$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Conrad Chicago

4 stars
521 North Rush Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3507
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
128 reviews
Boomshakalaka!!

Price was very reasonable for where we were in the shopping and fun part. Staff was great! Terrace... See full review

  • FRTR
  • Sep 22, 2014
Best 4 star hotel in Chicago

We love the Conrad. Great location next to good restaurants and Michigan Ave. The staff is... See full review

  • Team Pam
  • Aug 19, 2014
Contemporary luxury on the Magnificent Mile
The Conrad Chicago hotel might be a shopper's best-kept secret, like a Chanel bag on sale. Removed from the crowds, the 17-story Conrad maintains a strong city presence with rooms that look out across twinkling lights and landmark buildings. Touches of elegance dominate, but not in an old-fashioned way. Look for the bold and understated to work together, like an oversized mirror against a neutral-colored wall. Don’t miss the rooftop bar for breathtaking city views.
Highlights
  • Stunning city views from the seasonal rooftop bar and 24-hour fitness center
  • An eclectic menu featuring seasonal, local ingredients at The Restaurant at Conrad
  • Just an elevator ride away from the Shops at North Bridge on the Magnificent Mile
Rooms
The rooms and suites at the Conrad Chicago hotel ooze a sophisticated style. Find 500-count linens, pillow menus and chenille arm chairs. Natural light from the windows fill the rooms by day, while recessed lighting creates a sultry feel at night. Fresh-cut flowers and plants bring extra joy and greenery to suites. Enjoy nightly turndown service.

For there tech-savvy traveler, each room features free wireless Internet access, an iPod alarm clock with charging/docking station and 42-inch plasma flat-screen TVs.
Features
The Restaurant at the Conrad Chicago hotel puts a Midwestern spin on Asian cuisine. The Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, relies on seasonal organic ingredients to create dishes with flair. Tufted banquettes and striped wallpaper lend a loveliness to the dining space that transcends time.

For cocktails or date nights, head to The Terrace at the Conrad Chicago hotel, a seasonal rooftop lounge that could easily double as a South Beach haunt in warmer months. Day beds and chaises with oversized pillows provide a casual contemporary backdrop to that stunning skyline. Pull up a chair at an umbrella table to soak in those views.

The large fitness center features state-of-the-art cardiovascular and strength-training equipment, as well as stunning city views.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.5 mi/25 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Oak Street Beach (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • State Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Grant Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space among 13 rooms
  • Grand Terrace overlooking city to entertain clients (season and weather permitting)
  • Catering available for events
  • High-speed wireless Internet access
  • Audio/visual equipment (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Conrad Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Conrad Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
Jul 9, 2010

Beautiful Hotel, Ideal Location!

The Conrad has comfortable beds, a great fitness room with a view of the city (most hotels have a windowless fitness area), a very helpful staff, a great restaurant for breakfast (the other meals may be great as well, I have only had breakfast there) and an entrance to great shopping that allows you to skip any cold or rainy weather outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beautiful patio seating with a city view for drinks or dining alfresco.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SNHSPM
Business
Omaha, NE
May 17, 2010

Conrad Hotel Chicago

Pros: location, location, location! (one block off Michigan Ave) incredibly nice staff (including the valet staff) great tv and sound system separate room in bathroom for toilet comfy beds (but also a con, read below) lobby was fabulous early check-in/late check-out QUIET!!!! :-) Cons: small beds (doubles, not queens) no bathroom fan 2 elevators! (had to take 2 different elevators up to our room--one to the lobby, then one to our room. just annoying after a day of traveling) poor lighting (great during the day with natural light, poor at night) no view Overall we would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Chicago. There are some cons, but its still a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

MAKE RESERVATIONS! The restaurants here fill up fast and have wait times of at least one hour. One great restaurant is Bricks in Lincoln Park--great 'za!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
May 11, 2010

GREAT hospitality! Amazing Location

This hotel is located in the heart of the city. You have everything from Redhead piano bar, howl at the moon, the train (A) spot, hard rock, restuarnts, a mall within the hotel and anything and everything you looking to see or do. The bar and restuarant staff knew us by name, the rooms are big and comfy. It was a great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Redhead Piano Bar, Nascar Resturant, Howl at the Moon...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Freefallgirl
Business
Golden, CO
May 3, 2010

