$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

3 stars
View map of 733 West Madison, Chicago, IL 60661

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
95 reviews
Easy and comfortable stay

Easy check in, very clean and beautiful rooms with nice views from balcony. This is my favorite... See full review

  • Kelly and Trevor
  • Feb 24, 2015
Downtown Chicago

The hotel was conveniently located to the places we were visiting. The rooms were clean and staff... See full review

  • Beach traveler
  • Apr 21, 2015
The well-polished Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro makes a convenient Chicago home base with a fitness center, two restaurants and a martini bar. At the closest hotel to the United Center, guests head west down Madison Avenue to catch the Chicago Bulls or Blackhawks or east to spend a day at Millennium Park. Free Wi-Fi pleases laptop travelers at this hotel near the University of Illinois, Willis Tower, downtown shops and financial institutions. See these and more from guest room balconies with sliding doors at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro.

 

Rooms
Comfortable rooms open to a balcony with skyline views at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro. Prop up on the soft, contemporary headboard with integrated spotlight reading lamps to watch the flat-screen TV, connect with friends and family via free high-speed wireless Internet access or read the free morning newspaper delivered to the door. A coffee maker, CD player, workdesk and express video check-out add convenience. Book an executive suite to enjoy two TVs plus a separate living room, just right for late-night power meetings or families who appreciate extra space. Inquire about pet-friendly rooms for small pets at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro (fees apply).

 

Property features
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro offers valet parking (fees apply) and sits across the street from a grocery store for snacks or essentials. Inside the hotel, Dine restaurant, a retro 1940s-style eatery, puts a tasty twist on American classics and is connected to the Martini Bar. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Metro is one of the only hotels in downtown Chicago offering a full-service, certified kosher restaurant, MetroKlub, where the business set orders thinly sliced pastrami and corned beef sandwiches on rye.

 

Highlights
  • Two restaurants, including a kosher deli open for lunch
  • Fitness center and 24-hour business center
  • Rooms offer a balcony for fresh air and skyline views
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • The closest hotel to Chicago Bulls and Blackhawks games at United Center

 

Nearby attractions
  • Willis Tower (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Soldier Field (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Navy Pier (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • U.S. Cellular Field (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • McCormick Place (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Wrigley Field (5.6 mi/9 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center
  • Copy, fax and print services
  • Nine meeting rooms accommodate up to 600 people
Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Subway and train stations (0.5 mi/0.9 km)

 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

★★★
$125
3.3 / 5 1,174 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.1 / 5 705 reviews
★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 125 reviews
★★★
$99
3.7 / 5 257 reviews
★★★
$120
3.9 / 5 145 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 272 reviews
★★★
$103
4.1 / 5 542 reviews
★★★
$107
4.0 / 5 380 reviews
★★★★
$143
4.1 / 5 321 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Auditorium Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1.4 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 1.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.5 mi

Dining

Dine Restaurant
Dine is a 1940's style American eatery offering a tasty combination of classic American dishes and contemporary comfort food. Created by Robert Polacek of the San Francisco based Puccini Group, this exciting 1940's inspired decor is well suited for the st
Athena
Located at the heart of downtown Chicago, come enjoy fine Greek architecture and art, with comfortable seating, warm fireplaces, and outdoor patio with an award winning view of the Chicago skyline. Come enjoy a piece of Greece! Free valet for all guests!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lothos
Single
St Louis, Missouri
Jul 3, 2012

Really clean and great location

Everything was fantastic. Great location. Great room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach traveler
Couples
Allegan
Apr 21, 2015

Downtown Chicago

The hotel was conveniently located to the places we were visiting. The rooms were clean and staff was very pleasant. The food in the restaurant was good, and you got a lot for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justin C.
Business
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

decent for what they had. still overpriced

everything was met. i really expected a tad better. but the staff was incredible and friendly that is what makes the experience great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly and Trevor
Friends
McHenry
Feb 24, 2015

Easy and comfortable stay

Easy check in, very clean and beautiful rooms with nice views from balcony. This is my favorite affordable hotel to stay at downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deerfield Steve
Couples
Deerfield, IL
Aug 18, 2014

Very Solid Hotel

The Plaza was a exactly what I was looking for. I needed a clean, comfortable place that was centrally located in Chicago. it was very easy to get to because it was off the highway, had plenty of parking, and was walking distance to a lot of west loop night life. The hotel itself very good. Knowledgeable and kind staff and the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah and friends 2014
Friends
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Jul 2, 2014

Management handled matters

Enjoyed location. Only fault was poor wireless signal which management handled appropriately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack JS
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 1, 2014

Great location, clean room

Rooms are very comfortable at this hotel, and each one has an open air balcony. Front desk staff was friendly and efficient. Parking (valet) cost is a little high, at $39/night, especially since the lot is so small, and your car is never parked more than 300 feet from the lobby entrance. Great grocery store across the street from hotel, with an awesome salad bar. There's also a reasonably priced breakfast spot across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great salad bar at grocery store across the street.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AKTaveler
Business
Anchorage, AK
Jun 9, 2014

Great Location-Loved the balcony

Great location for the training I had to attend that week. The room was on the small size but was nice and comfortable, I enjoyed having a balcony, that was something you don't get too often in a standard room. I had a great steak at the hotel bar too, was pleasantly surprised! I'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Tax is at a prime rate in this area, if you are purchasing something that can be bought a little ways out of downtown and it's a bit expensive or a bunch of groceries, save some money and try to go out of downtown. It could end up saving you a decent amount of cash if you have the time.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebJam
Single
Mankato, MN, USA
Jun 6, 2014

Worked well for me

I had business in this area, so the location was perfect for me. The hotel is really east to get to - just exit off of I 90 and drive right in. The staff was excellent, the room was nice, and there were lots of pillows to choose from. I didn't eat here so have no insight about that. I walked the neighborhood a bit and felt safe. There are plenty of places to eat and drink w/in walking distance. I would stay here again. It is pet friendly (30 lbs. or less) but I didn't see any grass, so keep that in mind if you travel w/ a dog.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CecyPdeL
Couples
Chicago, IL
May 5, 2014

Great value for location

This hotel is a few blocks west of downtown Chicago. When I booked my reservation it was the cheapest hotel within 1.5 mi of downtown - it is actually .7 mi from the Loop, right on the edge of Greek Town. We got there earlier than check-in time and there were no problems getting them to hold our bags while I explored the city. Even though there was a fencing tournament going on and there were athletes from all over the world, we were not treated any differently. Complimentary internet was included in all part of the hotel including our room. In my experience, hotels have started shifting towards charging for internet in the room while still providing it for free in the common areas, so being able to use their wifi from our room was a definite plus. I'd say the only issue I found with the hotel is that it was designed so that none of their balconies have a nice view of the city. The side of the hotel that would have the nicest view has no balconies at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There are two cards that give you access to attractions. CityPass only gives you access to 5. Go Card give you access to over 25. It is slightly more expensive but it is definitely worth it if you are willing to just go, go, go from 10 am to 6 pm. Also, the Go Card includes a hop on/hop off tour of the city, which is very handy when going from one attraction to the next.

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO METRO DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicity Girl
Friends
lombard, il
Mar 11, 2014

Great night out

We had a great time and everyone was hel[ful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top