$128 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

3 stars
733 WEST MADISON, CHICAGO, IL 60661
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
146 reviews
Saved me

Was at another hotel in Chicago that we hated and scrambled to find another place and got into this... See full review

  • Bobbyxit5b
  • Sep 11, 2013
Wonderful overnight getway!

My wife and I took an overnight get away for a concert. The hotel was beautiful and romantic and... See full review

  • Smooth Donny B
  • Sep 1, 2013
See downtown Chicago from a skyline-view balcony at hotel near the UC
The well-polished Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro makes a convenient Chicago home base with a fitness center, two restaurants and a martini bar. At the closest hotel to the United Center, guests head west down Madison Avenue to catch the Chicago Bulls or Blackhawks or east to spend a day at Millennium Park. Free Wi-Fi pleases laptop travelers at this hotel near the University of Illinois, Willis Tower, downtown shops and financial institutions. See these and more from guest room balconies with sliding doors at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro.

 

Highlights
  • Two restaurants, including a kosher deli open for lunch
  • Fitness center and 24-hour business center
  • Rooms offer a balcony for fresh air and skyline views
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • The closest hotel to Chicago Bulls and Blackhawks games at United Center

 

Rooms
Comfortable rooms open to a balcony with skyline views at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro. Prop up on the soft, contemporary headboard with integrated spotlight reading lamps to watch the flat-screen TV, connect with friends and family via free high-speed wireless Internet access or read the free morning newspaper delivered to the door. A coffee maker, CD player, workdesk and express video check-out add convenience. Book an executive suite to enjoy two TVs plus a separate living room, just right for late-night power meetings or families who appreciate extra space. Inquire about pet-friendly rooms for small pets at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro (fees apply).

 

Features
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro offers valet parking (fees apply) and sits across the street from a grocery store for snacks or essentials. Inside the hotel, Dine restaurant, a retro 1940s-style eatery, puts a tasty twist on American classics and is connected to the Martini Bar. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro is one of the only hotels in downtown Chicago offering a full-service, certified kosher restaurant, MetroKlub, where the business set orders thinly sliced pastrami and corned beef sandwiches on rye.

 

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Subway and train stations (0.5 mi/0.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Willis Tower (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Soldier Field (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Navy Pier (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • U.S. Cellular Field (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • McCormick Place (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Wrigley Field (5.6 mi/9 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center
  • Copy, fax and print services
  • Nine meeting rooms accommodate up to 600 people

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8818 -87.6451
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, SE; Midway International Airport, (MDW), 10.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.4 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 1.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mankato, MN
Sep 7, 2010

loved it!

Fantastic. Rooms were gorgeous and spotless. Staff was friendly and helpful. great views and excellent location. we had a blast!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, Maryland
Aug 7, 2010

Trip to Chicago

I arrived at the Crowne Plaza - Chicago Metro on Wednesday 8/4/10, the staff was friendly and attentive, gave me my requested room. I liked the location because it was near a transit stop and it only cost me a total of five dollars and eighty-five cents to get from the airport using the subway and a cab from the drop off station , very convienient. I liked my room because it faced downtown Chicago and I could walk to everything. Overall my trip was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy walking, this is great exercise from the hotel to Millenium Park and downtown.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, Maryland
Aug 7, 2010

Trip to Chicago

I arrived at the Crowne Plaza - Chicago Metro on Wednesday 8/4/10, the staff was friendly and attentive, gave me my requested room. I liked the location because it was near a transit stop and it only cost me a total of five dollars and eighty-five cents to get from the airport using the subway and a cab from the drop off station , very convienient. I liked my room because it faced downtown Chicago and I could walk to everything. Overall my trip was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy walking, this is great exercise from the hotel to Millenium Park and downtown.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Boston, MI
Jul 12, 2010

Average stay and poor location

The hotel is nice for business travelers, but not for fun with a family. They don't have a pool and the health club pool that they offer down the road was closed and unavailable. The rooms were quite small and it was really far from shopping/dining. It says it is on the Loop, but it was a really far walk from the Loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is a really long walk from shopping/dining.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Boston, MI
Jul 12, 2010

Average stay and poor location

The hotel is nice for business travelers, but not for fun with a family. They don't have a pool and the health club pool that they offer down the road was closed and unavailable. The rooms were quite small and it was really far from shopping/dining. It says it is on the Loop, but it was a really far walk from the Loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is a really long walk from shopping/dining.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McDanitn
Cleveland, OH
Apr 26, 2010

"Great location, nice hotel"

This hotel was in prime condition for downtown tourist attractions, as well as close to the United Center for the Bulls Playoff game that we attended. Great service and a clean environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gurnee, IL
Mar 21, 2010

"Great Location"

I liked the Hotel very much... Only thing missing was a fridge and we could here the people with there kids next door from us a bit. Other then that it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont drink and drive so just get a hotel n walk 2 your destination.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gurnee, IL
Mar 21, 2010

"Great Location"

I liked the Hotel very much... Only thing missing was a fridge and we could here the people with there kids next door from us a bit. Other then that it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont drink and drive so just get a hotel n walk 2 your destination.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DLG from CF
Iowa
Nov 1, 2009

Great location for our visit...

Nice and quiet. Service good; rather high parking fee - but our car was visible from our room. Decently priced room[...] Our brother-in-law was impressed by the fitness room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wishbone is a great place for breakfast! Short drive away. Interesting foods and great atmosphere; moderately priced....

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DLG from CF
Iowa
Nov 1, 2009

Great location for our visit...

Nice and quiet. Service good; rather high parking fee - but our car was visible from our room. Decently priced room[...] Our brother-in-law was impressed by the fitness room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wishbone is a great place for breakfast! Short drive away. Interesting foods and great atmosphere; moderately priced....

Back to menu Return to top