$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

3 stars
733 West Madison, Chicago, IL 60661
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
99 reviews
Saved me

Was at another hotel in Chicago that we hated and scrambled to find another place and got into this... See full review

  • Bobbyxit5b
  • Sep 11, 2013
Wonderful overnight getway!

My wife and I took an overnight get away for a concert. The hotel was beautiful and romantic and... See full review

  • Smooth Donny B
  • Sep 1, 2013
See downtown Chicago from a skyline-view balcony at hotel near the UC
The well-polished Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro makes a convenient Chicago home base with a fitness center, two restaurants and a martini bar. At the closest hotel to the United Center, guests head west down Madison Avenue to catch the Chicago Bulls or Blackhawks or east to spend a day at Millennium Park. Free Wi-Fi pleases laptop travelers at this hotel near the University of Illinois, Willis Tower, downtown shops and financial institutions. See these and more from guest room balconies with sliding doors at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro.

 

Highlights
  • Two restaurants, including a kosher deli open for lunch
  • Fitness center and 24-hour business center
  • Rooms offer a balcony for fresh air and skyline views
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • The closest hotel to Chicago Bulls and Blackhawks games at United Center

 

Rooms
Comfortable rooms open to a balcony with skyline views at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro. Prop up on the soft, contemporary headboard with integrated spotlight reading lamps to watch the flat-screen TV, connect with friends and family via free high-speed wireless Internet access or read the free morning newspaper delivered to the door. A coffee maker, CD player, workdesk and express video check-out add convenience. Book an executive suite to enjoy two TVs plus a separate living room, just right for late-night power meetings or families who appreciate extra space. Inquire about pet-friendly rooms for small pets at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro (fees apply).

 

Features
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro offers valet parking (fees apply) and sits across the street from a grocery store for snacks or essentials. Inside the hotel, Dine restaurant, a retro 1940s-style eatery, puts a tasty twist on American classics and is connected to the Martini Bar. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro is one of the only hotels in downtown Chicago offering a full-service, certified kosher restaurant, MetroKlub, where the business set orders thinly sliced pastrami and corned beef sandwiches on rye.

 

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Subway and train stations (0.5 mi/0.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Willis Tower (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Soldier Field (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Navy Pier (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • U.S. Cellular Field (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • McCormick Place (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Wrigley Field (5.6 mi/9 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center
  • Copy, fax and print services
  • Nine meeting rooms accommodate up to 600 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.4 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 1.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lothos
St Louis, Missouri
Jul 3, 2012

Really clean and great location

Everything was fantastic. Great location. Great room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fourka
Business
Indiana
Nov 13, 2012

So disappointed.

I'm not one to write negative reviews, but I couldn't NOT warn future guests. Valet was rude and only wanted your tips (didn't do anything to deserve my money), upon walking in, the front desk ignored us to chat it up with the bell hop, who should have been taking our luggage. We weren't greeted with a smile from anyone...after checking in, the front desk man wrote our room number on our key, slid it to us, and sent us on our way. He never pointed us in the direction to the elevators, nothing. He didn't even audibly tell us our room number. After getting into the room, things were just junky and awkward, shower drain was broke, bathroom door didn't give us any kind of privacy. We felt uncomfortable the whole time we stayed. Not one person made us feel welcome. We tried to engage some employees in casual conversation as well, only to be stared at blankly, with no response. When we were finally leaving and had our car pulled up, the bell hop just stood there and watched my fiancé load our luggage in the car until he saw me tip the valet, then he grabbed literally the last back from the cart and put it in the car. Weirdest place ever. I've been shown much greater hospitality at a Super 8. Crowne Plaza should be ashamed of themselves. I absolutely will never stay again. I'd rather pay $100 more and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelerMike5555
Business
Northern Chicago Suburb
Jun 17, 2013

