$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

3 stars
View map of 30 East Hubbard, 30 E Hubbard, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
104 reviews
Chicago

We were very pleased that we chose this hotel and will likely do so in the future, should we return... See full review

  • KHAKHI
  • Jan 21, 2015
Perfect couple getaway

Could ask for anything more. It was a fantastic place to stay. See full review

  • Bobbo20
  • Nov 24, 2014
Urban sophistication in River North

Guests at Courtyard by Marriot in Chicago's River North enjoy an ideal location a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile. Walk to Macy's, Nordstrom, Tiffany & Co. and other well-known stores, or taxi to Navy Pier, Millennium Park and Grant Park. The hotel's appeal exceeds shopping and sightseeing, however. Guests need not stray far for some of the best bars and restaurants in Chicago. Patrons can enjoy delicious Italian dishes at Davanti Enoteca and grab tasty doughnuts at Glazed and Infused on site. The Marriott name promises contemporary rooms, business and fitness centers and daily necessities.

Highlights
  • Located a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile in River North, a trendy nightlife and dining destination
  • Free Wi-Fi in all 335 rooms
  • Davanti Enoteca and Glazed and Infused restaurants on site
  • Indoor lap pool and fitness center
Rooms

The guest rooms and suites at Courtyard by Marriot could pass for downtown Chicago condos with their sleek furnishings, wood headboards and black and white photos of the skyline. Spacious baths and granite vanities further the upscale feel, while an ergonomic chair and wide desk provides comfort for bringing work projects back to the hotel room. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary. The hotel also touts larger rooms than the competition.

Features

In addition to free Wi-Fi access in all rooms, guests can also take advantage of a 24-hour business center to print documents or quickly access the Internet free of charge. Once those tasks are satisfied, head to the hotel's on-site Glazed and Infused for delicious doughnuts and enjoy delectable meals at Davanti Enoteca. The indoor pool and fitness center are open to all guests.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Midway Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile
  • The Shops at North Bridge
  • Navy Pier
  • Water Tower Place
  • American Girl Place
  • Chicago River
  • Wrigley Building
  • Tribune Tower
Business
  • 5,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and lobby
  • Copy, shipping and fax services
  • Computers and printers in business center
  • Catering available

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Davanti Enoteca
Iconic Chicago chef-driven concept focusing on small plates and wine.
Glazed and Infused
Handcrafted artisan doughnuts made fresh daily. Dine In or Walk Up window available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakewood
Aug 24, 2008

very unprofessional staff

This hotel has very bad location, no parking space for hotel guest. The hotel staff are rude and not accomodating including the manager. I will not stay at this hotel again ever nor even recommend this to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Apr 1, 2010

The worst stay ever!

There was mold on the bathroom ceiling and in the window sill..you couldn't see out of the window because it was dripping wet with perspiration- not that we would have wanted to as it overlooked the rooftop of another building below (we were on the 11th floor) and we couldn't go outside walking after 7 p.m.with the kids because of the people right outside from our exit begging, drinking alcohol, and fighting coming from the bar across the street. It was the worst place ever for the money. the pictures are very deceiving

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
broke and no place to eat
Business
wixom MI
Apr 12, 2010

bad advertising on the kids eat free

My room was very clean everyday. That was the best part of my stay. The promotion we booked under was kids eat free everyday breakfast, lunch and dinner. Don't let that get you because they are not open for lunch and dinner is served in the BAR with limited meals for the adults which have to be bought in order for the kids to eat. It did not say that in the rules for the promotion. I went there with limited funds knowing I only had to pay for my meals and had to spend lunch crying not knowing where we were going to eat because Chicago has lots of expensive resturants and not very many afforadable for families, except Mcdonalds which is quite a ways away from hotel. All the staff was very friendly except when we had no place to eat and nobody would help. The one lady gave me a list of resturants in the area which included steak houses and places like P.F. Changs. They were all above a family budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved all the museumes and attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robert Seymour
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 22, 2009

Romantic Getaway

We flew to Chicago for a romantic weekend getaway. We thought Chicago was fantastic! The Marriott we stayed in was one of the worst. I hope some of these problem are fixed for future guests. Also, it wasn't anyone specific fault, but are flight was delayed a few times. Overall, the weekend seemed to be a lot of work and not as enjoyable as we would of preferred.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant Frontera off Clark, was amazing Mexican food. Be sure to make reservations well before you arrive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
B314159
Business
Long beach, California
Apr 19, 2014

There are lots of better options in Chicago

Hotel was extremely noisy and the water was always lukewarm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 3, 2008

Comfortable with Room

I am not pleased with the check in staff, however, the rest of the staff was pleasant and gracious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Jazz and Thai food across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ogden, IA
Jul 24, 2010

Not what we expected

The hotel is not near any major attrations we had to walk aleast 10 blocks to the American Girl Place and that was the only attration near by. The rooms are loud we were on the 14th floor and you could hear police and firetruck sierns all night long. The whirlppol was a joke the jets hardly worked and the internet was hard to connect to. Also the icemaker on our floor did'nt work so we had to go to the 12th floor. Not much for kids to do the pool is a lap pool not very big. We drove or took taxis to the other attrations which was an added expense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Unos for the deep dish pizza it is only about four blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Howell, Michigan
Jul 12, 2009

One Expects More

The location is great for good food and walking around yet not on the "Mile." Unfortunately, the first room we were put in was absolutely "dirty with broken equipment and missing light bulbs." The management did change our rooms but it was still dirty with broken towel rack, TV Remote, and sink. While we liked the location we were not happy with the cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sweatin in Madison
Business
Asheville, NC
Jul 4, 2014

Overpriced Chicago!

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately this was overshadowed by the outrageous expense to park a vehicle and the lack of any type of free breakfast! It was nearly the same price to stay the night in the hotel as it was to park and feed two small children. These rates will prevent most, including any chance of a return trip by us, from affording a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/River North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anon Businesswoman
Business
Vermont
Oct 15, 2012

Undergoing renovations

Very comfortable bed, poor lighting in suite's living area. Staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Hotel restaurant/room service options very limited, unappealing. Great restaurants in the neighborhood. Extremely loud music from outdoor concert arena on Friday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top