$161 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Crowne Plaza CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

4 stars
160 EAST HURON, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
99 reviews
Quick weekend getaway

My boyfriend and I wanted a place near the shops and pizza for one night in the city. The Crowne... See full review

  • Traveling junkie Laura
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great Hotel

We were in Chicago for the Bulls vs Mavs game, great stay, great night's sleep. Will book again. See full review

  • Mommycate
  • Dec 30, 2013
Picture-perfect location near Michigan Avenue shopping and restaurants

A visit to Chicago wouldn't be complete without a stroll along the Magnificent Mile, so the properties closest to the grand boulevard earn instant bonus points. For travelers looking to be within steps of Michigan Avenue restaurants, landmarks and shops, it doesn't get more convenient than this classy Chicago hotel. Catering to business travelers and tourists, the property goes beyond the norm to offer special rooms like kids rooms, tech rooms and suites. Big windows capture the impressive skyline, with some framing views of Lake Michigan.

Highlights
  • Steps from the Magnificent Mile, Water Tower Place, American Girl and John Hancock Observatory
  • Close to Navy Pier
  • Family-themed rooms and tech rooms complete with an iMac
  • Outdoor rooftop pool open seasonally
Rooms
Guests have a choice of layouts, from standard rooms to suites with lovely views of the cityscape. The hotel goes a step further, though, for families and Mac lovers. Kid-friendly rooms throw a bit of color into the neutral palette, boasting beds covered with rainbow linens, Little Einsteins pillows, giraffe play tubes, beanbag chairs and mini chalkboards. In the Tech Rooms, expect an iMac, color printer and high-speed and Wi-Fi access.
In all rooms, look for the Zebra print upholstered armchair, a signature of the hotel, plus iHome docking stations and high-definition LCD TVs.
Features
Chicago is known for its place in defining American architecture, so it's only natural to expect remarkable design from impressive city hotels like the Avenue Hotel.
Downstairs, visitors mingle with downtown professionals at the Elephant & Castle, a pub dishing up British favorites like bangers and mash, stuffed Yorkshire pudding and beans and mash. Dim lighting and a wood-heavy interior make it the place to linger and sample a global selection of brews.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (27 minutes)
  • Midway Airport (19 minutes)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Chicago to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Lake/Randolph to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (13 minutes)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile (.3 mi/.4 km)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (.2 mi/.1 km)
  • John Hancock Center (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Oak Street (.8 mi/.5 km)
  • American Girl Place (.1 mi/.2 km)
Business
  • 3,700 feet of meeting space
  • Audiovisual technology available
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Views from every function room
Policies and fees
Valet parking is available at an added fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Cellular telephone rental
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

41.8949 -87.623
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 15.00, MI; Midway International Airport, (MDW), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Macys: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.2 mi
  • History Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Elephant & Castle Pub
At the Elephant & Castle Pub, lobby level, a cozy fireplace, brick walls and traditional decor appeal to the senses while tasty entrees appeal to your taste buds.Pub features a large selection of domestic and international beers on tap.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 99
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saddleblazer
Wayne, MI
Apr 25, 2014

Could use special some attention

Check-in was prompt and good. But facilities lack 4 star rating. Elevators need some painting and cleaning throughout the day. Rooms need some obvious maintenance such as bathroom mirror coming off wall which has to be seen by cleaning staff. Shower head coming out of wall. Bathroom counters in need of caulking. Carpeting ripped in several areas and needs replacing. No bellman on duty, per operator, to help with luggage at checkout at noon on a Thursday. Not a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uraqt3.14
Appleton, WI
Jan 5, 2014

Great

People very friendly very helpful doorman always awesome the only thing is they charge $60 to Valet Park think that could be a little less and it would be perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BetsyG
Hudson, WI
Jun 2, 2013

Pleased with my choice

I was pleased with my choice in hotel.s The hotel was perfect for our trip to Chicago.... perfect location, clean and comfortable. The only thing that could have better would be a complimentary breakfast as we have had in other hotels of this caliber. Otherwise I would not hesitate in staying again. Make good use of the bakery down the street just 1 block south for reasonable B/L/D choices. Loved the Chicago people as well... did not expect the friendliness we received. Great Town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the Hop on Hop off Bus/Trolley tour the city has to offer... very good way to get around town. Also - the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier was the best $6.00 I have ever spent in my life!

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rudy Gia
Centerville MA
May 6, 2013

They put profit before people.

There was an error in booking, I did not know anything about Chicago I was going to an event and for whatever reason I booked the wrong Crown Plaza Hotel through cheap tickets. when I realized it I called cheap tickets and they in turn called the hotel they would not change me over to the other Crown Plaza Hotel due to policy. I would never recommend anyone to stay at there hotel chain as they put money ahead of people. Parking at Hotel $50.00 per night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karla V.
Mexico
Jul 29, 2012

Great choice!

First time in Chicago, best choice ever! This hotel is steps away from Michigan Avenue. Seriously is one of the best located hotels in the area. The staff is amazing and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I totally recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Navy Pier is a must. Try Harry Caray's Tavern. Awesome food and great bar. Everything in this city is "long walk", so don't worry! If you really want to know Chicago: WALK!

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teen daughters
Sioux Falls, SD
Jul 11, 2012

Mother and 3 daughter shopping

The hotel staff were very helpful but the room size was terribly small! The pictures on the hotel website and on Orb were much nicer than the room we got. The pool on the roof was small. The location was great.There are three small fast elevators. This was the first time I booked the hotel and flight and was very disappointed. The GO! van ride we were sold got the number wrong on the first ride and never picked us up for our ride back. We had to pay for a cab. With 4 people it would be faster and cheaper to take a cab! Now I will try and get a refund for the ride that never came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
reyna
Arkansas, USA
Jan 9, 2012

visit sick family

we arrive at the hotel everything was fine I like the hotel, After my ugly experience at the airport with us missing our flight and the airport giving us another fly like 3hours later and the plane was so small.. I'm sure I did not pay for that kin of plane. coming back to the hotel we got there we ask the valet parking if that was the parking place to the hotel he said yes I said is there any charge for parking there he said are you staying here I said yes till sunday he said there is no charge. And when we wore living we had an envelope in side a letter that said we owe the parking 100.00 doll. so I was not satisfy with fly going to chicago just for a 3 to 4 min. late (you never know about traffic next time we have to live my house 5 hours before) and the parking at the hotel because that valet guy lie, The coming back to arkansas was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask about everything twice and if you can have it in writing!!!

Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis IN
Jul 30, 2011

Great location friendly staff

Enjoyed Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis IN
Jul 30, 2011

Great location friendly staff

Enjoyed Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza CHICAGO MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hon, Hawaii
Jul 18, 2011

Very good location

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top