$165 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

3 stars
733 WEST MADISON, CHICAGO, IL 60661
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
146 reviews
Saved me

Was at another hotel in Chicago that we hated and scrambled to find another place and got into this... See full review

  • Bobbyxit5b
  • Sep 11, 2013
Wonderful overnight getway!

My wife and I took an overnight get away for a concert. The hotel was beautiful and romantic and... See full review

  • Smooth Donny B
  • Sep 1, 2013
See downtown Chicago from a skyline-view balcony at hotel near the UC
The well-polished Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro makes a convenient Chicago home base with a fitness center, two restaurants and a martini bar. At the closest hotel to the United Center, guests head west down Madison Avenue to catch the Chicago Bulls or Blackhawks or east to spend a day at Millennium Park. Free Wi-Fi pleases laptop travelers at this hotel near the University of Illinois, Willis Tower, downtown shops and financial institutions. See these and more from guest room balconies with sliding doors at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro.

 

Highlights
  • Two restaurants, including a kosher deli open for lunch
  • Fitness center and 24-hour business center
  • Rooms offer a balcony for fresh air and skyline views
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • The closest hotel to Chicago Bulls and Blackhawks games at United Center

 

Rooms
Comfortable rooms open to a balcony with skyline views at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro. Prop up on the soft, contemporary headboard with integrated spotlight reading lamps to watch the flat-screen TV, connect with friends and family via free high-speed wireless Internet access or read the free morning newspaper delivered to the door. A coffee maker, CD player, workdesk and express video check-out add convenience. Book an executive suite to enjoy two TVs plus a separate living room, just right for late-night power meetings or families who appreciate extra space. Inquire about pet-friendly rooms for small pets at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro (fees apply).

 

Features
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro offers valet parking (fees apply) and sits across the street from a grocery store for snacks or essentials. Inside the hotel, Dine restaurant, a retro 1940s-style eatery, puts a tasty twist on American classics and is connected to the Martini Bar. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro is one of the only hotels in downtown Chicago offering a full-service, certified kosher restaurant, MetroKlub, where the business set orders thinly sliced pastrami and corned beef sandwiches on rye.

 

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Subway and train stations (0.5 mi/0.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Willis Tower (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Soldier Field (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Navy Pier (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • U.S. Cellular Field (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • McCormick Place (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Wrigley Field (5.6 mi/9 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center
  • Copy, fax and print services
  • Nine meeting rooms accommodate up to 600 people

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8818 -87.6451
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE; Midway International Airport, (MDW), 10.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.4 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 1.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
soccerfreak
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 27, 2009

Wasn't the best hotel but was still nice

We decided to stay in Chicago for a night just as a getaway. We were able to have a nice dinner and visit a couple attractions Chicago has to offer. I thought the hotel wasn't too bad. I've been in better hotels for the price, but I thought the service was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E7BEN
Sheboygan, Wis
Apr 22, 2013

Kind of rude

Hotel clerk was not too happy that I received free parking by booking through _bitz. He really tried to discredit it. "that will never happen again", he replied. "for that, I will not offer a free breakfast now". What the H? Not my fault. The bathroom door was no door. No privacy at all with that. It was clean, liked the view,(17th floor), good proximity to Willis Tower and eats. A few blocks walking distance. You're forced to do Valet Parking even though it's 50 ft away. I will not stay there no more only because of the check-in clerk. I didn't deserve that treatment. By booking through _rbitz, I assumed the amenities that were on the web site were valid and agreed upon with the Hotel but apparently, they are not. Call Hotel to make sure you won't have no trouble when you check-in and to make sure you get what your paying for online. Good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome Chicage style pizza at Giordanos. Half a block from Willis Tower

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Perry county
Jul 14, 2009

Crown Plaza at the Loop

We walked to the Sear's tower. We drove everywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vedderlover
Omaha, NE
Aug 26, 2009

Nice hotel -

The hotel was nice. It was NOT wilth~in walking distance of the United Center like we thought. But just a short cab ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

To United Center

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Germantraveler1980
Michigan
Jun 19, 2013

good for a citytrip

the hotel was clean and nice. you go 15 minutes to downtown. the highway is rigth next to the hotel, that was not so good. summarizing, it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Boston, MI
Jul 12, 2010

Average stay and poor location

The hotel is nice for business travelers, but not for fun with a family. They don't have a pool and the health club pool that they offer down the road was closed and unavailable. The rooms were quite small and it was really far from shopping/dining. It says it is on the Loop, but it was a really far walk from the Loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is a really long walk from shopping/dining.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AXXO
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Freeway noise, cabbing it

Room was ok I got it on a package deal so i don't know what I paid exactly. but not worth more than $150 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Mar 28, 2012

Not that special

The location was good for what I needed and very easy to get in and out of but the wi-fi code the front desk gave me was not correct.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lmark33322
Chicago, IL
Oct 19, 2010

Crowne Plaza Hotel

The hotel was decent looking and the accomadations were okay. This hotel was not over the top by any means, but paid over $300 for the night. There was an event going on, but the price was really high. One thing we all really liked about the room was it had a balcony and it had a great view of the city. Other than that it was an oridinary room. Didn't seem like much was around either. Also, the day we were heading out we called down 30minutes before we were going to leave for a taxi and the lady said they already had taxis all "lined" up already. When we got down there was no taxis available and waited for 15+ minutes before deciding to walk to find one. Seemed like others received the same response and it actually happend the day before to someone else. Not sure what the situation was there and why they said they had the taxis lined up and there were none at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
home
May 4, 2009

Crowne Plaza Hotel CHICAGO-METRO

We had to call a few times about technical issues in the room. There is only valet in and out parking, and, when you walk out the door you can see your car (less than 50 feet away, valet parking not needed, but no choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top