$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

3 stars
View map of 165 East Ontario Street, 165 E. Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
104 reviews
great location wonderful staff

Wonderful value for the comfort, location and Service. Front Desk staff was accommodating and... See full review

  • Ron I.
  • Feb 13, 2015
Good time for all!

The hotel was clean and the staff was the best, very helpful. See full review

  • Sheila R.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Courtyard Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile recently completed a renovation and now features a brand new lobby with a Starbucks coffee shop, inviting fireplace and plenty of comfortable seating to watch the bustling activity of the famous Magnificent Mile. Our Downtown Chicago hotel is ideally located, just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, McCormick Place and premium shopping at Macy's, Tiffany & Co., Nordstrom's, and Neiman Marcus. Our experienced concierge and interactive GoBoard® will keep you up to speed on the latest news, traffic and downtown Chicago happenings. Pamper yourself with an indoor pool & fitness facility, an upscale restaurant, as well as over 3,700 sq ft of meeting space, nine meeting rooms, on-site catering, and free WiFi in your guestroom and throughout the lobby. Offering an upscale, full-service feel, at the value of a Courtyard, Courtyard Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile is a leader among hotels in Downtown Chicago.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Viand Bar & Kitchen
An upscale bistro providing a contemporary twist on American classics, Viand is a favorite amongst restaurants near Navy Pier in Chicago.
Starbucks®
Enjoy your favorite specialty coffee beverage or snack from Starbucks, conveniently located in our stylish lobby at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Nov 30, 2010

Disappointed in Chicago

quick business trip - good location they don't offer Marriott points if you book through [...]! Not good. Would not return based on this. No answer at the operator and front desk for over one hour! Who is there to help from 6-7 PM?The doorman was too busy chatting with a cabbie to help with my bags.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
antx
Business
NYC
Apr 22, 2009

Horrid.

Bad. 2:30pm No record of the reservation. Could it be under a different name? "No, i usually use my name... i have a print out though. (thank god.) OH, you used ORBITZ... Thats why we dont have it. We only get about 1/2 of the ones we are supposed to. I arrived 30 min early for check in and was told to wait for the room to be cleaned... "No prob, ill just get a coffee... "Can you watch my bags for me? No? Really? Why not? Oh, I dont have a room assignment... thats why not, i see. Well what am i waiting to be cleaned then? And why would it matter if i will eventually be staying somewhere in here? Oh, you may not HAVE a room... thats why not. Got it." 3:15pm Arrive at room. Decidedly not clean. "Hi, i just got to my room and it hasnt been cleaned yet." So sorry about that well we will send someone up with a key to a new room. (where did this other room come from if they were turning over rocks to find mine?) "OK., thanks." 30 minutes of sitting in someone else's dirty hotel room later the bellman comes and takes me to my new cell. 4:00pm: Room#2 Clean. Ok, now to get settled and check my work email... huh, internet isnt working. "Uh hi, i have been trying to get my internet connection to work but something seems to be wrong on your end. Tech support? ok thank you. Holding... Holding... Hi yes i cant seem to get my internet connection to work, no its not my computer, im pretty good with this and there is no connection though the cable is connected. Cable problem you say? umh, ok i suppose... send a new one up? great. ill be here." 30 minutes later the new cable arrives. "Thank you so much lets just see if this works... Oh dear, nope not at all. oh i should call tech again? Errr... ok..." 6:00pm: Room #3 Still no internet, im forced to go to the lobby where i am told the Starbucks connection would be available (even though i would have to pay for that, at this point neither i nor my unanswered work email cares.) "What do you mean Starbucks closed at 6?" and on and on... There is more but whats the point? Stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Many other hotels in area. Choose one of those.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steve56303
Business
Minnesota
Oct 22, 2013

I'd stay somewhere else

This feels as though Marriott needed to find some more hotel rooms. They couldn't find a proper building so they decided to squeeze a hotel into this one. The lobby is small and as such was almost always very crowded. When we walked in the door the first time to check in my family got half way in the door when we hit the line at the check in counter. I am not kidding - the line to check in literally stretched out onto the sidewalk. After checking in there was a line of people in the lobby waiting to get on the elevators. This was the case just about every time we returned to our room. In the morning I'd come down for a coffee at the Starbucks in the lobby - small Starbucks, large line. And then there was never any place in the lobby to sit down - the few chairs were always taken. The other thing that really surprised me was the mattress in my room. Queen bed, old enough that it bowed down in the middle. Really poor quality. Surprisingly poor quality. On the plus side the staff was all exceedingly friendly and the room was clean. It was also only a block from Michigan Ave, so close to a lot of things. But between the poor mattress and the crowded lobby and issues that caused I think I'd look elsewhere on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MDGJ
Business
Michigan, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great location, but nothing special

We stayed here for a weekend. The room needed new carpet (dirty) and the A/C didn't work very well, but otherwise the room amenities were fine. Our room overlooked the indoor pool, so it was pretty noisy at times. I was hoping for some natural light for the price. The staff was very friendly and helpful - including the check-in staff, bellmen, and concierge. You can't beat the location - 1 block off Michigan Ave. so you are walking distance to everything in the Magnificent Mile. Extra bonuses include an adjacent parking garage for hotel guests and a very popular coffee shop chain in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trac16
Business
NYC, NY
Nov 28, 2011

Provided a good room near where I had to be.

Rooms did not come with refrigerators, but one was provided after I asked whether one was available. But you have to ask.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viva Vee
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 10, 2012

Quick getaway

The Hotel is in a great location. Restaurants, shopping and things we wanted to see were within walking distance. We were able to get around the city without any problems or hassles. The room was clean but carpet was old and had dark spots. The staff was very friendly, courteous, and helpful. Parking located next to hotel was expensive. We were only there one night so we used lot down the street that did not have in/out privileges. For price and convenience I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't need in/out privileges use parking garage on Ontario further down street. $39.00 for 24 hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sylvia2
Business
Utica, MI
Mar 3, 2013

Family business trip

Quiet & Clean... Reception desk staff was great...recommeded a good restaurant in the area...& followed up with me on the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Girl 135
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 8, 2013

Cozy

Great location, right off of Michigan Ave and within walking distance of a lot of great restaurants. Room was pretty small but the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Gage - amazing food and great prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chitown dad
Business
Moline, il
Aug 19, 2013

Weekend warrior

Great location and friendly staff. Rooms were pretty spacious for the price and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krinsh
Business
Norfolk, VA, USA
Nov 7, 2013

Nice location but that's it

Despite the $200+ price, the air conditioner blew warm air set to 68 - the entire time. I noted a lot of wear on the wall trim and other parts of the room. I asked about the air but only slept there four hours after a concert and flew home early the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top