$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

3 stars
View map of 165 East Ontario Street, 165 E. Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fouad A Awad
Mexico
Jun 20, 2014

Extraordinary fantastic A+

Incredeble place great location excellent food very comfortable rooms I really recommend you have everything very good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Excellent

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krinsh
Business
Norfolk, VA, USA
Nov 7, 2013

Nice location but that's it

Despite the $200+ price, the air conditioner blew warm air set to 68 - the entire time. I noted a lot of wear on the wall trim and other parts of the room. I asked about the air but only slept there four hours after a concert and flew home early the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Highland Fan
Business
Highland, MI
Oct 28, 2013

Great location

Went to Chicago for the American Girl experience. Location was great! Transportation to Shedd' s Aquarium was very convenient .Only complaint was finding a reasonably priced restaurant close by to have a standard breakfast.....not coffee and bagels. Kathy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steve56303
Business
Minnesota
Oct 22, 2013

I'd stay somewhere else

This feels as though Marriott needed to find some more hotel rooms. They couldn't find a proper building so they decided to squeeze a hotel into this one. The lobby is small and as such was almost always very crowded. When we walked in the door the first time to check in my family got half way in the door when we hit the line at the check in counter. I am not kidding - the line to check in literally stretched out onto the sidewalk. After checking in there was a line of people in the lobby waiting to get on the elevators. This was the case just about every time we returned to our room. In the morning I'd come down for a coffee at the Starbucks in the lobby - small Starbucks, large line. And then there was never any place in the lobby to sit down - the few chairs were always taken. The other thing that really surprised me was the mattress in my room. Queen bed, old enough that it bowed down in the middle. Really poor quality. Surprisingly poor quality. On the plus side the staff was all exceedingly friendly and the room was clean. It was also only a block from Michigan Ave, so close to a lot of things. But between the poor mattress and the crowded lobby and issues that caused I think I'd look elsewhere on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denzil DC
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Oct 1, 2013

Comfort-Chicago

Great location, easy parking, clean hotel, good prices, highly recommend for Magnificent Mile area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dunkin Donuts across the street for breakfast.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chitown dad
Business
Moline, il
Aug 19, 2013

Weekend warrior

Great location and friendly staff. Rooms were pretty spacious for the price and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary and Larry
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 17, 2013

Great Chicago location

Very close to the Magnificent Mile, plenty of shopping, restaurants, sightseeing, and taxi's to get you where you want to go. Hotel was very clean. Small lobby area was perfect for just walking in and getting on the elevator, didn't have to walk for miles. Room was a spacious king with a hide-a-bed. We were on the north side which has open space so good light, other sides had other buildings close in. Attentive front desk staff and bell staff. Actually felt like a small European hotel which we apppreciate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jamila mi
Business
milwaukee, wi
May 17, 2013

wonderful weekend getaway

I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was very helpful! Location was spot on not far from food or shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heartland Traveler
Business
Omaha, Nebraska
Apr 24, 2013

Great location

This hotel is just one block away from N. Michigan Ave, which is a great location for shopping and sightseeing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Girl 135
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 8, 2013

Cozy

Great location, right off of Michigan Ave and within walking distance of a lot of great restaurants. Room was pretty small but the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Gage - amazing food and great prices

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colleen rose
Business
troy, mi
Apr 2, 2013

easter vacation

nice time with the family...great location...very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top