$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

3 stars
165 East Ontario Street, 165 E. Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
96 reviews
Great price and location

If you are accustomed to Courtyard hotels, this one is definitely above average. My room was clean... See full review

  • cartisdm
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great Ladies trip

Everything was great we had 4 women in two rooms, Location was central to all the shopping and... See full review

  • Joni sailor gal
  • Jul 3, 2014
Courtyard Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile recently completed a renovation and now features a brand new lobby with a Starbucks coffee shop, inviting fireplace and plenty of comfortable seating to watch the bustling activity of the famous Magnificent Mile. Our Downtown Chicago hotel is ideally located, just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, McCormick Place and premium shopping at Macy's, Tiffany & Co., Nordstrom's, and Neiman Marcus. Our experienced concierge and interactive GoBoard® will keep you up to speed on the latest news, traffic and downtown Chicago happenings. Pamper yourself with an indoor pool & fitness facility, an upscale restaurant, as well as over 3,700 sq ft of meeting space, nine meeting rooms, on-site catering, and free WiFi in your guestroom and throughout the lobby. Offering an upscale, full-service feel, at the value of a Courtyard, Courtyard Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile is a leader among hotels in Downtown Chicago.

Hotel Map

41.8933 -87.6235
Area served
Magnificent Mile
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway International Airport, (MDW), 13.10, MI, NE; Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 15.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

Viand Bar & Kitchen
An upscale bistro providing a contemporary twist on American classics, Viand is a favorite amongst restaurants near Navy Pier in Chicago.
Starbucks®
Enjoy your favorite specialty coffee beverage or snack from Starbucks, conveniently located in our stylish lobby at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Butsie
Business
Kansas City, MO
Mar 23, 2012

Good Hotel, Small Glitches

This was our second stay at this hotel. It is clean, the room appeared to have been recently renovated, and the bed was comfortable. The front desk personnel were courteous and very helpful in suggesting local options for Italian beef sandwiches. There were two problems. I requested a king bed suite and a rollaway bed as I had the first time we stayed here--we have a teenage son and teenage girl and always seek separate beds for them. Upon arrival we were told that due to fire codes we could not have the rollaway in our room, resulting in the four of us being divided between the king bed and the pullout couch. We should have been told at the time of confirmation that the rollaway was not an option so that we could pursue other options. The second problem, admittedly minor, is that while we were listed as having four guests in the room we only had 3 bath towels. We did not discover this until early in the morning as we were all rushing to shower and hit the road. Again, nothing major but something that should be a no-brainer for the hotel. Despite the above, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian J
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 23, 2012

Ch9cago

Great room, right on the Magnificent Mile. Front desk was helpful. Customer Service Rep. knew all the right places for food and music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Implants
Business
New Jersey
Feb 7, 2012

Side street oasis

The Hotel is one block off Michigan ave. GREAT location and easy to get to everythng you want to see and do. The saff are very accomodating and eager to please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Anve has a ton of great places to eat all around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brandon R
Business
Holland, MI, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Great hotel and location.

I have stayed here 2 times and hope to go back soon. My only complate is the slow elevators and the exterior windows could use a good cleaning. All and all a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Capital Grill is just across the street. Sit at the bar and order a "Stoli Doli". They are also one of the best steak houses in the country. It's a 30 second walk from the hotel. HAVE FUN!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ssb01
Business
southeast michigan
Jan 22, 2012

one nighter

the front desk staff was great. the room was quiet and clean. i was in town for a convention and was able to park the car at the hotel and walk everywhere i needed. navy pier was 6 or so blocks. it was a very cold night and the streets were alive with people. had a great pork chop at ditka's. would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacy B
Business
Peoria, IL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Would Return in a Heartbeat!

Awesome experience! Great location, wonderful staff, and a stellar price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is close to Water Tower and other fun shopping on Micheigan Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian R.
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Fantastic weekend in Chicago

I thought this Hotel was great value for the price . Everyone at the Hotel was very nice and would compare level of service to a 5 star Hotel. Neil, the concierge was especially helpful, everyone seems to want to go extra mile. Great city-great Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make absolutely sure you check out The Signature Room on the 96th Floor of the Hancock Center. The view is world class period. They also have a great selection of unique cocktails and menu choices. Great experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MDGJ
Business
Michigan, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great location, but nothing special

We stayed here for a weekend. The room needed new carpet (dirty) and the A/C didn't work very well, but otherwise the room amenities were fine. Our room overlooked the indoor pool, so it was pretty noisy at times. I was hoping for some natural light for the price. The staff was very friendly and helpful - including the check-in staff, bellmen, and concierge. You can't beat the location - 1 block off Michigan Ave. so you are walking distance to everything in the Magnificent Mile. Extra bonuses include an adjacent parking garage for hotel guests and a very popular coffee shop chain in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trac16
Business
NYC, NY
Nov 28, 2011

Provided a good room near where I had to be.

Rooms did not come with refrigerators, but one was provided after I asked whether one was available. But you have to ask.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
timr12345678
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Nov 28, 2011

nice

This hotel is in a great location for shopping, restaurants, and site seeing. It is very easy to catch the buses to visit the museums, aquaruims, and other required tourist musts. We bought the 3 day bus passes and city passes. I would not recommed the City pass for everyone. I would have rather bought the full access passes at the Shedd Aquaruim and the Field Museum and not the City pass. The staff at the hotel is excellent. They are very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The City pass has limited access to special exhibits. A full access pass is the best way to go if you are just visiting the aquarium and museum. The full access allows you to see everything and the city pass is limited to one show and not the best special showings. I felt obligated to visit all of the city pass sites just to get my moneys worth.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top