. But I've stayed many times at lower quality level hotels out by Midway (HIExpress, Courtyard Marriott, etc) and they all have a shuttle service to Midway from which you can obviously fly, take a bus OR catch the subway. Odd this much higher end part of the HI chain doesn't offer something here at this hotel). Negatives • Elevators smell like cigarette smoke • Wireless internet in room is slooooooww & often times out before pages boot up. Ethernet in room didn't help much as the hotel website and firewall was incompatible. Internet even in business center was painfully slow also. • Desk clerk at check-in advised because booked stay thru Orbitz they wouldn't count stay towards Priority Club points. (Boo!) • Desk clerk made a dramatic statement about how wireless internet in the rooms is complimentary. Good thing they don't charge – it is DOG slow wireless internet. The internet connection in the hotel business center isn't any better. We were on the 6th floor and still heard plenty of street noise. Suggest highest floor available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Elevated blue line is 4.5 blocks south of hotel and pink/green line about 15 minutes north and east. From there you can get anywhere you need.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChicagoBusyGuy
Business
Chicago
Jan 8, 2014

Nice Hotel

Easy to get to in Chicago from the expressways. Nice restaurants nearby and plenty of cabs available for a quick ride any where in the city! Very nice property with modern rooms and very friendly staff. A very nice place to stay for business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fidgital
Business
Vancouver, BC
Feb 28, 2014

Good hotel

We booked last minute but got a good rate on nice rooms. The included breakfast was a nice surprise, though they did not offer tea (I don't care for coffee). The gym was adequate and not too busy. The pillows are terrible but the rest of the room was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay there again when I had business in that part of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great breakfast place across the street if you want a really terrific breakfast at a good price.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicity Girl
Business
lombard, il
Mar 11, 2014

Great night out

We had a great time and everyone was hel[ful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CecyPdeL
Business
Chicago, IL
May 5, 2014

Great value for location

This hotel is a few blocks west of downtown Chicago. When I booked my reservation it was the cheapest hotel within 1.5 mi of downtown - it is actually .7 mi from the Loop, right on the edge of Greek Town. We got there earlier than check-in time and there were no problems getting them to hold our bags while I explored the city. Even though there was a fencing tournament going on and there were athletes from all over the world, we were not treated any differently. Complimentary internet was included in all part of the hotel including our room. In my experience, hotels have started shifting towards charging for internet in the room while still providing it for free in the common areas, so being able to use their wifi from our room was a definite plus. I'd say the only issue I found with the hotel is that it was designed so that none of their balconies have a nice view of the city. The side of the hotel that would have the nicest view has no balconies at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There are two cards that give you access to attractions. CityPass only gives you access to 5. Go Card give you access to over 25. It is slightly more expensive but it is definitely worth it if you are willing to just go, go, go from 10 am to 6 pm. Also, the Go Card includes a hop on/hop off tour of the city, which is very handy when going from one attraction to the next.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeeWrecks
Business
CT
May 9, 2009

Nice hotel...free internet...

Enjoyed the hotel. Was there for a conference. Bad side is that it isn't right downtown. It's close, but you have to take a taxi to get around. Good side: clean room, nice beds, free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McDanitn
Business
Cleveland, OH
Apr 26, 2010

"Great location, nice hotel"

This hotel was in prime condition for downtown tourist attractions, as well as close to the United Center for the Bulls Playoff game that we attended. Great service and a clean environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts
Oct 28, 2010

good place to stay

Great city,lots of museums,great architecture,beautiful water views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Always smiles
Business
Chicago IL
Jan 22, 2012

Great overnight stay

I stayed with a friend Friday night, the night of the snow strom. Got a good rate for a last minute reservation. The front desk staff was very friendy, comfortable temperature in the room when we checked in. Room was clean, beds were very comforable. Great to have a restaurant in the hotel, our server Sam was very friendly, made some good suggestions for dinner. This was my 2nd stay at this hotel in the last 7 months, everything was great both times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner was very good. Breakfast buffet was wonderful, fruit was delicious.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tadel3
Business
Lake in the Hills, IL, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Perfect for a night

Stayed there for a night and was exactly what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top