$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

3 stars
View map of 733 West Madison, Chicago, IL 60661

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Homer Glen, IL
Apr 10, 2011

Good location and good price

It was a nice hotel and very clean. I stayed one night with a couple of friends on a Friday through Saturday. Check-in was very fast and the customer service was fast and friendly. The location was perfect for where we were going that night because it was really close to our plans that night and the price was really good also. Compared to other hotels I have stayed at around the same price range, this was the nicest one in that price range. Thr breakfast was good and the bar was also nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is fairly close to the nightlife if you plan on driving or taking a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Urbana, IL
Apr 2, 2011

Don't choose this one

I used to have a good experience in Crown Plaza at Dubai. However, the days at Crown Plaza Chicago is an awful experience. The room is pretty good. But the service is terrible. After I leave the hotel, I found a transaction of more than $200 on my credit card (it's not a pending deposit!) I tried to contact the hotel to figure out what it is but get no reply. They can't tell me what the money is for and refuse to refund the money. What's the difference between this and a stealer?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Dec 2, 2010

pretty nice, except the parking

We were in town for a Bears football game so the location was important to us. The location was great! Really close to everything. The rooms were good, not as good as the preview showed (surprise). The only real problem was when we checked in the front desk informed us that it would cost an extra $36 to park our car at the hotel. I hate hidden charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sears Tower is a must see. The name has changed to the Willis Tower. Make sure to go to the Skydeck.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mahwah, nj
Dec 1, 2010

family thanksgiving

The hotel was fine, and conveniently located to where we needed to be. However the people in the rooms next to us and across the hall were very, very noisy for 3 nights. Talking loudly and going from room to room all night. Beds were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 30, 2010

OK

The location is quite OK; it's about USD 7 to go to the downtown heart by taxi. I trade off the rate of this hotel with the taxi fare I paid. I booked the 2-bed room and the bed turned out to be bigger that I thought and it's quite comfortable. The restroom is clean. The only thing is they do not provide complimentary bottles of water. There is no toothpaste. They did not fill up the tea when we had used it when they cleaned the room the next day. The Dine restaurant is just OK; the food is really normal compared with the price; the restaurant service is good though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts
Oct 28, 2010

good place to stay

Great city,lots of museums,great architecture,beautiful water views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lmark33322
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 19, 2010

Crowne Plaza Hotel

The hotel was decent looking and the accomadations were okay. This hotel was not over the top by any means, but paid over $300 for the night. There was an event going on, but the price was really high. One thing we all really liked about the room was it had a balcony and it had a great view of the city. Other than that it was an oridinary room. Didn't seem like much was around either. Also, the day we were heading out we called down 30minutes before we were going to leave for a taxi and the lady said they already had taxis all "lined" up already. When we got down there was no taxis available and waited for 15+ minutes before deciding to walk to find one. Seemed like others received the same response and it actually happend the day before to someone else. Not sure what the situation was there and why they said they had the taxis lined up and there were none at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 17, 2010

Not good

Overpriced, kid at front desk didn't know much about area, resturants, etc. No concierge service. Room right next to elevator heard the noise all night, like a bus or train. Remote didn't work well, carpet dirty, light switch broke while we were in room. Just bad for the price, never again at this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, IL
Sep 28, 2010

Chicago Baseball Trip

Very good. Classy. Professional. Would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mankato, MN
Sep 7, 2010

loved it!

Fantastic. Rooms were gorgeous and spotless. Staff was friendly and helpful. great views and excellent location. we had a blast!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top