Perfect luxury hotel in perfect location

We came here for a long weekend trip for our anniversary. The room was immaculate and luxurious. We couldn't hear any other guests, only some outside sirens, but that's to be expected in the middle of a big city. The linens and duvet were wonderful, there was a big soaking tub (but no jets unfortunately), and the little things like robes and slippers and flat screen TVs with DVD players all made for a perfect stay. The only things missing were a pool or jacuzzi, really. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, as why would you in a city with such amazing restaurants? (See the hints for our notes on where to eat.) There was no coffeemaker in the room automatically, but when we asked about that at check-in, they sent one right up that we used our entire stay. Also, there is coffee available at the bar in the morning. We do wish there was a regular mini fridge for our leftovers, but maybe we could have also gotten one of those if we had asked? The staff was super helpful and very welcoming and accommodating. The location couldn't have been any better. One block from Michigan Ave, a few blocks south of the popular bar area on Rush, and north of the Loop. And two blocks from the red line, which is the most useful (goes to Wrigley Field and Midway airport.) Really, super easy and quick to get almost anywhere in town! Seriously, we did get a great deal on this hotel, also, which helped to make it such an enjoyable stay. But the hotel is amazing by itself!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe's across the street had one of the best filets (we got the one on the bone) we've ever had, along with their rolls, key lime pie, and wedge salad. Also, Rick Bayless' Xoco is only about a half mile walk down Grand. And you must go to Rosebud on Rush for Italian and Giordano's for pizza, both only a few blocks north on Rush.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay
May 2, 2010

Conrad Chicago

The Conrad is centrally located among all the shopping you can do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend Buca di Beppo for pizza. Portillos Barnelli's for hot dogs, hamburgers and pasta. The wildfire for filet mignon. Carson's for BBQ chops and chicken.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit
Apr 13, 2010

Very nice

Really nice hotel. Large flat screen TV, robes in bathroom, "pillow menu", lots of cable & movie stations but who wants to watch TV while in Chicago? No pool if that's important to you. Convenient location - ramp that goes to Mi Ave via Nordstom's. Don't eat or drink in the hotel unless you're on an expense acct! Wifi was never fail. Parking structure across the street from hotel... Very expensive so make sure you get a validation ticket when you check in to get a discount. Great diner on Grand called Mary's. Expensive side for breakfast but you are in downtown Chicago. Lots of food & very tasty. Friendly service. Try Rosebud's on Rush for lunch. Great food. giordano's for pizza also just a short walk down Rush. Moderate walk to Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love to shop this is a perfect place to stay!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy Pants MIG SOTH
Business
Murphysboro, Illinois
Feb 16, 2010

Perfect Valentine's Weekend

Arrived very late in the evening. Valet and bellman were very helpful, courteous and friendly. Front desk clerk was incredibly nice, however was unable to locate the room I had booked. They found me a room with a less than stellar view. Room was also handicapped accessible. Though I appreciate the needs for this it did not exactly add to the romantic aura of the weekend. Also, shower head was loose and pressure was not good at all. Food and drink at the hotel was more expensive than the norm, but service was fantastic and friendly, location was also phenomenal. Overall I was very pleased with the Conrad Chicago and am looking forward to my next stay, though I may try the new J.W. Mariott or Park Hyatt first!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

North Bridge shopping center is full of high-end shops and less than a 5 minute walk from the room without leaving the building. Magificent Mile shopping is a 2 block, few minute walk as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Feb 16, 2010

Worth every penny!!!

The hotel was beautiful, the room was clean and cozy and the staff at the hotel were very helpful. It was a wonderful valentine's day weekend experience and I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Kim
Business
Chicago
Feb 16, 2010

Valentine's Day at Conrad Chicago

For a night downtown without the kids I thought the Conrad Chicago would be the perfect spot as it was where we spent our first night as a married couple -- although then it was known as the Mondrian. We didn't have the same spacious suite or fantastic view as our wedding night, in fact our view this time was non-existent. However, the location was perfect for our planned activities and i loved not having to put on my coat to do some shopping downstairs at North Bridge. We also ate breakfast at the restaurant, which was nice, and the staff was super friendly. Clean, quiet rooms, big bathrooms and super soft bedding were a bonus. The TV remote control was a little slow to respond, as were the elevators from the mall, but it was still a relaxing, great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Conrad Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 14, 2010

Great place, great location!

After searching a long list of Chicago's downtown hotels (then finding one that I could actually afford), I settled on the Conrad. We got there and the staff at the door and front desk were very friendly. I self parked the car across the street and it ended up costing $68 for two days (not horrible considering). The room was the best I've ever stayed in. I thought that the loaded "refreshment center" in the room with outlandish prices on everything was unnecessary. Example: bottle of coke for $7. A regular fridge would have been better. Now being downtown Chicago, there is a bit of noise from the streets but I expected that and was not upset about it at all. There is a shopping mall connected to the Conrad which is great. If you walk through the mall you end up on Michigan Avenue. PERFECT! There is a Buca di Beppo on the corner of the Conrad building, and I'd recommend that as well if you like Italian food at a reasonable price. All in all, this was a great stay, and when I go back to Chicago I'll be staying there again. You can't beat the location basically right on the Magnificent Mile, and the staff was great. It took me about 2 minutes to check in and about 20 seconds to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top