HORRIBLE! STAY AWAY! RUDE STAFF! NOT REALLY FREE PARKING!!! :(

The staff was rude and not very helpful. They seemed exhausted and short on temper. Although it says that this hotel has FREE parking. Not really. They have valet parking - which is a pain because they usually take 10 to 15 minutes to retrieve your car. AND, THEY ALWAYS WANT A TIP EVERY TIME YOU HAVE THE CAR PARKED OR RETRIEVED. I paid nearly $30 on valet tips for a stay of only 18 hours; I took out my car 3 times only. I would recommend a hotel with a more professional staff that is not so rude and eager to grab your money and run. Also, for the money they charge, you can get much more elsewhere with better amenities. Having some sort of real concierge service would have been nice. This hotel missed all the marks. Pass this one up, guys. It's a rip off! :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

GO STAY AT A BETTER HOTEL! YOU'LL LOVE YOURSELF FOR IT! STAY AT THIS HOTEL AND YOU WILL REGRET IT BIG TIME! THERE ARE BETTER HOTELS WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF THIS SO-CALLED HOTEL.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Urbana, IL
Apr 2, 2011

Don't choose this one

I used to have a good experience in Crown Plaza at Dubai. However, the days at Crown Plaza Chicago is an awful experience. The room is pretty good. But the service is terrible. After I leave the hotel, I found a transaction of more than $200 on my credit card (it's not a pending deposit!) I tried to contact the hotel to figure out what it is but get no reply. They can't tell me what the money is for and refuse to refund the money. What's the difference between this and a stealer?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 17, 2010

Not good

Overpriced, kid at front desk didn't know much about area, resturants, etc. No concierge service. Room right next to elevator heard the noise all night, like a bus or train. Remote didn't work well, carpet dirty, light switch broke while we were in room. Just bad for the price, never again at this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Watch The Snobby Check In Clerk

The room was nicely put together but a bit small for the price tag. Sadly the front check in was a snob and barely wanted to let someone take our bags out at the last day. Other than that the staff was very nice. Dine was a wonderful restaurant to relax and have a great meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

grocery,bridges,buildings,downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shika
Business
Cleveland
Aug 9, 2009

Chigago metro

When I ask the staff about how to go to UIC by bus. They only said ask the tourist information center. I think it's bad. They should be more friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Mar 28, 2012

Not that special

The location was good for what I needed and very easy to get in and out of but the wi-fi code the front desk gave me was not correct.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelling Local
Business
Chicago, IL
May 14, 2012

Good location & Pet friendly

We had a great visit at this hotel, it was exactly what we were looking for in regards to location, price and being pet friendly since we were travelling with our cat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the best Chicago restaurants are right down the street starting at Randolph & Halsted. It's a quick 5-10 minute walk away. Heading the opposite direction down Halsted is Greek town which also offers some great dining experiences.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anna30
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 13, 2012

Would not stay there again ...

Overall, it was an everage experience. Staff wasn't friendly (even rude) ~ Had to wait hours to check in ... Room overall looked okay but bathroom doors are ridiculous. I wouldn't stay at Crown Plaza Hotel again and would not recomend for any of my friends and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Greek restaurants in walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E7BEN
Business
Sheboygan, Wis
Apr 22, 2013

Kind of rude

Hotel clerk was not too happy that I received free parking by booking through _bitz. He really tried to discredit it. "that will never happen again", he replied. "for that, I will not offer a free breakfast now". What the H? Not my fault. The bathroom door was no door. No privacy at all with that. It was clean, liked the view,(17th floor), good proximity to Willis Tower and eats. A few blocks walking distance. You're forced to do Valet Parking even though it's 50 ft away. I will not stay there no more only because of the check-in clerk. I didn't deserve that treatment. By booking through _rbitz, I assumed the amenities that were on the web site were valid and agreed upon with the Hotel but apparently, they are not. Call Hotel to make sure you won't have no trouble when you check-in and to make sure you get what your paying for online. Good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome Chicage style pizza at Giordanos. Half a block from Willis Tower

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top