$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

3 stars
30 East Hubbard, 30 E Hubbard, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
103 reviews
Perfect couple getaway

Could ask for anything more. It was a fantastic place to stay. See full review

  • Bobbo20
  • Nov 24, 2014
Riot Fest Weekend

This hotel was perfect, from location to value, everything was exactly what we needed. See full review

  • Bug Catcher
  • Oct 8, 2014
Urban sophistication in River North

Guests at Courtyard by Marriot in Chicago's River North enjoy an ideal location a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile. Walk to Macy's, Nordstrom, Tiffany & Co. and other well-known stores, or taxi to Navy Pier, Millennium Park and Grant Park. The hotel's appeal exceeds shopping and sightseeing, however. Guests need not stray far for some of the best bars and restaurants in Chicago. Patrons can enjoy delicious Italian dishes at Davanti Enoteca and grab tasty doughnuts at Glazed and Infused on site. The Marriott name promises contemporary rooms, business and fitness centers and daily necessities.

Highlights
  • Located a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile in River North, a trendy nightlife and dining destination
  • Free Wi-Fi in all 335 rooms
  • Davanti Enoteca and Glazed and Infused restaurants on site
  • Indoor lap pool and fitness center
Rooms

The guest rooms and suites at Courtyard by Marriot could pass for downtown Chicago condos with their sleek furnishings, wood headboards and black and white photos of the skyline. Spacious baths and granite vanities further the upscale feel, while an ergonomic chair and wide desk provides comfort for bringing work projects back to the hotel room. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary. The hotel also touts larger rooms than the competition.

Features

In addition to free Wi-Fi access in all rooms, guests can also take advantage of a 24-hour business center to print documents or quickly access the Internet free of charge. Once those tasks are satisfied, head to the hotel's on-site Glazed and Infused for delicious doughnuts and enjoy delectable meals at Davanti Enoteca. The indoor pool and fitness center are open to all guests.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Midway Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile
  • The Shops at North Bridge
  • Navy Pier
  • Water Tower Place
  • American Girl Place
  • Chicago River
  • Wrigley Building
  • Tribune Tower
Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and lobby
  • Copy, shipping and fax services
  • Computers and printers in business center
  • Catering available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi

Dining

Davanti Enoteca
Iconic Chicago chef-driven concept focusing on small plates and wine.
Glazed and Infused
Handcrafted artisan doughnuts made fresh daily. Dine In or Walk Up window available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (103)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Champaign, IL
Feb 20, 2011

Nice for a night/weekend out in Chicago

It was a short walk or drive from several Chicago restaurants, bars, and nightclubs if you are coming here for a night out with friends. The hotel staff were very courteous and helpful with suggestions of places to go to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soocermom
Business
cincinnati, OH
Jan 18, 2011

Great Marriot Location

I love this hotel for a Chicago family getaway. The suite at this hotel is reasonably priced, the location is great!, the pool and related facility are a good value. The only downside was a very expensive hotel parking bill but that may be similar to other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chicago's wonderful museums are part of the national reciprocity program. If you are a member of your local science museum, you may qualify for free entry at many of the museums in Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milkwaukee, Wisconsin
Nov 22, 2010

Great location and Price

Very enjoyable. Great room with King size bed. Price was right and the hotel staff were all very accomodating and friendly. We went to check out Chicago, and we left with a great feeling to want to come back. We did see the Christmas parade and the fire works display. Both well worth our time. Local establishments were Nice , but you have to choose the better ones. We will be back!!:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations on a weekend trip!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sch0bert
Business
Madison, WI
Nov 21, 2010

weekend in Chicago

The lady at the front desk when we arrived was unbelievable - she was fantastic. It started our weekend out perfectly. The rooms were great, although we weren't in them much - it was the weekend for shopping and the light festival. Almost hated to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like Italian, you have to go to Piccolo Sogno at Grand & Halstead - FANTASTIC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 9, 2010

Great location

Just a few blocks off Michigan Ave, this hotel is ideally located in downtown. Very close to some of the best restaurants and shopping in town. The rooms were clean and well-appointed. Comfy beds. The best part? The hotel staff were some friendly and very helpful. Definitely stay in this place again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss visiting the Art Institute of Chicago. And on your walk there from the hotel, stop by Millenium Park and see "the bean". Awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Sep 26, 2010

Good location

The hotel was in a good location and within walking distance to many restaurants. You can catch the Red line only 2 blocks away. Our room was very clean, but I found the bathroom a little cramped. I felt I paid too much for what I actually got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roman K
Business
Aurora, IL
Aug 31, 2010

Great location for the price

Ran the 2010 Chicago Triathlon. Hotel is 1 mile from the bike staging/transition area and 1&1/2 miles from the start of the swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenny t.
Business
Buffalo, NY
Aug 4, 2010

Great service!

We had a corner suite and it was all good until the first night I went to take a shower and had almost no hot water pressure, it was barely a trickle. We called down to the front desk and they sent up an engineer almost immediately. He agreed that it wasn't working correctly and offered to move us. Being that it was 11:00 at night and my kids were tired we said we would move the next morning. The manager couldn't have been more accommodating and moved us up to the 14th floor into another suite the next day. He also took care of our valet parking for the rest of our visit [...]. Believe me parking in Chicago is a fortune! The entire staff was wonderful and really great with our kids, we will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go to Chicago during warm weather you should check out Sunday nights at the Conrad Hotel's terrace. They have a beautiful yet casual setup outside where you can just order drinks or have a full dinner and they show a movie on a hugh screen. We saw 'Public Enemies' and cooked our own tapas style food on a grill they brought right to the table (you can also order fro a regular menu). It was a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 27, 2010

Good price for the location

Great staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ogden, IA
Jul 24, 2010

Not what we expected

The hotel is not near any major attrations we had to walk aleast 10 blocks to the American Girl Place and that was the only attration near by. The rooms are loud we were on the 14th floor and you could hear police and firetruck sierns all night long. The whirlppol was a joke the jets hardly worked and the internet was hard to connect to. Also the icemaker on our floor did'nt work so we had to go to the 12th floor. Not much for kids to do the pool is a lap pool not very big. We drove or took taxis to the other attrations which was an added expense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Unos for the deep dish pizza it is only about four blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top