$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Conrad Chicago

4 stars
521 North Rush Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3507
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
131 reviews
Boomshakalaka!!

Price was very reasonable for where we were in the shopping and fun part. Staff was great! Terrace... See full review

  • FRTR
  • Sep 22, 2014
Best 4 star hotel in Chicago

We love the Conrad. Great location next to good restaurants and Michigan Ave. The staff is... See full review

  • Team Pam
  • Aug 19, 2014
Contemporary luxury on the Magnificent Mile
The Conrad Chicago hotel might be a shopper's best-kept secret, like a Chanel bag on sale. Removed from the crowds, the 17-story Conrad maintains a strong city presence with rooms that look out across twinkling lights and landmark buildings. Touches of elegance dominate, but not in an old-fashioned way. Look for the bold and understated to work together, like an oversized mirror against a neutral-colored wall. Don’t miss the rooftop bar for breathtaking city views.
Highlights
  • Stunning city views from the seasonal rooftop bar and 24-hour fitness center
  • An eclectic menu featuring seasonal, local ingredients at The Restaurant at Conrad
  • Just an elevator ride away from the Shops at North Bridge on the Magnificent Mile
Rooms
The rooms and suites at the Conrad Chicago hotel ooze a sophisticated style. Find 500-count linens, pillow menus and chenille arm chairs. Natural light from the windows fill the rooms by day, while recessed lighting creates a sultry feel at night. Fresh-cut flowers and plants bring extra joy and greenery to suites. Enjoy nightly turndown service.

For there tech-savvy traveler, each room features free wireless Internet access, an iPod alarm clock with charging/docking station and 42-inch plasma flat-screen TVs.
Features
The Restaurant at the Conrad Chicago hotel puts a Midwestern spin on Asian cuisine. The Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, relies on seasonal organic ingredients to create dishes with flair. Tufted banquettes and striped wallpaper lend a loveliness to the dining space that transcends time.

For cocktails or date nights, head to The Terrace at the Conrad Chicago hotel, a seasonal rooftop lounge that could easily double as a South Beach haunt in warmer months. Day beds and chaises with oversized pillows provide a casual contemporary backdrop to that stunning skyline. Pull up a chair at an umbrella table to soak in those views.

The large fitness center features state-of-the-art cardiovascular and strength-training equipment, as well as stunning city views.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.5 mi/25 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Oak Street Beach (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • State Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Grant Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space among 13 rooms
  • Grand Terrace overlooking city to entertain clients (season and weather permitting)
  • Catering available for events
  • High-speed wireless Internet access
  • Audio/visual equipment (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Conrad Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Conrad Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sterling, IL
Feb 21, 2011

Just a fair experience

The Conrad Chicago was a nice hotel. We had a nice room with a good view. [...] We asked for nightly turndown service both nights and did not get either one. They did not clean our room the whole time we were there. When we mentioned it to them, they just said, "We're sorry". It was not a good experience from the hotel [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indianapolis, in
Aug 29, 2009

small beds, bad view

Double beds were small. The view from our room was the side of another building but that didn't stop the wonderful sound of taxi horns blaring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

tak taxi to wrigley. costs about $18 and is much faster than the el

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle
Oct 29, 2009

not all that

The concierge at the hotel was rude, short and talked down to me as if I were a child. He was unpleasant but worse, was not at all helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Nordstrom's along with other stores in a mall connects to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 1, 2010

Didn't think it was worth the $$

Booked a room w/ a queen bed for 2 nights for a wonderful NYE, and was rather disappointed. Bed was either the world's smallest queen, or was actually a double, not to mention it was uncomfortably springy. Some of the things in the bathroom had been previously opened and used (q-tips). Lots of noise seemed to carry through the vents as we could hear other rooms rather clearly. When the tv was off, there was a very audible high-pitched humming noise that we could not get rid of unless we unplugged the tv. Hot water was very inconsistent in the shower. It is in a great location, however, next time I will try one of the other hotels in the area like the Intercontinental or Marriott. This might not be too bad if you are passing though quickly on business, but I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic night or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
May 27, 2009

Conrad Chicago

The Conrad considers itself a 4+ star hotel - it's not. The housekeeping was unpredictable - some days fine, other days no vacuuming or dusting. A burnt out light bulb not replaced for the entire 7 day stay. The main corridor was only vacuumed once in 7 days. The Doormen were more interested in standing around chatting with each other than actually opening the front door. On the positive side, rooms were nice - bathrooms were excellent in both size and fixtures. Rooms were also fairly quiet - the only noise came from the hallways and was not a significant issue. Street noise can be an issue if you face Michigan Avenue. I paid roughly a 3 Star hotel price so overall I wasn't too disappointed. If I had been paying rack rate or anywhere near it, I would have been very unhappy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveller joan
Business
calgary
Aug 9, 2011

fanatstic location and very central

Great location and within walking distance of Millenium Park, the Hancock Tower and the Willis Tower. Lots of great restaurants nearby and one block from the Magnificent Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the Italian restaurant "Volare" which was recommended by the concierge, who was extremely helpful with dining and sight-seeing recommendations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emmiegram
Business
Traverse City, MI
Oct 3, 2011

Our Experience

My husband and I were really happy with our experience at the Conrad. The staff was extremely helpful, our room very comfortable, and the location excellent! Since we did a fly and stay package, I'm not sure what we paid per night. But whatever it was, it was worth it. I rated it short of perfect however, and I'll tell you why: 1) The wireless internet in our room was extremely slow and unpredictable. It actually because a hassle to use it. Maybe that was good though, since we were on vacation. 2) The prices in the restaurant were outrageous, and the food not that good. Spent $78 on a "fair" breakfast for 3 people. Skip the restaurant - there's so many great eating places around there. 3) It was inconvenient to have to take 2 elevators up to our 8th floor room. However, it was cool to be able to enter the hotel through Nordstrom's. Having outlined those 3 points, I do want to say that if and when we come back to Chicago, we definitely will consider staying at the Conrad again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robynjl
Business
Yorba Linda, CA, USA
Nov 23, 2011

Great Hotel

Everything at the Conrad was wonderful. Location is perfect, staff friendly. Only suggestion I would make is have a coffee maker in room. Great hotel, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe's Crab & Steak across the street is fabulous but make sure to make reservations!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duece
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Nov 27, 2011

The Conrad

As alway's, Staff, Hotel and atmosphere were outstanding! Never hesitate to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fellow traveler1
Business
evanston, IL
Apr 16, 2012

A great weekend getaway

Quiet, clean, comfortable, best location imaginable. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Spiaggia at 980 N. Michigan -- first rate Italian in a relaxed setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top