$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

3 stars
View map of 733 West Madison, Chicago, IL 60661

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda K
Business
Toronto
May 15, 2012

It was a perfect place for a weekend shopping.

It was a walking distance to Macy and surrounded by good restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLRemsik
Business
Madison, WI
May 15, 2012

Nice Stay

I was in Chicago for business and it was most important to me to be close to the business venue. It was just a 10 minute walk to work each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelling Local
Business
Chicago, IL
May 14, 2012

Good location & Pet friendly

We had a great visit at this hotel, it was exactly what we were looking for in regards to location, price and being pet friendly since we were travelling with our cat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the best Chicago restaurants are right down the street starting at Randolph & Halsted. It's a quick 5-10 minute walk away. Heading the opposite direction down Halsted is Greek town which also offers some great dining experiences.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Mar 28, 2012

Not that special

The location was good for what I needed and very easy to get in and out of but the wi-fi code the front desk gave me was not correct.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tadel3
Business
Lake in the Hills, IL, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Perfect for a night

Stayed there for a night and was exactly what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
attec9
Business
Schaumburg, IL, USA
Feb 28, 2012

concert

Very nive. Close to the train station. Balcony is nice to have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Always smiles
Business
Chicago IL
Jan 22, 2012

Great overnight stay

I stayed with a friend Friday night, the night of the snow strom. Got a good rate for a last minute reservation. The front desk staff was very friendy, comfortable temperature in the room when we checked in. Room was clean, beds were very comforable. Great to have a restaurant in the hotel, our server Sam was very friendly, made some good suggestions for dinner. This was my 2nd stay at this hotel in the last 7 months, everything was great both times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner was very good. Breakfast buffet was wonderful, fruit was delicious.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis MN
Jun 14, 2011

comfortable and accommodating

The room was clean which is very important to me. And had your basics available. The only thing missing was a small "frig". The staff was very pleasant and ready to help. They came to me to ask if I needed anything instead of me having to seek someone out. A couple added bonuses- I loved the balcony and could open the sliding door to get fresh air and great view of the city and right across the street from a grocery store. Will stay again when needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 6, 2011

Better than expected

Stayed at the hotel just to get away for a few nights. After being told my hotel reservation at another hotel wouldn't be honored because of overbooking, the Crowne Plaza was an option [...]provided. At first, I really wasn't interested in staying here, but I was very impressed with how clean and elegant the lobby was. I was expecting something more along the lines of the Holiday Inn. The room was very large and comfortable, check-in was easy, and the room service was pretty good (had crabcakes, french fries and red velvet cake) for lunch. Great location. The Palomar is my preferred choice when doing a staycation but I would probably stay here again if my options were limited. Oh, the tv did suck, limited channels and terrible picture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Homer Glen, IL
Apr 10, 2011

Good location and good price

It was a nice hotel and very clean. I stayed one night with a couple of friends on a Friday through Saturday. Check-in was very fast and the customer service was fast and friendly. The location was perfect for where we were going that night because it was really close to our plans that night and the price was really good also. Compared to other hotels I have stayed at around the same price range, this was the nicest one in that price range. Thr breakfast was good and the bar was also nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is fairly close to the nightlife if you plan on driving or taking a cab.

Back to menu Return to top