$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

3 stars
733 West Madison, Chicago, IL 60661
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
99 reviews
Saved me

Was at another hotel in Chicago that we hated and scrambled to find another place and got into this... See full review

  • Bobbyxit5b
  • Sep 11, 2013
Wonderful overnight getway!

My wife and I took an overnight get away for a concert. The hotel was beautiful and romantic and... See full review

  • Smooth Donny B
  • Sep 1, 2013
See downtown Chicago from a skyline-view balcony at hotel near the UC
The well-polished Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro makes a convenient Chicago home base with a fitness center, two restaurants and a martini bar. At the closest hotel to the United Center, guests head west down Madison Avenue to catch the Chicago Bulls or Blackhawks or east to spend a day at Millennium Park. Free Wi-Fi pleases laptop travelers at this hotel near the University of Illinois, Willis Tower, downtown shops and financial institutions. See these and more from guest room balconies with sliding doors at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro.

 

Highlights
  • Two restaurants, including a kosher deli open for lunch
  • Fitness center and 24-hour business center
  • Rooms offer a balcony for fresh air and skyline views
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • The closest hotel to Chicago Bulls and Blackhawks games at United Center

 

Rooms
Comfortable rooms open to a balcony with skyline views at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro. Prop up on the soft, contemporary headboard with integrated spotlight reading lamps to watch the flat-screen TV, connect with friends and family via free high-speed wireless Internet access or read the free morning newspaper delivered to the door. A coffee maker, CD player, workdesk and express video check-out add convenience. Book an executive suite to enjoy two TVs plus a separate living room, just right for late-night power meetings or families who appreciate extra space. Inquire about pet-friendly rooms for small pets at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro (fees apply).

 

Features
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro offers valet parking (fees apply) and sits across the street from a grocery store for snacks or essentials. Inside the hotel, Dine restaurant, a retro 1940s-style eatery, puts a tasty twist on American classics and is connected to the Martini Bar. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro is one of the only hotels in downtown Chicago offering a full-service, certified kosher restaurant, MetroKlub, where the business set orders thinly sliced pastrami and corned beef sandwiches on rye.

 

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Subway and train stations (0.5 mi/0.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Willis Tower (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Soldier Field (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Navy Pier (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • U.S. Cellular Field (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • McCormick Place (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Wrigley Field (5.6 mi/9 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center
  • Copy, fax and print services
  • Nine meeting rooms accommodate up to 600 people

Hotel Map

41.8818 -87.6451
Nearby airports
Midway International Airport, (MDW), 10.00, MI, NE; O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.4 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 1.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 99
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deerfield Steve
Deerfield, IL
Aug 18, 2014

Very Solid Hotel

The Plaza was a exactly what I was looking for. I needed a clean, comfortable place that was centrally located in Chicago. it was very easy to get to because it was off the highway, had plenty of parking, and was walking distance to a lot of west loop night life. The hotel itself very good. Knowledgeable and kind staff and the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CecyPdeL
Chicago, IL
May 5, 2014

Great value for location

This hotel is a few blocks west of downtown Chicago. When I booked my reservation it was the cheapest hotel within 1.5 mi of downtown - it is actually .7 mi from the Loop, right on the edge of Greek Town. We got there earlier than check-in time and there were no problems getting them to hold our bags while I explored the city. Even though there was a fencing tournament going on and there were athletes from all over the world, we were not treated any differently. Complimentary internet was included in all part of the hotel including our room. In my experience, hotels have started shifting towards charging for internet in the room while still providing it for free in the common areas, so being able to use their wifi from our room was a definite plus. I'd say the only issue I found with the hotel is that it was designed so that none of their balconies have a nice view of the city. The side of the hotel that would have the nicest view has no balconies at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There are two cards that give you access to attractions. CityPass only gives you access to 5. Go Card give you access to over 25. It is slightly more expensive but it is definitely worth it if you are willing to just go, go, go from 10 am to 6 pm. Also, the Go Card includes a hop on/hop off tour of the city, which is very handy when going from one attraction to the next.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChicagoBusyGuy
Chicago
Jan 8, 2014

Nice Hotel

Easy to get to in Chicago from the expressways. Nice restaurants nearby and plenty of cabs available for a quick ride any where in the city! Very nice property with modern rooms and very friendly staff. A very nice place to stay for business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reviewer 11
Boston
Sep 26, 2013

Excellent location

Very near Greektown & restaurant row. Downtown is within walking distance. Balcony in every room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown, Greektown & restaurant row all within easy walking distance.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smooth Donny B
Champaign Illinois
Sep 1, 2013

Wonderful overnight getway!

My wife and I took an overnight get away for a concert. The hotel was beautiful and romantic and only a 5she minute cab ride from the train station. The restaurant, Dine, was beautiful and delicious! The staff was great and friendly. The valet attendants were courteous & arranged transportation to and from the concert and back to the train station. The room was gorgeous, comfortable and spotless. Also, great handicapped accessibility. They also offer babysitting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to designer stores!

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
relaxed dad
Ohio
Jul 29, 2013

Great weekend getaway

Great place just off the major expressway. close to downtown and great eateries. The staff were really nice and prepared the rooms very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emma Sun
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jul 4, 2013

Fantastic location and service!

Clean and comfortable room with a small balcony so the view is better than expected. Location is great! 10 min walk to downtown and attractions! Also the parking is FREE and the staff is very kind. It's valet parking but it won't take more than 3 minutes to retrieve my car! Breakfast is not included but it's not a big deal. If you stay for breakfast at the diner on ground floor, don't order omelet; it's not good. Will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Silver Lady
Marquette, MI
Jul 1, 2013

Quick Trip made Fabulous

Really enjoyed the balconies, the zen simplicity and cleanliness of the decor. Loved the shampoos and soaps provided. Very safe feeling location. An excellent choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Germantraveler1980
Michigan
Jun 19, 2013

good for a citytrip

the hotel was clean and nice. you go 15 minutes to downtown. the highway is rigth next to the hotel, that was not so good. summarizing, it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E7BEN
Sheboygan, Wis
Apr 22, 2013

Kind of rude

Hotel clerk was not too happy that I received free parking by booking through _bitz. He really tried to discredit it. "that will never happen again", he replied. "for that, I will not offer a free breakfast now". What the H? Not my fault. The bathroom door was no door. No privacy at all with that. It was clean, liked the view,(17th floor), good proximity to Willis Tower and eats. A few blocks walking distance. You're forced to do Valet Parking even though it's 50 ft away. I will not stay there no more only because of the check-in clerk. I didn't deserve that treatment. By booking through _rbitz, I assumed the amenities that were on the web site were valid and agreed upon with the Hotel but apparently, they are not. Call Hotel to make sure you won't have no trouble when you check-in and to make sure you get what your paying for online. Good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome Chicage style pizza at Giordanos. Half a block from Willis Tower

Back to menu Return to top

Change search