$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

3 stars
View map of 733 West Madison, Chicago, IL 60661

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fourka
Business
Indiana
Nov 13, 2012

So disappointed.

I'm not one to write negative reviews, but I couldn't NOT warn future guests. Valet was rude and only wanted your tips (didn't do anything to deserve my money), upon walking in, the front desk ignored us to chat it up with the bell hop, who should have been taking our luggage. We weren't greeted with a smile from anyone...after checking in, the front desk man wrote our room number on our key, slid it to us, and sent us on our way. He never pointed us in the direction to the elevators, nothing. He didn't even audibly tell us our room number. After getting into the room, things were just junky and awkward, shower drain was broke, bathroom door didn't give us any kind of privacy. We felt uncomfortable the whole time we stayed. Not one person made us feel welcome. We tried to engage some employees in casual conversation as well, only to be stared at blankly, with no response. When we were finally leaving and had our car pulled up, the bell hop just stood there and watched my fiancé load our luggage in the car until he saw me tip the valet, then he grabbed literally the last back from the cart and put it in the car. Weirdest place ever. I've been shown much greater hospitality at a Super 8. Crowne Plaza should be ashamed of themselves. I absolutely will never stay again. I'd rather pay $100 more and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
judge linda
Business
Minneapolis
Nov 5, 2012

downtown stay

It was just fine m- especially the friendly and helpful staff; the restaurant (Dine) is very conmfortable and fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cass and Milly
Business
Winona, MN
Oct 28, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

The room was very comfortable and the staff was really accommodating. It's close to a 24 hour Walgreens and many bus routes, the only negative was the $36 charge for parking. Don't bring a car if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MB459
Business
Atlanta
Oct 25, 2012

Great getaway.

Had a terrific experience. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SCUMhater
Business
Michigan
Sep 6, 2012

Extended holiday weekend

This was our second stay here in less than a year. We find it to be very comfortable and the location is great. There is a very easy acces back on to I-94. The only problem we have with the hotel is having to pay $36.00 a night for parking. We do understand the parking issues that faces Chicago, but for a hotel guest to have to pay such a high rate is a bit absurd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BuisnessCasual
Business
Allentown, PA
Aug 20, 2012

Close to Blue Line

Clean hotel, nice location. Took the Blue Line from O'hare to the Clinton stop, Crowne Plaza is less than a mile away, so it's walkable. The room was clean and had a nice desk/workspace, free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anna30
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 13, 2012

Would not stay there again ...

Overall, it was an everage experience. Staff wasn't friendly (even rude) ~ Had to wait hours to check in ... Room overall looked okay but bathroom doors are ridiculous. I wouldn't stay at Crown Plaza Hotel again and would not recomend for any of my friends and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Greek restaurants in walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Perez D
Business
Anaheim, CA
Aug 10, 2012

great location, great price

only about 1 mile from the downtown loop area. In Chicago you quickly realize that everyone walks, so the daily walk to downtown or around the city for that matter becomes part of the adventure. There is a 24 hr Walgreens right next door so that helps when you need something. The staff is great, our flight wasnt until late in the afternoon the day we checked out, so the staff willingly held our luggage for us while we went out on the town to kill time. You go to Chicago for the deep dish pizza of course, however the day i arrived there was a ridiculous thunder storm, so i could go out on the town right away, i was hungry so i ate at the hotel restaurant, its called Dine, very little Menu selection, only thing i can recommend if you eat there is the Mac and Cheese, its actually really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

on Sundays (and only Sundays) there is the Maxwell Street Market. in the Street Market there is a taco stand called Rubi's. That food will change your life. I recommend any of their quesadillas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheHern's
Business
Avon, Indiana
Jul 9, 2012

Loved our stay!

This hotel was in the perfect location, it provided a great , clean contemporary room and the service was excellent! The staff was very friendly and location of the hotel was right in the center of shopping stores. This hotel will definetely be put on our top of the list!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lothos
Business
St Louis, Missouri
Jul 3, 2012

Really clean and great location

Everything was fantastic. Great location. Great room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top